We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing and welcoming Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER SPECIAL PACKAGES
Ranked #5 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Marrakech, Morocco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“An amazing and welcoming Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Michele and Grant have created an oasis of calm in the heart of Marrakech. It is the perfect introduction to the city and the help and advice from them and their wonderful staff made our stay perfect. The breakfasts are amazing too!

Room Tip: All rooms fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
254
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My wife and I recently spent 3 nights at the Riad Assakina with my sister and her husband. The Riad itself has been beautifully restored and exquisitely decorated in traditional Moroccan style but encompassing all the modern conveniences you would expect in a boutique hotel. On arrival Grant and Michele the owners of the Riad greeted us, and introduced us to the staff. As we arrived later in the evening we had ordered Tapas which were served in the courtyard, they were delicious. Our rooms were beautiful and very comfortable. We were on the ground floor so our rooms opened out onto the inner courtyard. This meant they were very cool and quiet (for Marrakesh). The rooms have shower and air conditioning as well as a television and free Wifi. On the second floor there are a further 4 suites which are all beautiful and worth the extra money if you want to treat yourself.

Our taxi transfer was arranged by Michele & Grant, this took all the stress away. If you prefer, there are plenty of taxis at the Airport but ensure you negotiate a price first.
On arrival at Marrakesh airport I would advise you change some money into the local currency. We changed some at Bristol Airport before we left and were offered a rate 25% less than you get locally. It is a flat rate across all of Marrakesh so you do not need to shop around.

The Riad Assakina is situated in the Jewish quarter, it is very convenient for exploring the Medina, and only a ten-minute walk to the main square and the Souks. You also have the Badi and Bahia palaces within a few mins walk.

Michelle’s local knowledge is invaluable, and her advice on restaurant’s places to visit and local customs ensured we had a memorable visit.
All the staff at the Assakina were wonderful and we would like to thank Hitchim, Hakim,Mereim, Naoual, Ibissam and Majouba personally, not forgetting Grant & Michelle. Look forward to visiting you all again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I stayed at the Riad Assakina to celebrate my wife's 40th birthday. This was a surprise for my wife and from the moment I contacted Grant and Michele to arrange this, they were both so helpful and accommodating to all my requirements.

The Riad itself was superb, it was like a little oasis in the middle of the hustle & bustle of wonderful Marrakech. The rooms are lovely, clean and well equipped. The communal areas are just as comfortable, with outside seating, inside lounge area and small pool on the ground floor and double-level terrace on the roof with sun loungers and soft seating for relaxing.

Breakfast was great and their was complimentary tea and cakes in the afternoon. The staff who work at the Riad are so helpful and friendly too.

I highly recommend this Riad and would certainly stay here again. A massive thank you to Grant, Michele and all the staff for all their help and who made our stay very enjoyable and relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Grant & Michele are fabulous hosts, happy to help always and made us feel like we were at 'home'. Food also outstanding and tapas on the terrace an absolute dream. Made our honeymoon an experience never to be forgotten and hopefully made some life long friends! We will be back on our wedding anniversary to relive our Moroccon adventure with Riad Assakina. Can't thank you enough!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

My partner and I recently spent 7 nights at the Riad Assakina. The Riad itself is a beautifully rebuilt and restored building and wonderfully decorated - interior design is fabulous - Michele the owner sources real craftsmen and has all the lights etc made specifically for the Riad. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable. When we pulled up outside - we had no idea of the wonderful surprise that we would find behind the wrought iron gate which surrounds the front door, A huge welcoming smile from Hakim - who brought up a most welcome mint tea. The Riad is conveniently situated to the shops, palaces, and restaurants of the Medina. Afternoon tea and home made cake is provided between 4-5 which is very welcome after a day of bartering! The staff are absolutely wonderful - make you feel really welcome and their customer service is superb - so thank you to all of you - Hitchim, Hakim,Mereim, Naoual, Ibissam and Majouba and to the lovely owner Michele. We have recommended the Riad to our friends and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely - as a special treat you can upgrade to a suite - very large rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful 4 night stay and fabulous hospitality at Riad Assakina, which allowed us a real introduction to Marrakech.

We felt very lucky to have stayed in such a beautiful property, we wanted for nothing and cannot think of any suggestions to improve the guest’s experience – Grant and Michele have thought of everything.

The attention to detail encompasses everything you could wish for, from the design of Riad Assakina, (the roof terrace was a great place to unwind after a day of sightseeing) through to the service and conversation from every staff member we encountered, and the tasty breakfasts and tapas we enjoyed.

The location was within 5 minutes walk to fabulous, not to be missed, sites - Bahia Palace and Badi Palace; spice and jewellery souks; along with a couple of great restaurants (both memorable for separate reasons: belly dancers / roof terrace). The main square and main souks are only a 15 minute saunter away (even with a broken foot!!).

We were completely relaxed after our couple's Hammam, rose bath and massage which Michele organised on our behalf - what an experience!

Michele's advice on what to see, where to go, her suggested cost of items we were interested in buying along with fabulous restaurant choices, allowed us a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite for 2 nights of our stay - Kaid was definitely worth stretching your bud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Top Contributor
491 reviews 491 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We spent 3 nights here, and this was one of the highlights of our trip to Marrakech.

The Riad is wonderfully decorated, very clean, very comfortable, and very quiet (the exact opposite of what is outside the door). But, the absolute best part of staying here was the fabulous staff. All of them were fantastic, courteous, always smiling and willing to help. I wanted to take them home with me. On arrival Noual brought us mint tea and walnut stuffed dates. She provided maps, answered our questions, and showed us around. The staff set up dinner reservations for us, booked our excursion and hamman, called us taxis, and were always around when we needed them. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and we always looked forward to afternoon tea and cake on the fabulous rooftop terrace (great views). The dinner we had at the Riad on our last night was truly special, and it was easily the best meal we had in Marrakech.

The rooms are lovely. Ours even had a little sitting area. Filtered water for drinking is supplied free of charge everyday. There is an AC/Heater wall unit (which, of course, makes some noise), Free WIFI, TV, and a huge manual in the room containing a ton of very useful information. Our bathroom was large, with an additional space heater. It had two sinks and a big shower - we never ran out of hot water. Drains were a little slow, but not that bad. The bed was very comfortable and we had luxurious sheets & pillows.

The location was perfect for us. It was close to some very good restaurants, and most of the best tourist attractions. It was also close (yet far enough away) from the main square and souks (10-15 minute walk). It's located in an interesting neighborhood (this Riad also has a very interesting history).

Overall, we really enjoyed our time at this Riad, and we wouldn't hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.