We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER SPECIAL PACKAGES
Ranked #6 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Riad Assakina is an oasis of calm amongst the noise and chaos of the Medina.
Grant, Michele and the staff were wonderful and attentive.
With plenty of areas to relax and unwind it was a a wonderful experience.
The team make your stay very easy and comfortable. With a great feeling of staying in a friends home. Normally we would stay in large hotels but this experience has changed our mind.
My wife is coeliac so we were concerned about problems when eating out.
We need not have worried as Grant booked tables at the restaurants we had chosen and notified them of the gluten free requirements.
Thank you to Grant and Michele for making our 4 night stay just perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
256
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Had the most heavenly weekend here. The riad is beautiful, in a superb location, quiet but walking distance to everywhere. The staff are polite, charming and helpful. We had lovely tapas food the first night, and the breakfasts were divine. Grant and Michelle were fantastic hosts, and this made it for us. Their knowledge of the area, history, restaurants, customs was invaluable and made it very easy for us to have a taster of the city. After a day walking around to sit on the roof terrace with tea and cake (and rose!) was an exquisite pleasure. Will definitely come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

To rate Riad Assakina with only five stars does this stunning venue a dis-service. The building has been renovated with beautiful taste and attention to detail. The public spaces are stunning, including the beautiful rooftop terrace, and our bedroom (Kiad Suite) was gorgeous. Stylish furnishings, very comfortable bed and fantastic bathroom. Everything was spotless and immaculate.

Grant, Michele and team are the perfect hosts - always attentive but never intrusive. Michele's shopping tips saved us money, time and hassle while Grant's excellent restaurant tips led to some memorable and delicious meals.

No luxury was spared. Wonderful afternoon tea served on our return from the souks, great selection of reasonably priced drinks and a truly fantastic breakfast. I can personally recommend the light and fluffy French toast!

It's worth highlighting the excellent location of Riad Assakina. It's in the Mellah district right opposite the Bahia Palace and a short walk from the Saadian Tombs. The Jemaa el-Fnaa is a pleasant 15 minutes walk away.

As you may tell, we had a wonderful time and can't fault Riad Assakina for service, style, quality and value for money.

(As a footnote, we spend our last day in Marrakech at Beldi Country Club before heading to the airport. Highly recommended for the hamman & spa, excellent lunch and beautiful gardens)

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Riad Assakina at the beginning of May for a 4 night stay. We were warmly welcomed by Grant and Michelle on our arrival and were immediately put into the Marrakech frame of mind with mint tea and walnuts/date parcels. Grants introduction to Marrakech provided a great foundation for the rest of our stay and I found the customised map an absolute godsend for finding our way round the hectic city streets.

We were fortunate to be upgraded to one of the suites on the first floor as we were the only guests for our first 2 nights. The room was beautifully decorated (Michelle's design flair) and had all the required touches of a 5 star hotel, including fresh flowers, fruit and evening turn-down chocolates.

Grant and Michelle have managed to get the balance between being extremely helpful (great day and evening restaurant recommendations/booking, taxi booking both airport and evenings) without interfering, to a tee. They are ably assisted by their day and night staff who are attentive and friendly, they are a credit to Grant and Michelle, reflecting their efforts in making the guest's stay perfect.

Breakfasts are a fabulous start to the day with fresh orange juice, a great selection and all served with a varied choice of breads. My favourite was the banana pancakes with lovely honey followed by lovely cup of 'builder's tea'.

After a busy day around the hectic streets it was so nice to come back to the calm and tranquility of the Riad. Our favourite routine was to hit the roof terrace in the early evening to top- up the tan and cool down in the pool followed by a chilled bottle of Gris wine whilst watching the sun go down.

Would we go back....most definitely yes and I hope to return with friends in the future.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My fiancé and I were looking for a relaxing place to stay amongst the hectic city and that's exactly what we got. On arrival grant welcomed us and w had some yummy dates. Grant & Michele plus their wonderful team made our stay flawless, exceeded our expectations. The Riad is beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, breakfast was fantastic- even worked with my fussy vegan diet. We also had a meal one evening which was delicious too. Especially liked the touches like chocolate on bed each night, fruit in room and afternoon tea and cake. Beds were very comfortable, slept well. They gave us excellent advice & recommendations for our stay in Marrakech. Also great location within walking distance to main attractions. Peppe Nero is a great place to dine just around the corner and a great little Tuscan restaurant (ask Michelle) for wholesome salads and Italian foods if you are fed up with Moroccan. Recommend watching square from one of the rooftop bars at sunset! Thanks Michele and grant!

Room Tip: All great, we had Berber room near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited this fabulous Riad for a girlie getaway for 6 busy professionals looking for some relaxation with close proximity to the world famous souks and nightlife that this vibrant city has to offer. Our hosts for our 5 day stay were Michelle and Grant plus their amazing team who went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, happy, comfortable and prepared for our stay. The riad itself is perfect, a little nest of calm, a 10-15 minute walk from the main square. Afternoon mint tea, delicious breakfast, peace and quiet to relax, a rooftop terrace for sunbathing, this was nothing short of the perfect place to base yourself to enjoy Marrakech and we couldn't recommend it enough. The team made our holiday very special and we'll be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I visited here in April 2013. On entering Riad Assakina we were warmly greeted and instantly felt relaxed in this oasis of calm and peacefulness. Refreshing mint tea and some lovely dates and nuts were served whilst we booked in. The rooms are all very tastefully decorated with lots of art work, objets d'art and quality furnishings. The rooms are all exceptionally clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. There are a number of other rooms and places to sit around the Riad if you want to relax with a glass of mint tea and a book. The terrace is beautifully furnished with plenty of seats and beds and a plunge pool to cool off. The larger pool is in the courtyard where we took breakfast each morning. Breakfast was a great start to the day with different choices and all home cooked pastries, bread and the moroccan yoghurt and fresh fruit on offer is just lovely. All of the staff are very gentle and gracious where nothing is too much trouble and you are always met with a genuine smile. Lots of recommendations on offer for places to go for dinner if you do want to venture out and taxis can be booked to take you direct and pick you up. Michele & Grant have clearly worked so hard with their team to think of everything to make staying here just perfect. Grant handled the booking process very smoothly and efficiently and Michele gave us some very useful and helpful tips on finding our way around, shopping etc. You get the feeling that you are not just another guest but are made to feel truly welcome like a member of the family. Would definitely come here again...everyone must try this place at least once!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.