We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
PRE-CHRISTMAS BARGAINS!
Ranked #6 of 462 Hotels in Marrakech
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Hidden Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed here after falling across the Riad on the internet. We were not disappointed! Michele and Grant are the perfect hosts - they make you feel like Riad Assakina is your home from home, sharing their knowledge of all things Marrakesh including where to shop for specific things, where to eat and what sites to visit and when (timings are key to avoid the coach trips full of people!). And I seriously don't have enough praise for their staff who were warm, welcoming and always ready to help whenever you saw them. If only every place you stayed had staff like these wonderful people. Breakfast was lovely, served on the terrace or indoors if it was a wee bit chilly outdoors, and we were always home by 4pm so we didn't miss out on our mint tea with freshly baked cake on the roof terrace. Just bliss! Don't be put off by the Riad's location (we did wonder where we were being taken when we were lead down a small alleyway...!) - it is absolutely perfectly situated south of Jemaa el Fna square and only a 10 minute leisurely (if you ignore the motorbikes...) amble from the souks. Once you see the hustle and bustle and noise of the main square and all the souks I promise you will be bowled over by (and grateful for!) the peace and tranquility (not to mention cleanliness and wonderful smells) you will find inside the doors at Riad Assakina. While it was a great experience looking round the city, it was an absolute pleasure coming back to the paradise that this Riad offers you! Thank you Michele, Grant and the team for making our first child-free break in 2 years a truly relaxing and memorable experience. We would certainly recommend Riad Assakina to anyone wanting to visit Marrakesh, and would not look at anywhere else to stay should we venture back here!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Riad's smallest rooms on the ground floor. Given we spent a lot of time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
265
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had been recommended this beautiful Riad by two couples who had enjoyed their stay there and are so pleased we took their advice. It is a wonderful Riad... a peaceful oasis away from the rush of the Medina. So much thought has gone into its décor by Michele and you can rely on Grant for his guidance and a good anecdote! All the Team are so welcoming and helpful, providing delicious breakfasts, tea and cake, and a good G&T appetiser! We would recommend having an evening meal in the Riad, which was very special. The room was beautiful, clean and the bed was very comfortable. Michele and Grant are only too pleased to recommend places to eat (we enjoyed every meal we had there) and will organise transport there and back and also trips to places such as the Atlas Mountains. It was a memorable holiday, made very special by the Team and the beauty of Riad Assakina.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this Riad for its excellent location close to the Jemaa el Fna square and the souks, in the heart of the Medina, and because a friend recommended it.
Its magnificent terrace allowed us to rest and relax after a hard day of shopping and haggling, excellent dining and drinking mint tea. Its a clean riad with lovely and pleasant interior.

We did a one day trip to Essaouira with a local agency tours Authentic Berber and come back to sleep here because we were like at our home.

We would choose again

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at Riad Assakina for 8 nights and from beginning to end we have enjoyed the friendliest and most helpful service we have ever experienced. Michele, Grant and their fantastic team have looked after us so well it has been a privilege to stay here. We arrived in the evening and were somewhat overwhelmed by the sights and sounds of Marrakech! When our driver (who had been arranged to pick us up from the airport by Grant) dropped us at the end of a narrow alleyway and walked us down the alley to a wrought iron gate we were anxious to say the least. Once the door was opened and we entered the Riad Assikina it was, as other reviewers have commented, into an oasis of calm and beauty. We were immediately offered a hot drink and a wonderful welcome, together with enough information to start our Marrakech experience. We appreciated so much being escorted to our chosen restaurant for dinner that evening. The room was so comfortable and beautifully decorated-we loved the tadelakt shower! Throughout our stay our hosts and their team were charming, so helpful and made our stay, in the madness that is Marrakech, wonderful.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So why did this Riad win a trip advisor award ?
Because it is worth it ! - The best service I have had at a hotel, Grant & Michele leading the way in showing what friendly, helpful and personal service is all about. My Wife and I were so impressed once you enter the gate from the narrow (but safe !!!) alleyways of Marrakesh into the tranquil oasis the Riad Assakina surely is, the style and decor are all exceptional. Being escorted to Kosybar on our first night (our choice by the way) through the unfamiliar streets and not to the door but to the table was really beyond anything we expected. The help (I hesitate to use the word service as it sounds contrived) and support from everyone at Riad Assakina was outstanding little wonder awards are forthcoming and a deserved high ranking on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my fourth trip to Marrakech and I always stay at riad assikina. The location couldn't be better, the riad is like an oasis in the chaos of Marrakech. Michele and Grant are wonderful hosts with excellent knowledge of the area. Afternoon tea is a delight with a different home made cake each day. You will be sure to get the warmest of welcomes.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this beautiful riad. It's location within the Medina is ideal to visit the sights of Marrakech. The beautifully decorated riad provides peaceful, tranquillity after the streets of Marrakech. The hosts Grant and Michele supported by their superb staff provide friendly, yet unobtrusive help if required to source sites to visit, restaurants (book and organise taxis) and important shopping tips.

We would both thoroughly recommend this riad and a good start is to visit their stunning web site. The reality matches the website.

We will make a return visit.

Room Tip: Check out their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#34 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.