We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Six star stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
JANUARY & FEBRUARY OFFERS
Ranked #6 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Six star stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

The Riad is excellently located in the old Jewish Quarter very close to the palaces and a few minutes walk from the main square. We had a wonderful warm welcome from Michelle and from then on nothing was too much trouble. The Assakina is beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable. Michelle and all her staff were so helpful with booking restaurants and taxis and with much local advice. We felt as though we were staying with old friends. Afternoon tea on the rooftop terrace is very relaxing after sightseeing and the food is excellent. We would suggest that you do not stay anywhere else in Marrakech!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
267
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

Marrakech was our last stop during a 10 days trip in Morocco. We first visited Tangiers, Fes and Casablanca. We liked Marrakech best, even with the heat. Casablanca was totally a waste of time, apart from the big mosque. Riad Assakina is a charming and cozy hotel. It’s well located and the service is very good, just as we read in all the reviews. I wouldn’t say it’s the best hotel I’ve stayed in but it’s certainly a good value.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Having been fortunate enough to have stayed in seven riads / dars over the last few years I found the Assakina a bit too European. The riad lacks history and that all important authentic Moroccan feel.
I booked the riad as it looked like it had a amazing roof terrace, it has apart from the upper roof's gazebo being full of hot noisy air conditioning units and the plunge pool only being 300mm deep! Assakina... ditch the trellis and polycarbonate sheet roof and put up a Berber tent, that would be stunning and a lot cooler to sit under.
Dont get me wrong I had a fab time here, comfortable rooms, spotlessly clean, great breakfast, good pool, easy location and the staff are a credit.
I would recommend the Assakina it ticks most of the boxes, it just wasn't for me. Sorry

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

We stayed at the riad assakina for just two nights - just as a short break away.

It was everything we were looking for and more, Michelle was so lovely and helpful.. with our complimenatary mint tea on arrival we sat and she pointed out the places that were of interest to us, giving us detailed maps so that we could go exploring.

After the chaos of the suks it was our oasis to return and dip our feet in the pool and drink more mint tea.

Michelle and her team remommended restaurants and even booked them for us, nothing was too much trouble and Mohammed, the riad guardian was soooo helpful

We definately want to go back some time - we made the right choice is staying at the beautiful and chic riad assakina - the only regret is that we didnt stay for longer

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

Hidden within the walls of the Riad was a secret world of cool and exquisitely tasteful serenity; a stark contrast to the hustle and bustle of the dusty hot streets of Marrakesh.

Everything was beautiful and nothing was lacking. Grant and Michele really do administer the personal touch, showing us points of interest on the map and making recommendations, bookings and mixing mean drinks in the evening!

In the heat of the day it was a real treat to call Riad Assakina our base ("Your Residence in Marrakesh"!) and we passed many an hour with our feet in the pool relaxing amongst the beautiful plants or on the sunbeds, serenaded by the call to prayer or relaxing African music. When the heat had passed, armed with our maps, we began exploring the museums and gardens recommended by G&M and for this, the location of the Riad was super. The Jewish quarter itself has much to offer and we spent a happy hour (and far too much money, no doubt) bartering over souvenirs.

We were very glad to explore the city at night too and it was a real help that Grant & Michele booked taxis on our behalf. When one didn't show, we were led to the streets where Mohammed picked one up for us. Taxi rides were a real adventure and the journeys at night were as exciting as the destination!

An enchanting holiday in a beautiful home.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

This was my first trip to Morroco and had no idea what to expect, but I have to say I loved it and would go back to Marrakech in a heartbeat! I stayed at the Riad Assakina for three nights and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. When we arrived throuh the doors, the staff all greeted us and offered us some wonderful mint tea and dates with walnuts to eat. Michelle, the owner, sat us down and talked us through some of the culture and expectations of Marrakech which was really helpful, as well as a few sights to see and the best way to guide ourselves around. Michelle also got me some paracetomol as I was feeling full of cold when I arrived unfortunately, which was so kind. You don't get that personal touch and that kindness in 'normal' hotels.

The riad looks just like it does on their website, so as long as you have a good look at their site, it'll be just like you walked into your computer screen! (Only better of course!)

Staying at the riad was great, my boyfriend and I loved it. The staff Michelle has are absolutely fantastic, friendly, efficient and warm. The riad's two Guardians are a total credit to the place and are such nice guys.

Only thing we hadn't done there was eat a meal there, bar the breakfast (which was extremely good) and the complementary tea and morrocan pastries at tea time. Next time I go back I will order myself a meal....and I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Riad Assakina lives up every bit to how it has been reviewed as a haven in the medina.

The riad has been beautifully renovated in a manner that respects the rich tradition and provenance. Evey aspect to the experience has been thought of in great detail.

The team were always on hand to ensure we effortlessley slipped in to everything that is hip in Marrakech - from hidden gems in the souks to the best places to spend an evening out.

Originally we had only booked for 5 nights but came back for more after 2 nights in Essaouira. Not to be missed!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.