We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marrakech & Riad Assakina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MAY MADNESS!
Ranked #8 of 471 Hotels in Marrakech
Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Marrakech & Riad Assakina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Not being a well travelled family, only travelling fairly locally and on the odd package deal holiday, I was dubious about our first visit to Marrakech. However, having recently returned from a 5 day break at the Riad Assakina, I felt I had to share my experience with others and hopefully encourage them to visit aswell – both Marrakech and Riad Assakina are truly amazing.

The Riad is just a short drive from the airport and you get to see a completely different way of life along the way. It was an eye opener to say the least and nothing like we could ever have expected. (Who would think that having a family of 4 and a sheep piled on a motorcycle riding along the road would be seen as normal!)

After the bustling streets of Marrakech, stepping through the doorway of the Riad Assakina was like entering a different world. We were warmly welcomed by the owners Michele & Grant and offered traditional Moroccan mint tea and pastries, just what we needed after the stress of our journey! The Riad is absolutely stunning; the attention to detail in the rooms and public areas is out of this world and you are made to feel like Royalty the whole time. Nothing is ever too much trouble for the friendly staff and not once did a staff member pass me without a ‘good morning, hello or a friendly smile’.
On a personal note, I loved that I had a choice of poached, fried or scrambled eggs on toast for breakfast… such a Brit!

During our stay, Michele took time out of her busy schedule to print maps of the local area to help us find our way to the Souks to find the perfect Tagine pot and practice our haggling techniques and Grant took much time out of his day to take us personally to the best eateries in the area. He recommended we try Pigeon Pastilla and it was the best thing we had ever tasted! Definitely a ‘must do and try’ if you visit. Grant organised a beautiful day out to the Atlas mountains where we took some lovely pictures and have fantastic memories.

I would have no hesitation in recommending Riad Assakina as your residence in Marrakech. I cannot think how another Riad in this area would rival this charming place. We are considering a return trip to Marrakech in the not too distant future and we would not contemplate staying anywhere else but with Michele, Grant, Zac and the Assakina team.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
277
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

Its taken me a while to get round to writing this review but everything I would have said last month still remains - Riad Assakina is wonderful - the most perfect place to stay in Marrakech and I am so pleased we found it! It was the most beautfiul and perfect place for us to spend our week and every time I look at our photos and think of our time spent there it brings a big smile to my face.

Michelle and her staff are truly wonderful, from the incredible breakfasts in the morning to recommendations of where to go and what to do during the day, or where to eat at night. This was our first visit to Marrakech and we have not stopped raving about it since we returned. We have recommended Riad Assakina to all of our friends and will definitely be returning one day!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

This was our first visit to Marrakech, we searched for a long time to find a Raid that had the WOW factor! Well, what can I say - the first thing that struck me was - 'this says what it does on the tin' - I must compliment you on your website as you already have an image in your mind and you hope it's like that when you actually see it in the flesh - we were not disappointed.

It was a real pleasure and a treat to stay at Raid Assakina. The welcoming glass of mint tea, the attention to detail, the attentive service made the stay even more special. Michelle's help via email in making arrangement such as restaurant reservations in advance really helped us make the most of a short stay.

Most important when staying in such an unfamiliar (in many ways) city is to have the support and guidance of someone who really knows the city, especially the details which are not in the guide books. Michelle and her team provide this and much more.

We travel very frequently, expect a lot and recognise excellence when we find it.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We travelled to Morocco for the 1st time to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and feel so lucky to have chosen Riad Assakina!
After an arduous journey from the Uk we finally arrived at 2.30am - exhausted and fed up. From the moment the door was opened and we were met by Hicham, who greeted us with a big warm smile, things started to look up and just got better and better.Our bedroom was beautifully decorated, as is the whole Riad, and the bed very comfy. The fresh roses, bottled water, fresh fruit and pastries waiting in our room were examples of the personal touch that makes Riad Assakina so special.

The owners, Michele & Grant, and all their staff are wonderful, frindly, kind, thoughtful, interested, helpful..........I could go on!! The quality of the breakfasts was excellent with very good choices. Complimentary tea/coffee and pastries were most welcome after a busy day.

The whole ambiance of the Riad is restful and was all that we could have hoped for!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Stayed at this riad in October 2009 with a girl friend. Michelle and her team were wonderful. All of the staff were so friendly and went out of their way to make our stay such an enjoyable one. Michelle has done a great job in restoring the riad - it was a terrific place to come back to at the end of a busy day in the souks! The breakfast was great - a good choice of pastries, fresh fruit and traditional english egg and bacon! We also ate there one evening and the meal was delicious - made even more memorable by Zac (the cat) joining us at the table! Highly recommended and would definitely return if I visit Marrakech again.
Ann - London

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monmouthshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2009

I feel compelled to write a review on Riad Assakina as it was the single most delightful hotel experience I have had.

On arriving at the Riad we were greeted personally by the owners, Michele and Grant with a delicious cup of traditional Morrocan mint tea and fresh local pastries. We were then shown to our suites before given a quick tour of the beautiful riad and surrounding areas. Every floor took my breath away and I was most impressed by the attention to detail.

The suite was bright and spacious with beautiful fresh flowers and I loved that little personal touch of the djalaba hanging in the bathroom for each guest. We had fresh fruit in our room everyday and tasty chocolates every night. The swimming pool was a delightful feature and very welcoming on those very hot days. I can't imagine how much time and hard work went into this Riad.

Our breakfast was very enjoyable each morning. The staff were very pleasant and always greeted us with a friendly hello and a smile. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Being British our eggs are very important to us and let me just say, they know how to cook them perfectly in the Riad kitchen. Wow!!!! :)

As this was our first time in Marrakech we were slightly apprehensive about walking around in the maze like streets. Michele helped us out by personally mapping out routes for us to follow so we wouldn't get lost. After a few nervous forays into the nearby souks, we became used to the ways of locals and found ourselves fitting in just fine! Everyday, after our experiences out in the hussle of the city, we knew we could come back to the Riad Assakina where we could sit on the terrace and relax with a cool drink or a nice cup of tea!

All in all this was a spectacular holiday made even better by the hospitality of the staff in the Riad and the beauty that surrounded us everyday. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2009

This was our second stay at the Riad - we loved it so much we had to return. It is situated in the perfect place wtihin easy walking distance for the main square. Grant and Michele are the perfect hosts who really can't do enough for you.
The rooms are stunning, the roof terrace amazing as is the whole riad. If your going to Marrakech this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and T4B so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.