We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Menzah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ryad Mogador Menzah to your Saves list
Ryad Mogador Menzah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #394 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Mohammedia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I truly enjoyed my stay at this apartment hotel situated in a quiet cull de sac off one of the main streets of Marrakech. The rooms offer an open plan lounge with comfortable modern Moroccan style sofa's where you can relax and watch tv, a small yet practical kitchenette and a balcony from where you can enjoy the view over the beautiful pool. The bedroom was spacious too with ample closet space. The bathroom with shower was clean and practical. The breakfast buffet has a good selection of bread, roles, fresh fruit, (scrambled) eggs and typical Moroccan extras. The rooftop terrace offers a spectacular view of the city and the mountains in the distance. When I thought I had a problem with my tv, reception sent a technician up in less than minutes. The hotel manager struck me as super attentive to all his customers! Good value for money!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    70
    56
    36
    45
See reviews for
73
64
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in Oct.'11. It was a reasonable stay. The staff was nice and friendly. I would give it Average-to-Good rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Not too impressed. The bathroom was quite dirty, we couldn't close the bathroom door due to a scary jamming lock, and our room key broke at least once a day. On top of which, the lobby ceilings around the hotel were leaking heavily with the rain throughout the week. The shop within the hotel was constantly closed, but there is a small supermarket and exchange just around the corner.
About a 40 minute walk to the centre, but very close to the main road for flagging down taxis.
I have to agree with other reviews about the attitude of staff, which was quite rude, given that we had to rock up and get our key fixed sometimes twice a day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Admittedly this hotel was cheap and so my expectations were not high. I must say the pool area is gorgeous and rooms are very big. However, staff are unfriendly, even down right rude! We asked if they could call us a taxi and we were told no. No advice was even offered as to a best place to flag one down! All guests (mostly looked local) were offered help with bags etc whereas we were ignored. Lights in the corridor were swtitched off all day and so had to fumble in the pitch black to get to our room. A friend even slipped on the tiled floor as could not see it was wet! We booked with a popular website and brought with us our booking confirmation. This detailed all room fees and taxes had been paid in full and yet hotel demanded a 'local tax' payment. No one made us aware of this at all, was not in our information and yet they would not budge. Be careful as you will be stung by this. Very little English whatsoever was spoken in the hotel. We would ask for an ice cream (kept in fridge by pool area) and were often simply told no with no explanation? All in all felt hotel was geared for locals and as Brits we felt mistreated and isolated! Hotel is also in a poor location - we had to taxi everywhere! I would recommend paying more for better location and welcoming environment!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchster
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Recently when to this hotel with the girls the hotel is good....it's about 5-10 mins in a taxi from the markets don't pay more than 10dir...breakfast is the same everyday but nice enough. We booked for 3 girls the rooms are 2 beds & 3rd bed is the settee which is big enough thou..We got a good deal on the spa & really enjoyed it & it's not expensive. Swimming pool isn't heated so was absolutly frezzing.
Struggled to find where to go out at night as the main square had just had a cafe bombed so didn't want to go in there, there are a few nice resturants round the hotel & a night club..we didn't go to pacha as we'd heard it was really expensive & the rest of marrakech is cheap!!! when you get to the markets the first stalls are really cheeky with the prices & you want to be paying about a third then we found the further in it was about half...when your leaving you have to change your money back & this isn't made aware but once you've gone threw the gates duty free doesn't even accept local currancy, so minimise how much you change at end of your holiday as when we got to the airport they wouldn't change it back to english!!!!! we had to change it to euros and all lost about £15....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Third stay at the Menzah and still quite pleased with the overall value: we paid $85 per night (approx 53 pounds = 60Euros) for a spacious family room. Before booking, I considered at several alternatives in the Hivernage area which is about a 5 minute walk on the other side of Avenue Mohammed VI. Due to budgetary constraints, I limited myself to properties that would have cost between $100-$140 per night (62-88 pounds, 70-98 Euros) - there are several places in the area that would have cost many times more. While Hivernage is a nicer area and 5 minutes closer to the medina by foot, I decided to stay with the Menzah for the value is represented: larger rooms (equipped with a small stove/ fridge), access to a nice pool, free wi-fi in all rooms etc. for $85 per night.

Not sure if other reviewers have mentioned but because the Menzah is somewhat out of the way, it is very quiet. Perhaps we've been lucky on three occasions but noise has never been an issue and indeed we enjoyed deep, refreshing sleep.

We may also have been fortunate on another account - dealing with the hotel staff. On each visit, we've had small things that weren't quite right: AC or stove (hob) not working properly, not enough towels or pillows, etc. In every case, a maintenance person (or someone from housekeeping) was sent up to fix the problem or deliver towels etc. If the AC/stove/fridge remained problematic, we were shown other rooms and asked to choose one.

The hotel staff (which has not changed since my first visit in 2009) have always been friendly, helpful and responsive. English is not their first language but most, if not all, are sufficiently competent to handle routine inquiries. As is the case most everywhere, I think, the attitude with which you approach them will be reflected back in the way they respond to you. I would only summarize this portion of my review by saying I've been lucky - the staff, especially Noureddine, did everything possible to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Final comments: as was the case during my first visit, I noted many local (Moroccan) travelers choosing the Menzah. I also noted many more non-Moroccans on the property.
For sure, it is not a 5 star hotel, is not located just outside the medina walls and there are no fabulous restaurants within walking distance. Nevertheless, I continue to believe that it provides good value for the money. ( As in prior years, we took the local buses (numbers 11 and 11b) from the Royal Mirage Hotel - 5 minutes by foot from the Menzah - into the medina area. We also ate at restaurants in town and only used the stove to boil eggs.)

Feel free to contact me if I can answer specific questions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samoens, France
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Great value for money when booking through booking.com.
Very nice hotel, great pool and lounging area. Rooms are large with comfortable beds, good kitchens and bathrooms.
Staff fairly inefficient but seemed to be their way! Nice buffet breakfast, hot and cold with a good selection, not included in the room rate.
Stayed here on two different occasions, would happily stay again.
Good location, half way between the new commercial area and old town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#301 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 402 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ryad Mogador Hotel
Ryad Mogador Hotel
#425 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 501 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#366 of 481 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel
Ryad Mogador Opera Hotel
#378 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 306 reviews
2.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#270 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
2.1 mi away
Meriem Hotel
Meriem Hotel
#367 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Mogador Menzah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Menzah

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Menzah 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 10-minute walk from the city centre of Marrakesh, the Ryad features a spa and offers air-conditioned studios. Guests can enjoy the hammam and the outdoor pool. The studios at the Appart Hotel Menzah all feature balconies and private bathrooms. Each has an equipped kitchenette and a mini-bar. Free Wi-fi is available in the hotel's common areas. Guest of the Ryad Mogador can enjoy a relaxing massage, or sunbathe on the poolside terrace. Ryad Mogador Appart Hotel Menzah offers a range of services, such as an on-site currency exchange and a tour desk. The Menara Gardens are 2 km away and free private parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Ryad Mogador Menzah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Menzah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Menzah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.