We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay destination...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER SPECIAL PACKAGES
Ranked #5 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must stay destination...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I visited here in April 2013. On entering Riad Assakina we were warmly greeted and instantly felt relaxed in this oasis of calm and peacefulness. Refreshing mint tea and some lovely dates and nuts were served whilst we booked in. The rooms are all very tastefully decorated with lots of art work, objets d'art and quality furnishings. The rooms are all exceptionally clean and the beds are extremely comfortable. There are a number of other rooms and places to sit around the Riad if you want to relax with a glass of mint tea and a book. The terrace is beautifully furnished with plenty of seats and beds and a plunge pool to cool off. The larger pool is in the courtyard where we took breakfast each morning. Breakfast was a great start to the day with different choices and all home cooked pastries, bread and the moroccan yoghurt and fresh fruit on offer is just lovely. All of the staff are very gentle and gracious where nothing is too much trouble and you are always met with a genuine smile. Lots of recommendations on offer for places to go for dinner if you do want to venture out and taxis can be booked to take you direct and pick you up. Michele & Grant have clearly worked so hard with their team to think of everything to make staying here just perfect. Grant handled the booking process very smoothly and efficiently and Michele gave us some very useful and helpful tips on finding our way around, shopping etc. You get the feeling that you are not just another guest but are made to feel truly welcome like a member of the family. Would definitely come here again...everyone must try this place at least once!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
254
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Now where should we start...Mint tea and complementary cake? Beautiful and quiet room (Merenid Suite)? Excellent view from terrace for long chill out sunsets? Tranquil environment? Michelle's and her team's warm hospitality and useful tips ? Convenient location in an interesting neighbourhood? Fantastic home made Morrocan tapas dinner for tired travellers after coming back from day trip to Ait Benhaddou Kasbah?....Check, check, check. Well deserving all the excellent reviews and now we are funs too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just returned from a short break to Marrakech. We stayed at the Riad Assakina following two separate recommendations. We were Not disappointed. We had a brilliant time. Behind the wooden front door we were met by our two hosts, Michel and Grant who had spent three years transforming this building. The room we stayed in was amazing, with phenomenal attention to detail. In fact the detail though out was breathtaking. The friendliness of Grant,Michel and their team made you feel part of a family. We cannot recommend the Assakina highly enough. Thank you Michel and Grand.

Room Tip: Just ask michel or Grant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked this riad based on the reviews, and were not disappointed.

Liked: Hosts / owners (Grant & Michele) were very agreeable, friendly and attentive. Staff were well trained, polite and helpful. The riad had a calm and peaceful atmosphere. It was relatively newly built (about 5 years old) from an old house lived in by a number of prostitute families. Current owners knocked down the old house and built a new house from the ground up. Room & bathroom were spacious. Roof top had lovely views and was relaxing after a hustled day (we did not like by harassed and pestered by shops). The decorations in the house and room were very nice (a credit to Michele) in line with Moroccan culture. Breakfasts were good with a few choices.

Could have been better: Bed was not as comfortable as we would like. Plumbing was not great - toilet had to be flushed twice or more, water in basins drained very slowly, shower pressures were adequate but water drained very slowly - due to the old plumbing system with small pipes. Hot water in each room was heated by a separate tank, so the second person might have a warm instead of hot shower. There is no bath, only shower.

Overall, our stay was enjoyable and pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock_Critic, Owner at Riad Assakina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We thank this reviewer for her many positive comments.

The negative comments seem to centre mostly on plumbing. Moroccan pipework etc., is not the best in the world, for sure; and people should not necessarily visit Morocco expecting the same standards as at home. Some things, like beds, we were able to import (ours have luxury UK-spec super king mattresses, by the way!); but the plumbing, we could not.

The reason we have showers, as opposed to baths, is that whilst bathtubs can look lovely, filling them more than a few inches of hot water, in the Marrakech Medina, is quite another thing! We recall that this guest telephoned us specifically to ask about bathtubs, prior to booking; and we were happy to explain the realities of life here to her, in advance.

Other than that, with a few helpful tips - such as lifting the drain cover whilst showering to speed up the egress of water; and allowing the hot water heaters just a few minutes to reheat if someone spends a really long time in the shower – our bathrooms function very well. They are cool, clean & undeniably beautiful.

We look forward to welcoming you to our home.

Michele & Grant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were blown away as soon as we stepped into this riad. It is gorgeous, every detail immaculately decorated by Michele. Our experience at Riad Assakina felt at once like we were staying at the house of old friends in luxury surroundings. Michele and Grant are gracious hosts and Michele's guidance made all the difference for our trip, from giving us a great overview of the city, to counseling us on our shopping expeditions, to making great restaurant recommendations -- so much so that throughout our visit to Marrakech we recognized with our friends how much Michele contributed to the quality of our experience. Breakfast was delicious and generous; afternoon tea included homemade cake; fresh fruit and water was offered in our room daily; chocolates by the bedside at night were a nice touch. Dinner at the riad was the best we had in Marrakech, all in a lovely, quiet environment. We enjoyed relaxing on the beautiful rooftop terrace and watching the sunset daily. The staff is terrific; they are good people with fabulous energy. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was hot with good water pressure, and the facilities were clean. Another nice touch: Michele has applied her keen eye for design towards curating Moroccan goods for sale and designing Moroccan-inspired clothing, tailored to fit each individual's measurements. Highly recommend this riad, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

When we first arrived at Riad Assakina we were met by Grant and Michelle the owners and we knew immediately that this was going to be an amzing few days of Morrocan hospitality at its best. The stunning Riad and its location was perfect for us and close to everything we wanted o see in Marrakech. Our bedroom suite was large and beautifully furnished in typical Morrocan style and the added flowers and bowl of fruit made this a very special place to return to, after a crazy day's sightseeing, and totally relax. Sunbathing on the roof garden was amazing with stunning views, plenty of sunbeds and chairs and tables made this a haven of tranquility. Grant and Michelle and their very friendly and helpful staff were always on hand to help with any query we had and were able to recommend places to visit and local restaurants as well as organise taxis as and when we needed them. Breakfast was a delight with delicious hot cooked food as well as rolls and cakes. There was so much choice. We had been recommended to stay here by our 2 daughters who had visited 18 months before with their husbands and we were very pleased that we had taken their advice and we knew in advance of the many joys of Riad Assakina. Grant and Michelle have made this lovely Riad into a gem of a 'palace ' and we would have no hesitation in recommending this delightful accommodatiion.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are larger than those downstairs. However all are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved our stay at the Riad Assakina. Perfectly located within easy walking distance of almost everything one wants to see in Marrakech, and easy to arrange a taxi from if one wishes to go further afield. Our room on the first floor was comfortable and quiet. The courtyard is a lovely entrance space, sitting area and breakfast room. And the rooftop has lots of sitting and lounging areas, perfect for sunning oneself and/or having a drink - or, indeed, the wonderful food offerings that can be ordered for lunch or supper or dinner. Service is seriously good, and comes with such grace, friendliness and charm that one is tempted just to stay put and be waited on all day, rather than going out and exploring the city! Local advice was readily given and unfailingly accurate and helpful.
The only thing I can think of to mention by way of criticism is that the lighting in the bedroom could have been better for reading - there were no lamps in the sitting area. And the bedside lamps, while lovely, were so huge that there was practically no room on the bedside tables to put anything else. These are quibbles, but did niggle a bit at the time - probably because they were in contrast to everything else being perfect.
I strongly recommend the Riad Assakina whatever your reasons for going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.