We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORLD CLASS SERVICE AT THIS WONDERFUL RIAD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPRING BARGAINS!
Ranked #8 of 470 Hotels in Marrakech
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WORLD CLASS SERVICE AT THIS WONDERFUL RIAD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

When it comes to the Riad Assakina, what you see on their beautifully presented website is exactly what you get.

Having read many of the reviews on Trip Advisor, we were confident that we were making the right decision when we booked the accommodation… and we were not disappointed! From the initial e-mail contact, throughout our stay and even post-trip, Grant and Michele were truly wonderful – bending over backwards to ensure our stay was perfect.

The riad itself is in the old Jewish quarter of the city (Mellah) – here, you will experience the real Marrakech. Yes, the city moves at a frenetic speed and no, you cannot fail to notice the poverty, but this is life in Morocco and anyone travelling to Marrakech must be prepared for this. You will see beggars in the streets around the main square (Jemaa El Fna), but I can assure that you that we were not hassled for money by anyone outside the riad.

The riad is an oasis in the middle of all the madness, and is the perfect place to retreat to at the end of a hot, busy day sightseeing and shopping. Afternoon tea (free of charge and served whatever time you require it!) on the stunning roof terrace is a real treat and was a relaxation highlight for us. It was a unique experience to watch the magnificent sun set across the rooftops, accompanied by the call to prayer echoing through the city – simply breathtaking! The décor at the riad is incredibly stylish, and the attention to detail is remarkable. The feel is modern, yet authentically North African, with the most effective use of lighting. We stayed in the Berber room which was absolutely stunning.

Grant and Michelle were the most attentive and genial hosts, and nothing was ever too much trouble. Grant gave us a short and informative tour of the district, as well as supplying us with maps and recommendations for places to visit. This hospitality was reflected in all of the friendly staff too, particularly Naoual and Hesham (apologies for the poor spelling!). We didn’t ‘dine in’ in the evening, but breakfast was lovely – plenty to choose from and wonderfully filling…so much so, we often skipped lunch! Other guests who did sample the evening meal ate in the sumptuous salon and were full of praise for the food and service. Speaking of food, definitely pay a visit to ‘Le Tanjia’ restaurant – the lamb tagine is delicious, as is the local ‘grey’ wine, and the lighting in the restaurant is magical. You’ll even get treated to some entertainment from the local belly dancers.

In summary, our trip was made by our choice of Riad Assakina and we relished its calm, peace and quiet. At times, we could easily have forgotten that we were paying customers, we were made to feel so at home. We cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
274
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

Everything about Riad Assakina is true. The standard of quality, the staff, Michele and Grant, the food so there is no point in saying that all over again but we experienced something that to us was of far greater value and one that as a traveller meant more than fluffy pillows and nice views.
We had got very sick in Fes and by the time we got ourselves to Marrakech we were in need of medical help. It is frightening enough to be ill in a foreign country and uncertain of the standard of medical help. Grant and Michele were fantastic getting us a doctor and providing us with everything we needed while bedridden for two days. Their kindness and understanding was amazing. Needless to say our trip to Morocco was marred and we had to shorten everything to fly home but I am so glad that we were at Riad Assakina when things went pear shaped.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

What a wonderful place 1 The reviews are all so true and this gem lived up to our expectations and beyond. This was our first visit to Marrakech and just the most wonderful experience. We had read in advance of our lovely Riad and the places to visit but hadn't realised what a wonderful welcome we'd receive from Grant and Michele and all their staff . We were truly looked after and made to feel we were at home.
It was a truly memorable holiday and we would wholeheartedly recommend this lovely riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had very high expectations of Riad Assakina as I had booked following fantastic reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed - our expectations were exceeded. Michele and Grant provided fantastic service from the moment I booked to the moment they waved us off in a taxi.
Our room was beautiful. The food was excellent - both breakfast and the lunch we had one day. The overall Riad was beautiful, with lovely public areas on the ground foor and on the upper and roof terraces.
Afternoon tea was served every day which was a really nice touch and wine and beer prices were very reasonable.
The location was very central - walking distance to lots of attractions and a couple of good restaurants (We would recommend KosyBar, which was 5 minutes from the Riad). The weather in October was a bit showery when we were there so worth checking out the general weather for October if you're really hoping for sunshine.

I cannot recommend Riad Assakina highly enough and wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We have just returned from a magical 3 night break at the Riad Assakina in Marrakech and what an incredible experience it was!
Michele & Grant are perfect hosts and their truly elegant and beautiful Riad offered a tranquil haven to which to return, following a day in the hustle and bustle of the city.
Our suite - The Almoravid - was perfect and so comfy. The roses, plate of fresh fruit laid out daily and chocolates on our pillows at night were lovely touches. Spotless bedlinen, fluffy towels and even djellabah's to relax in... I could go on and on!
We ate a delicious lunch, with very reasonably priced wine, at the Riad on two days and will make sure to have evening dinner when we next visit!
Grant & Michele did their utmost to ensure we had a memorable stay, nothing was too much trouble, from booking tables for us to eat out, showing us around to get our bearings and providing maps and tips to help when visiting the Souks and Medina.
The staff are lovely - they really do provide service with a smile. A special mention to the Riad guardian Hichem who was always around to welcome us back at night and did not lock up until all guests had returned safely.
I can only echo the many positive reviews already posted - but go and see for yourself - I am confident you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We have recently returned from a 5 night stay at the Riad Assakina and what a wonderful experience it was. Grant and Michelle the owners were the most wonderful hosts,as soon as you walked through the front door you felt totally relaxed. They were very informative, in what to do during your stay and even walked you around the local area, so that you could get your bearings. The riad it self was stunning and had been beautifully restored.Michelle and Grant helped with restaurant recommendations and booked these up for us and everyone superb.
It was like staying with friends and they were always intrested in how your day, in the busy and sometimes hectic streets of Marrakech had gone, along with the wonderful helpful and friendly staff and of course not forgeting Zac the resident cat it was a pleasure to come back for mint tea and pastries.
If you are thinking of visting Marrakech we would highly recommened the Riad Assakina you will not be dissappointed, it made our stay in this amazing and intresting city more enjoyable than we could ever imagined.
Thanks Michelle and Grant
Dave and Kim lindsey

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Michele and Grant (the owners) were there to welcome us upon arrival from the airport (using the chauffeur service arranged by them upon the booking of our holiday).

They gave us a guided tour of the Riad and allowed us to get unpacked and settled before escorting us to our first night's restaurant in way of orientation.

This was our first time in Marrakech and the recommendations provided for sightseeing, restaurants and shopping were invaluable in this frantic city. We were given tips on haggling and provided marked-up maps of the Souks and Medina.

The rooms are beautifully furnished in Moroccan style and are surprisingly quiet considering the noise in the surrounding city. The bed was very comfortable providing us with good nights' rest after tiring days in the city.

Good choice on breakfast menu, and mint tea and pastries served upon return to the Riad in the afternoons. Michele or Grant always available to answer any questions or to provide advice as necessary.

This was a perfect venue with amazing service (and friendly, unobtrusive staff) for our short visit to Marrakech.

We are delighted with our choice of Riad Assakina and will look forward to returning...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#49 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.