We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel in the heart of Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Rimal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Al Rimal to your Saves list
Riad Al Rimal
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   43 Derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #264 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Prague
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel in the heart of Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Out of the three hotels we stayd at while we were in Marocco, this was my favourite one. The best thing about it are its common areas. There are only a couple of rooms so they are not busy and we found to prefer to spend our time in the hotel there to our rooms. There are decorative pillows, handcarved tables, glass lamps everywhere. I really enjoyed it. Also, there is a terrase on the roof along with some patteo furniture and a hot tub, unfortunetly we did not get to use it as it was still quite cold while we were there but I imagine it must be divine just to relax there and perhaps read a book.

The staff were all extremly helpfull, espetially a handsome young man who served us breakfast every morning. He seemed genuinely interested when he asked us what we did all day or what our plans were. Also both managers (I think it is a family business) were nice.

Breakfast was great, fresh fruit, freshly squezed juice, bread and some marmalades. Me and my boyfriend are both carnivores but we came to realize that it is not usuall to serve ham/sausage for breakfast in Marocco.

The rooms vere also beautifully decorated but a tad small. it was also quite unusuall that the bathroom did not have a full door - only a curtian or shutters.

The biggest problem I had was the noise in the morning. At 7 am, I was awoken by a horrible noise, sounded like grinding of metal as the gates to hell open. I fell asleep again, but in 2 minutes I heard it again. After about 20 minutes of desperately trying to go back to sleep I finally went out to investigate what was the source of this noise. Turns out our wall was on the other side od the evelator which the staff used to send food from the kitchen into the dining room. The elevator had these metal doors and they always had to slide it to open it. As this went on the whole morning, we asked for another room. The management was very understandable and gave us another one - I imagine people complain about this all the time so they were not surprised when we did.

The last thing I want to mention is the hotel location. It lies in the centreof the old part of the city. It is a great starting point for exploring the market, which is only 2 minutes walking from it. But it is IMPOSSIBLE to find. We were offered to pay for - I think - 16euro for the transfer from the bus station to the hotel. They put us in a van and drove us as close as they could, but you need to walk for the rest of the way. The driver escorted us there. Quite frankly, it was the best way to spend 16 euro. Really, the streets are a maze, half of them are not on google maps so your iphone won´t hepl you.

Another option is to take a petit taxi which ARE SO CHEAP! You ride for 10 minutes and pay 10 dirham=1euro! and then ask someone to show you where the hotel is, Moroccians are willing to do pretty much anything for a little bakschis, I guess 20 dirham would be enough for someone to show you where it is.

Overall, my experience with this hotel was very pleasant, If I ever go back to marocco I will definitely stay here and I can recommend it to you.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not to next to the breakfast elevator which would wake you up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    139
    24
    5
    10
See reviews for
74
308
16
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated to experience the "buzz" of Marrakech. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated and the staff could not be friendlier or do more to help. The room although small was expertly decorated and was more than adequate for relaxing after getting out of the bustling square.

The Jacuzzi and and sun loungers on the roof were a nice touch although it was a little too cold for us to fully appreciate.

The only negative was at two points during the stay there was a strong smell of sewage coming from the bathroom which quickly filled the room and forced us into other parts of the hotel, but with other areas being so nice it was not a massive problem.

Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I stayed as Riad Al Rimal on a bed and breakfast basis with my girlfriends to celebrate my friend's 30th birthday. We had such a great time! The hotel was beautiful and tranquil inside, with every room having a unique colour scheme. It was gorgeous. The dining area was lovely and last but not least, the staff were lovely and made us feel very welcome, especially Fourd, who sat us down upon our arrival, gave us Moroccan sweets, with mint tea and explained where all the hot spots were and what to avoid. His inside knowledge was invaluable. We were located very close to the famous square and the Medina, we were right in between the old town and the new town. What a contrast! But a must see.
Now for the not so great stuff - to get to the hotel, you have to walk down various alleyways. Care cannot go down them so you have to walk. Make sure you arrange transfers with the hotel! They not only know where the best place is to drop you off, but they will also assist with carrying your luggage.
Be careful of a man named Mustafa, who hangs outside the hotel and poses as a member of staff for the hotel. He will pretend he is guiding you around on instruction from the hotel, this is a lie! He takes you to specific restaurants or wherever else you want to go and gets commission from the establishment. He took us to the most awful restaurant where there were cats roaming around and nearly tainted our first impressions on the food in Morocco.
There are alot of cats everywhere in the old town and the go into restaurants begging for food. This is a put off if you are not a cat lover, be warned!
The breakfast in the hotel was ok, i didn't really like it as it was all cold foods, but you can ask them to make you something hot for an extra fee.
Overall though, a great experience and would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you want to experience Marrakech yet want to feel at home then Riad Al Rimal is the place. A beautiful Riad in the heart of the Medina .....5 mins to the square yet once inside an oasis of calm. Our room was beautiful and the staff really do look after you in a professional friendly manner . Breakfast and dinner are superb . Treat yourself to a bottle if wine to have on the rooftop in the sunshine listening to the sounds of Marrakech . On arrival you are treated to mint tea and pastries and given lots of helpful advice . Even when i realised i had forgotten some medication the staff went out if their way to assist me and even shared a local cure with me ....... Which wrked amazingly well. Wandering down alleyways and talking to strangers becomes second nature and the locals soon get to know you and will enter into friendly banter. There was even a box if kittens in the passageway with locals taking it in turn to look after them. We had a magical 4 days and hope to return to Marrakech again ......and there is no where else we would consider staying . We had asked the Team to book a guide for us - for a half day intro tour - Mohammad gave us a 3.5 hrs of pure magic which truly made Marrakech come live - we cannot recommend him highly enough .... He also recommended .... a little known but what has to be the best restaurant in Marrakech .... If you want that experience .....and friends who came with us and were on their 4 th trip to Marrakech were blown always..... Then you will have to book Mohammad ! If Marrakech is not on your bucket list .... Then put it on there now .... And add Riad Al Rimal for a truly magical experience .

Room Tip: The website shows all rooms..... They are all beautiful and most face inwards to a courtyard so it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Riad al Rimal was our home in Morocco. A big, but homely and comfortable place where we enjoyed our first trip. The staff especially deserves credit! Very friendly and helpful (multilingual). Transfer from the airport will get you a cab plus a guide to get you through the medina alleys for the first time, after that you'll easily find your way. We hope to return here. Lisa & Lucas.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The riad is excellently situated in the heart of the Jemna al Fna. Don't be alarmed by the small streets on arrival, the passageways are safely managed, but DO get the riad to pick you up from the airport! Superb restaurants were offered and booked, and the food served at the riad is 1st class ( book in advance). Beautiful breakfasts are given on the lovely roof top terrace - though the same food might get a little wearisome after a long stay! The rooms are authentic, clean and individual. The sheets are amazing - percale cotton at it's highest threading! I was ill during my stay, with an allergic reaction, but the riad could not have been more kind and helpful, ordering an emergency doctor and sorting out perscriptions. The manager said 'I would do anything to help as anyone who stays here is like family'. That's how it is at the Al-miral. It's a brilliant riad. I cannot recommend it more highly. Simply, don't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: The twin beds were pushed together in the Emmeraude suite - so not your standard 'twin room'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Would definitely stay here again. Very atmospheric. Tasteful rooms. Lovely sweet natured staff. Great breakfast on rooftop. Only complaint was that when we arrived they only sent 1 member of staff to help offload and carry 12 ladies considerable baggage from the closest drop off point a few hundred metres from the riad. Same when we left which meant one of our party had to miss out on the spa visit planned and paid for, in order to cope with it all. Felt they should have organised carts as happened at other riads in other towns, even if they charged you. Fantastic location. Felt a bit sorry for other guests as we were a group of 12 women tending to raucousness. Riads are not very soundproofed. Luckily for them, but sadly for us, we were only there for 2 nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#156 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#102 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#140 of 480 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Sohane
Riad Dar Sohane
#168 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Catalina
Riad Catalina
#446 of 1,135 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Rimal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Rimal

Address: 43 Derb Fahl Ezzafriti | Quartier Laksour, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Rimal 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Al Rimal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Rimal Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Al Rimal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.