We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPRING BARGAINS!
Ranked #8 of 469 Hotels in Marrakech
Landaagiraavaru Island
1 review
“Amazing Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautifully transformed Riad in the heart of Marrakech. Wonderful decor only surpassed by the outstanding welcome of the owners, who are knowledgeable about the area as well as accommodating to specific needs.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
269
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After reading fantastic reviews on Trip Advisor we made the decision to stay at Riad Assakina during our trip to Marrakech in December...and what a great decision that was!

Michele, Grant and the entire Assakina team were so welcoming and it was the best service we have ever experienced. From the minute we stepped through the door, it was such a welcoming and relaxing accommodation (a huge contrast to the hustle and bustle of the Medina outside).

Every morning we woke to freshly cooked breakfast and they kindly upgraded us for 3 of the 4 nights we stayed. On the day we had to change rooms, the team moved all of our belongings for us while we were out for the day...nothing was ever a hassle.

On our return to the riad every afternoon we were welcomed home to Moroccan Mint Tea (delicious) and pastries. We enjoyed relaxing on the roof top terrace even during the cooler weather, and we will definitely be back to experience Marrakech during the warmer months.

We would like to thank the Assakina team for the wonderful time - they truly made our holiday in Marrakech! And for anyone travelling to Marrakech, we would highly recommend staying at Riad Assakina and you will leave feeling like you are saying goodbye to friends and wishing you could stay much longer!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This riad is stunning - it's not at all surprising that the owner (Michele) used to run an interior design company! We had two interconnecting rooms, for us and our children - ideal for a family. The service was excellent - friendly staff and useful local advise - I cannot recommend it enough!

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2015

A really great stay at Riad Assakina in January 2015. The location was nice, by the Bahaia Palace and easy to walk to the Jemma el Fna square and around the less busy area south of the Medina which I really liked. Close to the Badi Palace as well.Michele and Grant as well as all the Riad staff were so helpful and nice. I highly recommend Riad Assakina!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

There's nothing I can say that hasn't been said before about Riad Assakina. I will say that where you stay makes your trip experience an even better one or a worse one, and Riad Assakina will be the highlight of your trip.

After spending a day in the chaotic and endearing streets of Marrakech, Riad Assakina is inviting, beautiful, refreshing, clean and relaxing The staff there from Michelle, to Hesham and Nowell (sorry if I butchered the spelling!) made us feel like family and royalty at the same time. Every need we had was taken care. They made restaurant recommendations, arranged for safe and reliable transportation and strove to make us as happy as can be everyday. As a self proclaimed world traveler who has stayed at 5 star resorts which were amazing, this was even better! And for the first time I was genuinely sad to leave an accommodation!! On Christmas Michelle gave all of her guests beautiful gifts and our send off was like saying goodbye to family. Will definitely be back -- and thank you Michelle, Hesham, and Nowell et al for the amazing memories!!!

The only downside is, that if you're not ending your trip with Assakina.... you will be disappointed with any following accommodations you're heading to. No one can live up to, or come close to Assakina!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

This review is long overdue having visited the Riad in October with 3 friends to celebrate our 50th birthdays.

From the moment I made contact with Grant and Michele, they couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. They were proactive with their communications and Michele alerted us to the fact that we would be staying during Eid and provided a range of suggestions and alternatives regarding what we could enjoy.

On arrival and all throughout our stay, both Grant and Michele couldn't have been more hospitable. They suggested and booked wonderful restaurants for us and similarly with a trip into the Atlas Mountains and a wonderful spa experience. They provided excellent directions and suggestions of where best to shop - just amazing.

We ate in the Riad on 2-3 occasions, all of which was delicious. The staff are fantastic - so attentive and helpful.

We have such wonderful memories of our 50th birthday celebrations in Marrakech and this is due to the Riad, its location and hospitality of Grant and Michele and their wonderful staff. We couldn't have picked a better Riad, simply wonderful. So don't hesitate to book, you won't be disappointed. I certainly hope to come back one day.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of rooms, 6 I think - all of which are of a very high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

Love, loved our stay at Assakina! My sister said that it was one of her best hotel stays ever (and she's stayed at some 6 star jobbies). It was the best because of the amazing owners Grant and Michel who do everything they possibly can to make you feel comfortable in Marrekech (because it can be a bit intimidating for some travellers - not us though)! Michel spent almost an hour briefing us on arrival using their own city map highlighting the best walks, places of interest, shops and restaurants (be sure to get pointers on which places serve alcohol if you like a tipple with your meal). It was almost a shame to leave the tranquility of the riad but on our return each day Heshim made the best gin and tonics served with nuts and olives. Wonderful breakfasts too! I'd love to come back and hire the whole riad with my friends for a week - it would be too much fun!!!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.