We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to spend your Marrakech nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
NEW LOWER RATES!
Ranked #13 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing place to spend your Marrakech nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

A lovely Riad with a wonderful host to pass your time in Marrakech!
We arrived in Marrakech at the end of a hectic two-week trip through Spain and Morocco and found ourselves without a hotel for a night due to a glitch in our planning! We were prevented from having to spend the night in our car by Michelle’s extremely kind efforts in looking for a place for us to stay!
While she had just returned from vacation and her Riad was not yet open to receive guests – she managed in a very short time (and late at night) to phone around and find us a place to stay. This help was invaluable in our time of need and we are very, very grateful!
The next morning we checked into the Michelle’s own Riad. The place is tastefully decorated with beautiful touches. We were offered an upgraded room, the XXX suite, which was spacious, nicely decorated and very comfortable. The bathroom was modern with a well-functioning toilet. The sink drains were a bit slow, but this is to be expected in a country like Morocco where individual Riads cannot possibly alter the plumbing system of an old city. We encountered no problems with the hot water in the showers; there was plenty even for back-to-back showers.
The satellite television has a number of great channels which we enjoyed watching very much.
I must mention that when I arrived at the Riad, I was not feeling very well. Michelle came to the rescue again with medication which we gratefully accepted as the pharmacies in Morocco keep very odd hours!
We always slept in so never actually sampled the fantastic breakfasts other guests have raved about. However, Michelle did arrange for a packed breakfast for us to take to the airport for our early flight out of Morocco. Much appreciated!
The riad also arranged for our ride airport – a comfort and reliable service, which we would recommend.
Michelle’s service was superb and the staff were great, helpful and friendly. Overall, a very nice stay at a very nice Riad!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Beautifully transformed Riad in the heart of Marrakech. Wonderful decor only surpassed by the outstanding welcome of the owners, who are knowledgeable about the area as well as accommodating to specific needs, especially needs relating to your favourite cocktails! My husband and I had the most memorable and fun stay here for our second wedding anniversary, and we look forward to returning in the near future.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondsparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I visited Riad Assakina this August and loved every second of my stay. The Riad is a stylish and beautiful place which is ideal for relaxing, from having a dip in the refreshing pool to having a glass of wine on the roof terrace at night, it's all fabulous. Michele is a superb host and truly goes out of her way to ensure you get what you want out of your stay in the riad. This riad was to be the luxury last few days of our trip where we treated ourselves and it most certainly lived up to expectations. Thank you Michele.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NisaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Michele and the team at Assakina went above and beyond to ensure our stay was as enjoyable as it could be. From booking dinners to day trips and taxis, even leaving departure cards for us to fill out before heading to the airport!

We highly recommend staying at this riad as you will not regret it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Trvleur
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We spent a long weekend at the Assakina with some other friends and had a wonderful time. The riad is stylish, welcoming and very comfortable. The staff were superb - they really did cater to our every need and couldn't have been more helpful.
They were able to give us great recommendations on everything from hammams and places to eat to places to visit and places to avoid.
Following a French air-traffic controllers strike, Grant and Michelle had been unable to return before our arrival, but Noelle and Hicham were perfect hosts, and could not have done anything more to enhance our stay. I would thoroughly recommend this Riad to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

As always Michele and Grant go out of their way to make our stay comfortable, the beautiful environment they have created within the Riad is second to none, with every need catered for. Their staff are warm, friendly and always ready to help.

The Riad is within a few minutes walk of the main square and many local attractions, needless to say the souk is very enticing, Michele helps with directions, a map and personal advice on shopping and where to eat, also suggesting day excursions and arranging everything for you.

Our trip was truly amazing!

Room Tip: For a romantic trip the 'Kiad' room is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonialyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is the most perfect place to stay in Marrakech; this is the second time staying at this fantastic hotel. the owner are fantastic and takes care of you like you were an infant. they fix resturant reservations arrange taxi. They will help you with shopping and guide you to the best places. The hotel is fantastically designed and each room has its unique design. You will enjoy every minute of this fantastic hotel and the owner will pamper you. They serve a fantastic breakfast and after dinner you can enjoy a glass of cold rose on the stunning roof terrace. Can not think of a better place to enjoy the fantastic Marrakech. already long to return and hope soon to be able to. Many thanks to the fantastic Grant and
Michelle for taking so good care of us. If you are planning a trip to Marrakech then this places you cannot miss. Simply divine

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrthorsell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 779 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing