We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SUMMER DISCOUNTS
Ranked #15 of 480 Hotels in Marrakech
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited this fabulous Riad for a girlie getaway for 6 busy professionals looking for some relaxation with close proximity to the world famous souks and nightlife that this vibrant city has to offer. Our hosts for our 5 day stay were Michelle and Grant plus their amazing team who went above and beyond to make us feel welcome, happy, comfortable and prepared for our stay. The riad itself is perfect, a little nest of calm, a 10-15 minute walk from the main square. Afternoon mint tea, delicious breakfast, peace and quiet to relax, a rooftop terrace for sunbathing, this was nothing short of the perfect place to base yourself to enjoy Marrakech and we couldn't recommend it enough. The team made our holiday very special and we'll be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
39
283
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I visited here in April 2013. On entering Riad Assakina we were warmly greeted and instantly felt relaxed in this oasis of calm and peacefulness. Refreshing mint tea and some lovely dates and nuts were served whilst we booked in. The rooms are all very tastefully decorated with lots of art work, objets d'art and quality furnishings. The rooms are all exceptionally clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. There are a number of other rooms and places to sit around the Riad if you want to relax with a glass of mint tea and a book. The terrace is beautifully furnished with plenty of seats and beds and a plunge pool to cool off. The larger pool is in the courtyard where we took breakfast each morning. Breakfast was a great start to the day with different choices and all home cooked pastries, bread and the moroccan yoghurt and fresh fruit on offer is just lovely. All of the staff are very gentle and gracious where nothing is too much trouble and you are always met with a genuine smile. Lots of recommendations on offer for places to go for dinner if you do want to venture out and taxis can be booked to take you direct and pick you up. Michele & Grant have clearly worked so hard with their team to think of everything to make staying here just perfect. Grant handled the booking process very smoothly and efficiently and Michele gave us some very useful and helpful tips on finding our way around, shopping etc. You get the feeling that you are not just another guest but are made to feel truly welcome like a member of the family. Would definitely come here again...everyone must try this place at least once!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Now where should we start...Mint tea and complementary cake? Beautiful and quiet room (Merenid Suite)? Excellent view from terrace for long chill out sunsets? Tranquil environment? Michelle's and her team's warm hospitality and useful tips ? Convenient location in an interesting neighbourhood? Fantastic home made Morrocan tapas dinner for tired travellers after coming back from day trip to Ait Benhaddou Kasbah?....Check, check, check. Well deserving all the excellent reviews and now we are funs too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from a short break to Marrakech. We stayed at the Riad Assakina following two separate recommendations. We were Not disappointed. We had a brilliant time. Behind the wooden front door we were met by our two hosts, Michel and Grant who had spent three years transforming this building. The room we stayed in was amazing, with phenomenal attention to detail. In fact the detail though out was breathtaking. The friendliness of Grant,Michel and their team made you feel part of a family. We cannot recommend the Assakina highly enough. Thank you Michel and Grand.

Room Tip: Just ask michel or Grant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked this riad based on the reviews, and were not disappointed.

Liked: Hosts / owners (Grant & Michele) were very agreeable, friendly and attentive. Staff were well trained, polite and helpful. The riad had a calm and peaceful atmosphere. It was relatively newly built (about 5 years old) from an old house lived in by a number of prostitute families. Current owners knocked down the old house and built a new house from the ground up. Room & bathroom were spacious. Roof top had lovely views and was relaxing after a hustled day (we did not like by harassed and pestered by shops). The decorations in the house and room were very nice (a credit to Michele) in line with Moroccan culture. Breakfasts were good with a few choices.

Could have been better: Bed was not as comfortable as we would like. Plumbing was not great - toilet had to be flushed twice or more, water in basins drained very slowly, shower pressures were adequate but water drained very slowly - due to the old plumbing system with small pipes. Hot water in each room was heated by a separate tank, so the second person might have a warm instead of hot shower. There is no bath, only shower.

Overall, our stay was enjoyable and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock_Critic, Owner at Riad Assakina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We thank this reviewer for her many positive comments.

The negative comments seem to centre mostly on plumbing. Moroccan pipework etc., is not the best in the world, for sure; and people should not necessarily visit Morocco expecting the same standards as at home. Some things, like beds, we were able to import (ours have luxury UK-spec super king mattresses, by the way!); but the plumbing, we could not.

The reason we have showers, as opposed to baths, is that whilst bathtubs can look lovely, filling them more than a few inches of hot water, in the Marrakech Medina, is quite another thing! We recall that this guest telephoned us specifically to ask about bathtubs, prior to booking; and we were happy to explain the realities of life here to her, in advance.

Other than that, with a few helpful tips - such as lifting the drain cover whilst showering to speed up the egress of water; and allowing the hot water heaters just a few minutes to reheat if someone spends a really long time in the shower – our bathrooms function very well. They are cool, clean & undeniably beautiful.

We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

Michele & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were blown away as soon as we stepped into this riad. It is gorgeous, every detail immaculately decorated by Michele. Our experience at Riad Assakina felt at once like we were staying at the house of old friends in luxury surroundings. Michele and Grant are gracious hosts and Michele's guidance made all the difference for our trip, from giving us a great overview of the city, to counseling us on our shopping expeditions, to making great restaurant recommendations -- so much so that throughout our visit to Marrakech we recognized with our friends how much Michele contributed to the quality of our experience. Breakfast was delicious and generous; afternoon tea included homemade cake; fresh fruit and water was offered in our room daily; chocolates by the bedside at night were a nice touch. Dinner at the riad was the best we had in Marrakech, all in a lovely, quiet environment. We enjoyed relaxing on the beautiful rooftop terrace and watching the sunset daily. The staff is terrific; they are good people with fabulous energy. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was hot with good water pressure, and the facilities were clean. Another nice touch: Michele has applied her keen eye for design towards curating Moroccan goods for sale and designing Moroccan-inspired clothing, tailored to fit each individual's measurements. Highly recommend this riad, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

When we first arrived at Riad Assakina we were met by Grant and Michelle the owners and we knew immediately that this was going to be an amzing few days of Morrocan hospitality at its best. The stunning Riad and its location was perfect for us and close to everything we wanted o see in Marrakech. Our bedroom suite was large and beautifully furnished in typical Morrocan style and the added flowers and bowl of fruit made this a very special place to return to, after a crazy day's sightseeing, and totally relax. Sunbathing on the roof garden was amazing with stunning views, plenty of sunbeds and chairs and tables made this a haven of tranquility. Grant and Michelle and their very friendly and helpful staff were always on hand to help with any query we had and were able to recommend places to visit and local restaurants as well as organise taxis as and when we needed them. Breakfast was a delight with delicious hot cooked food as well as rolls and cakes. There was so much choice. We had been recommended to stay here by our 2 daughters who had visited 18 months before with their husbands and we were very pleased that we had taken their advice and we knew in advance of the many joys of Riad Assakina. Grant and Michelle have made this lovely Riad into a gem of a 'palace ' and we would have no hesitation in recommending this delightful accommodatiion.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are larger than those downstairs. However all are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#6 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#7 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#24 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.