We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ryad Mogador Menzah

Save Saved
You added Ryad Mogador Menzah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Menzah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #407 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 10 nights in Oct.'11. It was a reasonable stay. The staff was nice and friendly. I would give it Average-to-Good rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    45
    35
    24
    22
See reviews for
44
45
6
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Not too impressed. The bathroom was quite dirty, we couldn't close the bathroom door due to a scary jamming lock, and our room key broke at least once a day. On top of which, the lobby ceilings around the hotel were leaking heavily with the rain throughout the week. The shop within the hotel was constantly closed, but there is a small supermarket and exchange just around the corner.
About a 40 minute walk to the centre, but very close to the main road for flagging down taxis.
I have to agree with other reviews about the attitude of staff, which was quite rude, given that we had to rock up and get our key fixed sometimes twice a day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Admittedly this hotel was cheap and so my expectations were not high. I must say the pool area is gorgeous and rooms are very big. However, staff are unfriendly, even down right rude! We asked if they could call us a taxi and we were told no. No advice was even offered as to a best place to flag one down! All guests (mostly looked local) were offered help with bags etc whereas we were ignored. Lights in the corridor were swtitched off all day and so had to fumble in the pitch black to get to our room. A friend even slipped on the tiled floor as could not see it was wet! We booked with a popular website and brought with us our booking confirmation. This detailed all room fees and taxes had been paid in full and yet hotel demanded a 'local tax' payment. No one made us aware of this at all, was not in our information and yet they would not budge. Be careful as you will be stung by this. Very little English whatsoever was spoken in the hotel. We would ask for an ice cream (kept in fridge by pool area) and were often simply told no with no explanation? All in all felt hotel was geared for locals and as Brits we felt mistreated and isolated! Hotel is also in a poor location - we had to taxi everywhere! I would recommend paying more for better location and welcoming environment!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchster
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Recently when to this hotel with the girls the hotel is good....it's about 5-10 mins in a taxi from the markets don't pay more than 10dir...breakfast is the same everyday but nice enough. We booked for 3 girls the rooms are 2 beds & 3rd bed is the settee which is big enough thou..We got a good deal on the spa & really enjoyed it & it's not expensive. Swimming pool isn't heated so was absolutly frezzing.
Struggled to find where to go out at night as the main square had just had a cafe bombed so didn't want to go in there, there are a few nice resturants round the hotel & a night club..we didn't go to pacha as we'd heard it was really expensive & the rest of marrakech is cheap!!! when you get to the markets the first stalls are really cheeky with the prices & you want to be paying about a third then we found the further in it was about half...when your leaving you have to change your money back & this isn't made aware but once you've gone threw the gates duty free doesn't even accept local currancy, so minimise how much you change at end of your holiday as when we got to the airport they wouldn't change it back to english!!!!! we had to change it to euros and all lost about £15....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Third stay at the Menzah and still quite pleased with the overall value: we paid $85 per night (approx 53 pounds = 60Euros) for a spacious family room. Before booking, I considered at several alternatives in the Hivernage area which is about a 5 minute walk on the other side of Avenue Mohammed VI. Due to budgetary constraints, I limited myself to properties that would have cost between $100-$140 per night (62-88 pounds, 70-98 Euros) - there are several places in the area that would have cost many times more. While Hivernage is a nicer area and 5 minutes closer to the medina by foot, I decided to stay with the Menzah for the value is represented: larger rooms (equipped with a small stove/ fridge), access to a nice pool, free wi-fi in all rooms etc. for $85 per night.

Not sure if other reviewers have mentioned but because the Menzah is somewhat out of the way, it is very quiet. Perhaps we've been lucky on three occasions but noise has never been an issue and indeed we enjoyed deep, refreshing sleep.

We may also have been fortunate on another account - dealing with the hotel staff. On each visit, we've had small things that weren't quite right: AC or stove (hob) not working properly, not enough towels or pillows, etc. In every case, a maintenance person (or someone from housekeeping) was sent up to fix the problem or deliver towels etc. If the AC/stove/fridge remained problematic, we were shown other rooms and asked to choose one.

The hotel staff (which has not changed since my first visit in 2009) have always been friendly, helpful and responsive. English is not their first language but most, if not all, are sufficiently competent to handle routine inquiries. As is the case most everywhere, I think, the attitude with which you approach them will be reflected back in the way they respond to you. I would only summarize this portion of my review by saying I've been lucky - the staff, especially Noureddine, did everything possible to make our stay relaxing and enjoyable.

Final comments: as was the case during my first visit, I noted many local (Moroccan) travelers choosing the Menzah. I also noted many more non-Moroccans on the property.
For sure, it is not a 5 star hotel, is not located just outside the medina walls and there are no fabulous restaurants within walking distance. Nevertheless, I continue to believe that it provides good value for the money. ( As in prior years, we took the local buses (numbers 11 and 11b) from the Royal Mirage Hotel - 5 minutes by foot from the Menzah - into the medina area. We also ate at restaurants in town and only used the stove to boil eggs.)

Feel free to contact me if I can answer specific questions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samoens, France
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Great value for money when booking through booking.com.
Very nice hotel, great pool and lounging area. Rooms are large with comfortable beds, good kitchens and bathrooms.
Staff fairly inefficient but seemed to be their way! Nice buffet breakfast, hot and cold with a good selection, not included in the room rate.
Stayed here on two different occasions, would happily stay again.
Good location, half way between the new commercial area and old town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

We stayed here for a week recently. When we arrived they had upgraded us to a apartment/room from a studio which we were pleased aboout. After entering the room we realised that it had not been cleaned since the last occupants - the sheets were dirty, the toilet had not even been flushed let alone cleaned and the patio door to the balcony did not lock. We went to speak to some one at reception who sent someone up to give us new sheets but that was all they did.
The maintenance man came to loook at the door, said he would be back and we didnt see him ever again!
Throughout the course of the week the cleaners did come into the room but did not actually clean anything! They did however help themselves to our conditioner, 200 Dirhams from my purse, a top, nail varnish, some food and tea bags.
In general the staff were not too bad apart from a man who sometimes ran reception who was extremely rude and waved us away with his hand on the several occasions we had to go and tell him the toilet would not flush (4x during the week!)
The pool was lovely and the best thing about the hotel. There is also a great place called Cafe Lobo around the back of the hotel which had really nice and reasonably priced food.
Over all I would not recommend this hotel, it looks cheap and cheerful but if you like to keep your belongings then go somewhere else!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryad Mogador Menzah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Menzah

Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#155 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Menzah 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 10-minute walk from the city centre of Marrakesh, the Ryad features a spa and offers air-conditioned studios. Guests can enjoy the hammam and the outdoor pool. The studios at the Appart Hotel Menzah all feature balconies and private bathrooms. Each has an equipped kitchenette and a mini-bar. Free Wi-fi is available in the hotel's common areas. Guest of the Ryad Mogador can enjoy a relaxing massage, or sunbathe on the poolside terrace. Ryad Mogador Appart Hotel Menzah offers a range of services, such as an on-site currency exchange and a tour desk. The Menara Gardens are 2 km away and free private parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HostelBookers, CityZen, Odigeo, Venere and Fastbooking so you can book your Ryad Mogador Menzah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Menzah Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryad Mogador Menzah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.