We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish riad, relax & very friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER SPECIAL PACKAGES
Ranked #6 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Antwerp
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stylish riad, relax & very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

A beautiful place, quiet, stylish. The owner Michelle is a perfect host, as are the other employees. The room we had was perfect. There is a nice view from the roof terrace all over Marrakech. Although the riad's location (very good location, near Palais de la Bahia!) is in a alley, I feelt perfectly safe to walk home at night.
They have perfect tips to eat, lunch, shop and site seeing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
254
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

I have to agree with all other reviews. The Riad is perfect place to stay, a haven of calm in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the medina. Michelle and her staff were brilliant and were extremely knowledgable. They provided detailed maps and made bookings for restaurants and taxis. The Riad itself is beautiful, and lovely place to relax after a busy day in the souks, especially on the terrace with a mint tea or a beer. The location is great - close to the bahia and badii palaces, as well as a couple of museums and a great shopping street, riad ziyoun jdid. The Jemaa el Fna and souks is about a 10 min walk. I would definately recommend this hotel for a stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

Just back from a six night stay at the Assakina - cannot rate it highly enough. Michele and Grant are the perfect hosts and all the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.
Given the hustle and bustle of the square, the souks etc the Assakina was the perfect tranquil base needed to explore a wonderful city.
The attention to detail with both the decor and the little extra touches was much appreciated. As for breakfast, we didn't manage to fit a lunch in for the duration of our stay.
We will definitely return to Marrakech and most definitely to the Riad Assakina!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I cannot say enough amazing things about this Riad as it was truely faultess and beyond anywhere I've ever stayed. Michele and Grant have lovingly restored the Riad to a luxurious quality to the minute detail. Welcoming you with mint tea and a personal chat about what you want to do, handing you detailed maps, even guiding you on your first steps out into the hustle and bustle. Daily fresh fruit and chocolates in the room , bed turned down every night. Breakfast- even serve Tetley tea if you fancy! Plus the best pastries I've ever had. A perfect oasis of tranquality it was something hard to leave to go sightseeing! Lots of beds/sofas to chill in on the roof terrace, even supplying you with big straw hats! None of the staff can do enough for you. Ordering taxis, booking restaurants, offering advice on best hamma spas/shops for specific items. The best quality bed sheets you'll ever get to sleep in!.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2010

Just returned from celebrating my 60th birthday at Riad Assakina within the Medina in Marrakech. Michelle the owner/manager and all the staff are very helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We had the Riad exclusively for 10 and they organised a wonderful meal/banquet for us on my birthday. The rooms are all individual & of exceptional standard with complimentary, fruit, flowers, water, evening chocs and use of jeballahs and aromatic candle. They are furnished with local antiques, rugs and crafts. There was a choice of continental style or cooked breakfast with plenty of bread, toast or pastries. Afternoon tea is available each day with an extensive array of morrocan pastries, served on the roof terrace it's a refreshing tonic after haggling in the Souks. If you return to the Riad late in the evening there is always the smiling face of Hesham to greet you. All in all a perfect place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We chose Ria Assakina based on revious reviews. We can only endorse previous comments. We opted for the airport transfer arranged by Michelle and Grant and although maybe a little more expensive was well worth it in terms of a hassle free trip. It was clear that not all taxis knew where the Riad was. Michelle and Grant are a mine of information and are very happy to take time to share this with guests.
We were 2 couples and had the Berber and Saadien Rooms on the ground floor. These were very comfortable and beautifully furnished but, perhaps, on first sight were a little smaller than anticipated.
The day trip to the Atlas Mountains was well worth doing and, we felt, good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We came back from a long weekend in Assakina last night.

We're a well travelled middle-aged couple and I research everything before we go. I was sceptical about Assakina; surely it couldn't be THAT good? Well, it is. Best place I've ever stayed in.
The friendly welcome, the unobtrusive but excellent service, fabulous room, great food the exquisite taste of Michele and Grant, this place is a winner from start to finish. It felt like we were staying at the home of some laid-back, relaxed friends who were there with advice and suggestions if you needed it but otherwise gave you free run of their fabulous home.
My major worry about Marrakech was how I would find anything to eat; apparently Moroccans don't 'get' Vegetarians. Well Michele does and pointed me in the right direction, including the delicious food created in the Riad's own kitchen to order.
I could go on and on, but probably best to say we are already trying to find time to go back this year.
5*, 2 thumbs up.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.