We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property, personal and kind service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
JANUARY & FEBRUARY OFFERS
Ranked #6 of 465 Hotels in Marrakech
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, personal and kind service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I chose this Riad from the many in Marrakech because it seemed to offer many of the lovely details that I was looking for in a place to relax after three weeks travelling in Morrocco including a night spent at the Sahara's remotest camp. I wanted a soft place to land and I got it. The Riad is beautifully designed with many details to engage the eyes and senses. There are many very comfortable places throughout to rest and sit. There is a terasse where you can dine or have tapas or just a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the city. All the staff are caring and you feel that several times everyday, someone is asking after your welfare . Dinner recommendations were all good and reservations taken care of. Transfer back to the airport for our onward flight was included which was a lovely surprise and carried out by a trusted driver in a comfortable car. Another wonderful and generous surprise was an upgrade for three of our four nights. I'm so glad we chose Michele and Grant's gorgeous Riad and it's part of our fondest memories of Marrkech.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
266
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed at the Riad Assakina for a week and am very happy with my experience. The staff are fantastic, the riad is beautiful, and the location is excellent (close to almost everything you will probably want to see in Marrakech and close to many great places to eat).

Room Tip: I tried two rooms and they were both excellent. Wifi signal is stronger on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed with Grant, Michelle and the team in February for 5 days. We had a wonderful time and were so impressed with the Riad - It really was a lovely place to stay and the staff were so welcoming and attentive. We especially loved having tea and cake every day on the roof terrace over looking the city!

Breakfast was always very good indeed and we really enjoyed the pastries and other delights!

Grant was especially helpful with directions, and recommending sites to visit.

We would definitely recommend Riad Assakina for a romantic getaway and perfect for a break from the hustle and bustle of the crazy Marrakech streets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

I have never written a review before but have been inspired to do so by our recent stay at the riad assakina. From the minute we arrived and were met by a friendly face, much needed mint tea and cakes I knew I was going to like it. The owners have created a most luxurious and calm zen of tranquility that's a perfect retreat at the end of a days haggling and heat in Marrakech. The food was delightful (the whole team remembered and catered around my allergy) and the information and tips were brilliantly useful. I usually like the anonymity of a hotel but grant and Michelle offer the perfect balance of friendly face and local experience while never being intrusive. I'd highly recommend the riad assakina, it definitely made our stay in Marrakech very special, and I will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

A completely fabulous Riad. From the moment of booking and our email conversations with Grant to our departure from Michelle and her team - all perfect!
I would definitely recommend booking directly with this Riad - the reason; you get lots of help and support and a detailed confirmation of your reservation and you can be sure you get exactly what you need, from airport transfers to maps and info on the area to help you plan your trip. You can't beat that 'direct' connection with the place you are staying and its so easy by email. Nothing is too much trouble for fab hosts Grant and Michelle.
Upon a smooth collection (thank you guys) from the airport we arrived at what we described as a heavenly oasis of calm. The riad courtyard, pools, terraces and seating areas are immaculately maintained, stylishly decorated. The rooms are luxuriously decorated with traditional items and style, yet with a few extra touches; fresh flowers, fresh drinking water, daily fruits excellent air conditioning, crisp and refreshingly cool cotton bedding & fabulously designed bathrooms, with quirky showers, with robes and nice soaps.
The staff are incredibly helpful and polite and speak good English. We were made to feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we crossed the threshold. Willingly helping us daily with bags, cold drinks, refreshments and the daily G&T on the terrace before heading out to dinner. Not to mention the generous complimentary afternoon tea and cake upon a return from a busy shopping trip! ;-)
Michelle is the most fabulous and generous host. She gave us so much time in helping us plan our days out, always ensuring we were clear about where to head and what to look out for. This local information is invaluable as a new tourist to the region. She went out of her way, not only with us, but we daily witnessed her helping everyone, pick the best hamam (spa) and which shops she recommended for quality and price. The welcome pack she developed is thorough and we used it for all our dinner reservations, which I must mention, they made for us each night so that we did not have to worry. We ate tapas in the Riad on the first night - superb quality and generous portions. We then ate out at various recommended restaurants, all of which were excellent.
We didn't take any tours as we were only there for 4 nights and 5 days, so we preferred to see the 'real' city on foot, taking a taxi, just once to the Guilez.
We were a couple away on a long city break wanting to relax from a busy work schedule. The Riad provided everything we needed and more. So much so, that we are already planning a return visit as it is just so easy to get to from the airport (10mins in taxi) and we were so well looked after in such a comfortable environment it would be foolish not to return.
Well done everyone at Riad Assakina, thank you sooooo much for an excellent stay. Special thanks to Michelle and Grant for excellence beyond the call of duty!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kaid Suite - wonderful. However, I looked around some of the other rooms too and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

This riad was gorgeous!! My husband and I stayed here a few nights, and it couldn't be more perfect. Grant and Michele are so incredibly friendly and extremely helpful in every aspect (restaurant recommendations, shopping, etc.). The staff are also wonderful, as is the resident cat Zak. The complimentary breakfast in the morning is excellent and it is so nice to sit out in the courtyard to eat (usually accompanied by Zak). We loved the afternoon tea service as well. The roof top is beautiful, and there are many places throughout the riad to relax.
We stayed in the Merinid Suite, and it was beautiful. The air conditioner worked really well (you will appreciate this in the hotter months). The wifi was really fast!
This was a true oasis to return to after a day of wandering the busy Marrakesh streets.
The riad is also easy to find, which is extremely helpful when trying to return from the maze that is Marrakesh (no street signs!).

Room Tip: The suites are larger and located on the first floor as opposed to the two smaller rooms located on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

It's taken me so long to write this review I feel ashamed. Let's start with the owners, Grant and Michele are amazing, they went so far above and beyond for us giving us maps and vendors to visit that would take care of us. I really do hope to run into them again in the future.

The Riad itself is completely remodeled from the ground up thanks to Grant and Michelle and they really spared no expense. Marrakech can be pretty intense but when you walk through the doors you've entered your own haven where everything is clean and wonderful. The food is great and an afternoon beer was exactly what I needed......everyday. The rooms are immaculate, well designed, and the location is great. Again, it's easy to get lost in Marrakech so it helps to stay somewhere you can easily navigate. I would love to come and visit again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#40 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.