We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful, tranquil and a haven amidst the hustle and bustle which is Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
JANUARY & FEBRUARY OFFERS
Ranked #6 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Paphos, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“beautiful, tranquil and a haven amidst the hustle and bustle which is Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Riad Assakina is a beautiful, tranquil place and a haven amidst the hustle and bustle which is Marrakech. While out and about each day and ready for a rest, either my husband or I would say "Let's go home now" and it really did feel like a home away from home
I instantly knew, after all my research before hand, that I had made absolutely the right choice and we can't wait to return

Never, in all our travels have we felt so cossetted and cared for, by the whole team
On arrival back at the Riad each day, there was always a smiling face to welcome us, from any of the lovely staff, with delicious mint tea and pastries and genuine interest in where we had been and what we had done

The Riad is perfectly placed for exploring the city on foot, with occasional (and very cheap) taxi rides to get further afield

The communal areas are all exquisite, beautifully restored and cared for and the album of "before & after" photographs is fascinating
The terraces are gorgeous, tranquil and a real sun trap, with shady areas if you prefer
All the bedrooms are incredible, each with their own individual touches and pieces of antique Moroccan art
The resident kitten, little Zak is great fun and very cuddly. We are not really pet-people, but we LOVED him!

Breakfasts are fabulous and certainly enough to keep you going all day until you return for afternoon tea.
We had dinner in the Riad one night and again had wonderful, restaurant quality food in a delightful setting

The Riad is privately owned and run by Grant and Michele and the personal touch is always evident
We were disappointed to not meet Grant after so many lovely emails, but Michele is an absolute delight and we enjoyed her company immensely. She really is a font of knowledge about all things Marrakechi and in particular about the local shopping! Michele recommended many exquisite restaurants and interesting places to visit
We spent a fascinating morning with her, being taken to the souk shops where the prices really are "right"! The team that Michele has working with her are equally delightful, nothing is too much trouble and a joy to talk to

Go to the Riad Assakina as soon as you can, enjoy being pampered in beautiful surroundings and say hello to Michele and her staff from us.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
266
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

I've just returned from a week at Riad Assakina with a party of friends and family. Michele, Grant and their lovely staff made us feel very welcome. They got the balance just right between being there when we needed them, but remaining discreet. They offered so many little luxuries and extra touches - not to mention the gorgeous breakfasts and afternoon teas - which really made our stay top rate. The riad itself is breathtakingly beautiful, peaceful, and is stylishly yet comfortably decorated. It's situated in a great location, and we were able to walk everywhere. The only thing that would stop me from recommending Riad Assakina to everyone is that I don't want it to be booked up next time I want to stay (soon)!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Wow, what can I say.... We had an amazing time in Marrakech mainly due to booking the Riad Assakina, what a find. Michele the owner and her small committed team made us feel relaxed and so at home. They were all so friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The riad is well located for all the major attractions and Michele will provide you with detailed maps of any area that you wish to explore she even took us to the surrounding area on our first day, where would you get attention like that ? Michele or one of her team will arrange guides, taxis and even book restaurants should you need them, they are there on your return from the heat and buzz of the day with mint tea and fresh cakes, and happy to listen to your tales and adventures ! The Riad itself is absolutely stunning, beautifully decorated throughout, Pure luxury.The attention to detail included fresh flowers in our room, fresh fruit each day and a little tray of chocolates on our turn down beds. The breakfast is excellent just what you need to set you up for the day ahead, and do do try to eat at the riad at least one evening, your be pleased you did, the meal was just divine. I would never recommend anywhere other than the Riad Assakina and cant wait return. Thank you Michele and Team Assakina

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

Peaceful, relaxing, a beautifuly renovated riad with friendly attentive staff an excellent place to escape the mayhem of marrakesh. Well located for Palaces and Tombs 5-10 minutes walk to main square/souks.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

The Assakina is an oasis of stylish calm in the busy Medina area. Ideally placed for the main square, souks and a range of great restaurants. The decor is really special - Morrocan and other antiques used in really interesting ways. We would recommend the Khalid suite - stunning. Excellent breakfasts in the courtyard and a lovely roof terrace for a beer or glass of wine watching the sun go down over the Medina. Best bit however, is the staff who are all so friendly and helpful. Michelle, the owner, goes out of her way to make sure you get the best out of the city, offering invaluable tips on prices, restaurants and how to negociate the maze of streets in the Medina. A wonderful stay - we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

What a stunning place to fall in the middle of madness! We were just thrilled to bits with our choice of this riad whilst we holidayed in Marrakech. Riad Assakina exceeded our expectations of riad lifestyle. Highlights included a genuine friendly welcome and a wealth of knowledge, friendly staff who are always smiling, superb food which was always fresh and plentiful, crazy entertaining resident Zak (the cat), and especially gorgeous surroundings! All these amounted to an unforgettable sojourn. We could not speak more highly of our stay at Riad Assakina and would be back in a heartbeat. These memories will be with us forever.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hedge End
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

Riad Assakina is an excellant example of a recently restored riad combining excellant facilities with a traditional Morrocan style.
The bedrooms are very comfortable with a little more space than normally associated with this type of accomodation.
The public areas have been tastefully furnished and provide both a cool shaded environment or great sunbathing facilities. Both are excellant for sharing a bottle of house wine with friends after a busy day in the souhks.
Whilst Michele, the owner/manager is English she seems to have a depth of knowledge about Morrakech to rival the locals. She will happily share isights into shopping, eating and sight seeing that enhance the marrakech experience.
Michele's team at the Riad seem to really understand what customer service is all about and always with a smile.
Don't be put off by the approach when arriving from the airport!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.