We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended - fantastic hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly Recommended - fantastic hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had very high expectations of Riad Assakina as I had booked following fantastic reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed - our expectations were exceeded. Michele and Grant provided fantastic service from the moment I booked to the moment they waved us off in a taxi.
Our room was beautiful. The food was excellent - both breakfast and the lunch we had one day. The overall Riad was beautiful, with lovely public areas on the ground foor and on the upper and roof terraces.
Afternoon tea was served every day which was a really nice touch and wine and beer prices were very reasonable.
The location was very central - walking distance to lots of attractions and a couple of good restaurants (We would recommend KosyBar, which was 5 minutes from the Riad). The weather in October was a bit showery when we were there so worth checking out the general weather for October if you're really hoping for sunshine.

I cannot recommend Riad Assakina highly enough and wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
240
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maghull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We have just returned from a magical 3 night break at the Riad Assakina in Marrakech and what an incredible experience it was!
Michele & Grant are perfect hosts and their truly elegant and beautiful Riad offered a tranquil haven to which to return, following a day in the hustle and bustle of the city.
Our suite - The Almoravid - was perfect and so comfy. The roses, plate of fresh fruit laid out daily and chocolates on our pillows at night were lovely touches. Spotless bedlinen, fluffy towels and even djellabah's to relax in... I could go on and on!
We ate a delicious lunch, with very reasonably priced wine, at the Riad on two days and will make sure to have evening dinner when we next visit!
Grant & Michele did their utmost to ensure we had a memorable stay, nothing was too much trouble, from booking tables for us to eat out, showing us around to get our bearings and providing maps and tips to help when visiting the Souks and Medina.
The staff are lovely - they really do provide service with a smile. A special mention to the Riad guardian Hichem who was always around to welcome us back at night and did not lock up until all guests had returned safely.
I can only echo the many positive reviews already posted - but go and see for yourself - I am confident you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We have recently returned from a 5 night stay at the Riad Assakina and what a wonderful experience it was. Grant and Michelle the owners were the most wonderful hosts,as soon as you walked through the front door you felt totally relaxed. They were very informative, in what to do during your stay and even walked you around the local area, so that you could get your bearings. The riad it self was stunning and had been beautifully restored.Michelle and Grant helped with restaurant recommendations and booked these up for us and everyone superb.
It was like staying with friends and they were always intrested in how your day, in the busy and sometimes hectic streets of Marrakech had gone, along with the wonderful helpful and friendly staff and of course not forgeting Zac the resident cat it was a pleasure to come back for mint tea and pastries.
If you are thinking of visting Marrakech we would highly recommened the Riad Assakina you will not be dissappointed, it made our stay in this amazing and intresting city more enjoyable than we could ever imagined.
Thanks Michelle and Grant
Dave and Kim lindsey

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

Michele and Grant (the owners) were there to welcome us upon arrival from the airport (using the chauffeur service arranged by them upon the booking of our holiday).

They gave us a guided tour of the Riad and allowed us to get unpacked and settled before escorting us to our first night's restaurant in way of orientation.

This was our first time in Marrakech and the recommendations provided for sightseeing, restaurants and shopping were invaluable in this frantic city. We were given tips on haggling and provided marked-up maps of the Souks and Medina.

The rooms are beautifully furnished in Moroccan style and are surprisingly quiet considering the noise in the surrounding city. The bed was very comfortable providing us with good nights' rest after tiring days in the city.

Good choice on breakfast menu, and mint tea and pastries served upon return to the Riad in the afternoons. Michele or Grant always available to answer any questions or to provide advice as necessary.

This was a perfect venue with amazing service (and friendly, unobtrusive staff) for our short visit to Marrakech.

We are delighted with our choice of Riad Assakina and will look forward to returning...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

We stayed at Riad Assakina in late June/ early July for 3 nights and it was fantastic. Michelle and Grant are such fantastic hosts, they literally will help you with anything from arranging a car to take you to and from the airport to leaving breakfast aside for you if you happen to sleep in after the serving times.
We chose to use our short stay in Marrakech as a time to chill out and as such spent a lot of time on the rooftop of the Riad reading and relaxing. All the house staff are brilliant and we were constantly refilled with cold water, nibbles and mint tea throughout the days! The rooms were so nice, beds so comfortable and air conditiong just right that we slept most nights for nearly 10 hours, you don't even end up hearing the calls to prayer in the early hours of the morning because the rooms are so insulated, it's awesome.
We had dinner in at the Riad one night and it was delicious, made by a local woman who works at the Riad to her family's traditional recipes - try it if you can!
Really such a lovely stay - I should have put my review up earlier but thank you Michelle & Grant, our stay was perfect!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Michele & Grant made our stay at the Riad Assakina such a wonderful and fruitful experience!

Their attention to detail and efforts to ensure we had a pleasant stay in Marrakech were most appreciated, allied to their knowledge and advice pointing us in the right direction all combined to make our stay perfect.

We loved the 'Hammam' at Les Bains de Marrakech which Michele arranged, some of our friends have never had such an experience and it was indeed a highlight of their stay.

Restaurants recommended were all excellent as were the tours and transfers which Michele arranged!

We cannot finish without saying what an outstanding job Grant and Michele have done in creating the oasis that is RIAD ASSAKINA and we can also see why they are justly proud of the team that help them run the Riad, Naoual and her colleagues are so friendly and welcoming and just could not do enough for us...and everything was done with a smile, which makes the world of difference!

Breakfast is superb and every other meal we ate in the Riad was very tasty, and we loved coming back each day for afternoon tea and Morrocan pastries and occasionally one of Meriam's home made cakes!

The position of this Riad is perfect to explore the Medina from and we really look forward to going back in the not too distant future!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

We have just come back from four nights at the fabulous Riad Assakina. We can’t praise it highly enough, from the service we received when making the booking to the welcome we received on arrival. Over a welcome drink of mint tea and treats, Michele gave us a very informative chat with recommendations on where to eat, shop, etc together with maps. The service we received was excellent – we were even taken round to a nearby restaurant on our first evening. The breakfasts were lovely and on returning to the riad in the afternoon we would relax on the roof terrace with mint tea and pastries or cake. We stayed in the Merenid Suite which was perfect, we had flowers in the room and each day we had a plate of fresh fruit. On one night we had dinner at the riad and were treated to the most delicious selection of home cooked moroccan food - it is highly recommended and a relaxing change from eating out. We had a fascinating time in Marrakech made all the better by the tranquillity, service, accommodation and atmosphere of the Riad Assakina.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Hotel
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.