We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite Riad Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPRING BARGAINS!
Ranked #8 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Leicestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Exquisite Riad Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

After weeks and weeks of extensive research in search of the perfect riad we were thrilled when we finally set foot inside this beautiful Riad. From the smooth transfer from the airport in a pre-arranged taxi to our departure when the owners Grant and Michelle personally said their goodbyes, this was an amazing 4 night break which was, in the main, due to our stay at this lovely property.

Grant and Michelle (the english owners) have really hit the spot with their attention to detail and their professionalism whilst managing to retain a laid back friendly approach which immediately makes you feel more like an old friend rather than just a hotel guest. Nothing was too much trouble for any of their staff and Naoual, their head of house was a truly lovely person, always keen to hear what you have been discovering on your trips out of the riad into the madness of the medina and souks. She was an invaluable source of information and really went that extra mile to ensure that we had everything that we needed.

Our suite (the Kaid) was amazing. We have visited a lot of countries over the years but never have we stayed in such a lovely room. The fruit left in our room daily and the beautiful fresh roses were very much appreciated, as was the daily complimentary afternoon moroccean mint tea and pastries.

We decided to dine in on one evening during our stay and the meal was delicious and very reasonably priced. the tagines were the best we experienced anywhere.

Lots has already been said about this wonderful riad. You must experience it for yourself but I defy anyone to find one single fault. It was simply perfect and we long to return in the future.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
271
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in November and it was a great location for exploring Marrakesh. Don't be put off by arriving at the end of an alleyway, once you reach this Riad it is a really lovely location. The staff are really helpful and pleasant. One our first night Michelle helped us find somewhere to eat and there is a real atmosphere of friendliness fostered between the guests,

Would recommend it for both the Riad itself and also its location, convenient for some of main sites, exploring the whole of the city and some good restaurants

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mossman, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We stayed here in early December, the Riad is truly beautiful and would have no hesitation in recommending. It is located in the Medina but takes around 15 minutes to walk to the djemma el-fna square. All the staff provided a great service, all maps and any information was readily available. Breakfast was also very good. Marrakech is a very interesting place and the people were friendly. Not as pushy as what the guide books tell you. We stayed for 3 nights and would have liked to stay longer. There is a lot to see and explore both inside and outside the medina. The best riad in the two weeks we stayed in Morocco.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

We have recently returned from a trip to the Riad Assakina in Marrakech, a truly unexpected bit of luxury right in the heart of Marrakech, Grant, Michele and all of their team are very warm and welcoming, the attention to detail is second to none and the lengths that both Michele and Grant go to, to ensure that you know where all the best places and restaurants to go to are (including being your tour guide) booking your restaurants and anything else your require are incredible. We felt we had been transported onto a different planet, away from the cold, hussle and bussle of the UK at Christmas time, it was just a perfect place to be and stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

What an achievment. Michele and Grant have created a truly beautiful enviroment in the heart of the medina . Spacious elegant bedroom ,heavenly bed and big fluffy bath towels. Delightful friendly staff, We were made so welcome by everyone.Michele was always at hand with information. The maps and sight seeing suggestions were very much appreciated .Breakfast was fabulous but the highlight must be the sunsets from the roof terrace.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We have just returned from our trip to Marrakech and an amazing stay in the Riad Assakina. We can't praise the Riad highly enough and can't wait for a return trip. Grant and Michele and their staff were so attentive and made us feel that nothing was an effort. They booked taxi's, places to eat and made arrangements for a trip to the Atlas Mountains for us. Their attention to detail and personal service is what we feel made our trip so enjoyable and relaxing. It's hard to believe this tranquil and stylish riad is there for so many people to enjoy while visiting a vibrant and busy city. I just hope you can take the time to experience it yourself !

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Traveling solo can be a little daunting sometimes. After researching Marrakech riads, I decided to stay at Riad Assakina and was very glad I chose this hotel. As a solo female, I was a little nervous about visiting Marrakech but the owners of this hotel, Michele and Grant, as well as their staff, made me feel right at home. With maps of the city's old town (medina) and a welcome packet with the dos and don'ts of Marrakech (such as child beggars, bartering, taxis, etc), I felt immediately at home. Michele, Grant and their team are extremely nice people and I was touched when Grant commented that this riad is "your home in Marrakech".

My room was beautifully decorated (as is the entire riad) and one of my favorite spots was watching the sunset on the roof. This riad is an oasis in the bustling Mellah (former Jewish quarter) of Marrakech which I would recommend to anyone.

Michele and Grant were immediately helpful as soon as I began corresponding with them about their hotel. They helped me to arrange a female guide my first day, which was extremely useful, and helped me book dinner at their hotel (delicious lamb tangine along with pumpkin and chickpea soup!) which was a sight for sour eyes after traveling 18 hours and thousands of miles from Houston, Texas.

The price of this hotel includes a wonderful breakfast (don't miss out on the fruit-filled pancakes or Moroccan pancakes in the bread basket which are both delicious) as well as afternoon tea, which is a nice break from the chaotic medina.

The personal touches and the incredibly friendly staff are what make this hotel so memorable. One my last morning, Michele and Grant walked me to my taxi and gave me a traditional Moroccan farewell with a kiss on each cheek. I found myself getting emotional, realizing how grateful I was as a solo female to stumble upon this terrific hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.