We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Riad made the difference !!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Rimal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Rimal to your Saves list
Riad Al Rimal
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   43 Derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #265 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Riad made the difference !!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

I decided to take my boyfriend on a surprise trip. I had always dreamed with visiting Marrakech. So I wanted to stay in a nice affordable place. A friend recommended to stay in a "Riad" vs a typical hotel, since Riads are the typical "luxury" house in Marrakech. And staying at a Riad was the best thing we could do. Advise, do your homework before you go to Marrakech, there are nearly 1200 Riads in the old city and thay can dramatically vary one from another in terms of quality and price. Riad Al Rimal is a neat place to stay, very cozy, every single area of the Riad is very well decorated and the rooms, oh boy very very nice nice nice. We stayed for 7 nights, 4 in a suite and the other 3 in the "DIAMOND" suite, supposed to be the best in the hotel, honestly we were a bit deceived, the rom is for sure bigger but the private terrace they offer...mmm... not good at all. It is the only part of the hotel were the decoration was overlooked. It is really a shame, cause with a bit more decoration this will be a beautiful area. So you will be better off in a regular suite, they are beautiful !!!
One other thing, when booking your reservation or when being in the hotel ask for Samuel, he is the director and boy he knows his job, very nice, gives good advice and he is just a very pleasant person to talk to, very friendly. Good job Samuel, you make the difference in the Riad !!!
Food is so so in the hotel, you better go to a restaurant, my suggestion DO NOT MISS OUT ON THE "TANJIA" awesome restaurant, it is defenetly in my top 5 list !!! For those who love ceasar salad and are frustrated cause when you are on a trip it seams no one can make a decent cesear salad, well in the TANJIA they got it right !!! Also go to the Ouzoud waterfalls if you have the time for an outing, and if you got tired of the souks. I was impressed, with the falls, was not expecting that at all, nice surprise.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    139
    24
    5
    10
See reviews for
74
308
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Everything one might hope for - from the breakfast on the sundrenched terrace, to the excellent food (delicious lamb tagine) served in the dining area & the coolness of the pool after spending time in the hot temperatures of Marrakech. Although the room (Ambre) was a little small, but excellent value & decor - since we stayed for a week we should have paid that little bit extra for a room with more space. We certainly recommend you stay there when visiting Marrakech

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

Hi,
We are a couple from Valencia, Spain. We went to Marrakech in September and after a long internet search to find a nice Riad, I find Riad Al Rimal. I wasn`t very sure wether to choose it because by then it was really new and no reviews could be found, but in their web you will find everything you'll need to know, pictures, adresses,...
Staying at Riad al Rimal is completelly the best option in Marrakech (....and maybe in the whole world!!). Once you arrive you will have the welcome tea with typical cakes, accompanied by its owner, a really nice frech woman.
The room we stayed in was hughe, comfortable and had everything we needed.
Breakfast is incredible, specially if there is good weather and you can eat it on the roof...There is coffee, lots of fruit, honey and butter with "crepes", ...you won't stay hungry!!
There is a small but cute pool and a turkish bath as well which are free of charge. One night we tried Cous-Cous at the restaurant and it resulted to be the best we have ever tried.
Apart from the palace-building, which is beautiful and very well furnished, the staff from Riad al Rimal is always there for everytinhg you need. "Fuet" showed to be very helpful and can show you the way to the main square of Marrakech, since the Riad is in the centre of the city!!!.

Certanly, there is no other place better than this to stay!!
We will come bak, hopefully.

RUBEN Y ELENA .

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2009

My husband & I spent 3 nights at this beautiful French owned Riad at the beginning of March, having booked via their impressive website a few months earlier.
Unfortunately, there was a minor mix up in our booking & this meant we had to spend our last night in Marrakech in another Riad. The upside of this slight mix up however, was that we got to spend our 3 nights at the Al Rimal in the Diamond Suite, rather than the smaller room we had originally booked.
Located on the first floor looking over the courtyard, the suite is beautiful. Spacious, with traditional fittings yet with a modern feel, the suite was peaceful and calming. A spiral staircase leads up to a private roof terrace, with views of the Koutoubia mosque.
The Riad itself has been restored immaculately and is worthy of inclusion into many a top 10 list. The decor and furnishings have been carefully chosen to blend new with old. The many chill out areas are perfect to spend some relaxing time away from the hustle & bustle of the souks.
The roof terrace is spacious with lots of lanterns, loungers and seating areas. With views over the medina, it is surprisingly quiet. There is a pretty dipping pool in the central courtyard area and there is also a Hammam and spa treatment room.
The Riad Al Rimal is well located not far from Jemma el Fna. The walk itself is through several small alleyways which initially seem quite daunting, especially at night, but once you know the way, it’s quite easy. It’s amazing how quiet it is, once you turn into the alley. You wouldn’t believe you were in the same place!
As this is French owned Riad, alcohol is served (otherwise very difficult to obtain in Marrakech). Madame Le Bour, the owner is very friendly and helpful. The staff working at the Riad are brilliant and always smiling. We ate in the Riad on our first night, and the food was lovely and well presented in the intimate dining room.
The Riad Al Rimal was an excellent choice for our first visit to Marrakech. It is a very good example of mixing old with the new. All the rooms and suites are named after gemstones. If you like a touch of luxury, mixed with the authenticity of a Riad, then this is a great choice. I would highly recommend it for anyone looking for a romantic few nights in Marrakech and if you can, book the Diamond Suite. You won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

Me and my wife went to Marrakesh for 4 days in November 2008, and after much thought we chose to stay for 2 night in Riad al Rimal (the remaining 2 nights we stayed at another riad as Rimal was fully booked). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend it to any fellow travellers.



On arrival, we received a very warm welcome from the staff, two of whom spoke very good english which is not so common in other riads - (neither of us spoke Arabic or French only English, so communication at Riad al Rimal was not a problem). Marie, the hotel owner was on site at all times during our stay, she too spoke very good English and was very helpful.



We stayed one night in the Diamond room and another night in the Aigue-Marine room. The rooms were clean, decent sized and had clean bathrooms. Breakfast at the riad was simply wonderful, offering fruits, yoghurt, different selection of pancakes and tea. Riad al Rimal's hospitality even extended after our stay when we left for the second riad. Marie kindly arranged for an excursion to Essouira with a driver for the day, which we found was hassle free and enjoyable. We decided to have the excursion arranged by Riad al Rimal, as the second riyad we were then staying in was although very nice, none of the staff could speak any English so it was impossible to arrange an excursion with them. Even though we had checked out of Riad al Rimal, Marie was still very happy to help us.



Riad al Rimal has a prime location, it is literally just a few minutes walk from the famous Jamaa al-finaa. This was very important in our research as the last thing you want is a long walk back, or to give an address to a taxi driver, who isn't aware of the destination. We were very surprised at how close the Riad was to the Main Square, the hours of staring at the Google maps paid off (Location is key since you have to walk pretty much everywhere in Marrakech. The Riad is on the better maintained, and much quieter corner of the Square. It is also very close to the Megabus stop (Big Red Tour Bus) which is very convenient to getting around the sites. This traditional Moroccan guest house had such a warm atmosphere, and provided us with a peaceful retreat from the bustling souks of Marrakesh.



Simply said, our stay in Marrakesh would not have been the same without Riad al Rimal.

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Disliked — Water Pressure, Not really the Riads fault
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2008

We have just returned from 5 nights at Riad Al Rimal, and had a wonderful time.The Riad has been beautifully decorated, and looks just loke the amazing pictures on their website.

We stayed in the Amethyste suite, which was beautiful with many moroccan style details.

Breakfast was included in the price, and consisted of bread, moroccan pancakes, yoghurt, fruit and orange juice - divine!

We would recommend anyone to stay in this place, the owner is really friendly and accommodating, breakfast on the terrace is not to be missed, and marrakesh is a great city.

The airport pick up is recommended as the hotel is situated on a tiny backstreet just off the Koutobia street - impossible to find without the helpful taxidriver!

The location is great,only 2 minutes from Jemaa el Fna, but really peaceful and quiet at night.

  • Liked — Location, atmosphere, staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Qc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

We stayed in the Corail room for 3 nights - the room was very nicely decorated and quiet. The riad has many different areas where you can relax and chill out, including a roof top terrace, bar area and main floor lounge. The staff are extremely friendly and very service oriented, and the owner is also very helpful.
Breakfast is served on the roof terrace (but you can also have it inside if you prefer) - good selection of fruit, yogourt and breads/moroccan crepes. We had dinner the first night we arrived and it was also good.
The location is very convenient and central: near the Koutubia, just inside the medina area, a short walk to the main square.
The only downside: To reach the riad you have to walk through a small winding alley way (which is fine during the day, but quite dark at night). The only other annoyance was all the flies buzzing around on the roof terrace, but this seemed to be the case everywhere we went in Morocco (we were told it was because it was date season). Overall, would recommend as an excellent place to stay in Marrakesh.

  • Liked — The decor/ambiance and friendly service.
  • Disliked — The flies on the roof terrace and the alley walkway to the entrance.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#156 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#102 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#136 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Sohane
Riad Dar Sohane
#169 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Catalina
Riad Catalina
#446 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Rimal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Rimal

Address: 43 Derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Rimal 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Al Rimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Rimal Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Rimal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.