We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous riad! A perfect home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER SPECIAL PACKAGES
Ranked #6 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous riad! A perfect home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were blown away as soon as we stepped into this riad. It is gorgeous, every detail immaculately decorated by Michele. Our experience at Riad Assakina felt at once like we were staying at the house of old friends in luxury surroundings. Michele and Grant are gracious hosts and Michele's guidance made all the difference for our trip, from giving us a great overview of the city, to counseling us on our shopping expeditions, to making great restaurant recommendations -- so much so that throughout our visit to Marrakech we recognized with our friends how much Michele contributed to the quality of our experience. Breakfast was delicious and generous; afternoon tea included homemade cake; fresh fruit and water was offered in our room daily; chocolates by the bedside at night were a nice touch. Dinner at the riad was the best we had in Marrakech, all in a lovely, quiet environment. We enjoyed relaxing on the beautiful rooftop terrace and watching the sunset daily. The staff is terrific; they are good people with fabulous energy. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was hot with good water pressure, and the facilities were clean. Another nice touch: Michele has applied her keen eye for design towards curating Moroccan goods for sale and designing Moroccan-inspired clothing, tailored to fit each individual's measurements. Highly recommend this riad, would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
254
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

When we first arrived at Riad Assakina we were met by Grant and Michelle the owners and we knew immediately that this was going to be an amzing few days of Morrocan hospitality at its best. The stunning Riad and its location was perfect for us and close to everything we wanted o see in Marrakech. Our bedroom suite was large and beautifully furnished in typical Morrocan style and the added flowers and bowl of fruit made this a very special place to return to, after a crazy day's sightseeing, and totally relax. Sunbathing on the roof garden was amazing with stunning views, plenty of sunbeds and chairs and tables made this a haven of tranquility. Grant and Michelle and their very friendly and helpful staff were always on hand to help with any query we had and were able to recommend places to visit and local restaurants as well as organise taxis as and when we needed them. Breakfast was a delight with delicious hot cooked food as well as rolls and cakes. There was so much choice. We had been recommended to stay here by our 2 daughters who had visited 18 months before with their husbands and we were very pleased that we had taken their advice and we knew in advance of the many joys of Riad Assakina. Grant and Michelle have made this lovely Riad into a gem of a 'palace ' and we would have no hesitation in recommending this delightful accommodatiion.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are larger than those downstairs. However all are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavenham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved our stay at the Riad Assakina. Perfectly located within easy walking distance of almost everything one wants to see in Marrakech, and easy to arrange a taxi from if one wishes to go further afield. Our room on the first floor was comfortable and quiet. The courtyard is a lovely entrance space, sitting area and breakfast room. And the rooftop has lots of sitting and lounging areas, perfect for sunning oneself and/or having a drink - or, indeed, the wonderful food offerings that can be ordered for lunch or supper or dinner. Service is seriously good, and comes with such grace, friendliness and charm that one is tempted just to stay put and be waited on all day, rather than going out and exploring the city! Local advice was readily given and unfailingly accurate and helpful.
The only thing I can think of to mention by way of criticism is that the lighting in the bedroom could have been better for reading - there were no lamps in the sitting area. And the bedside lamps, while lovely, were so huge that there was practically no room on the bedside tables to put anything else. These are quibbles, but did niggle a bit at the time - probably because they were in contrast to everything else being perfect.
I strongly recommend the Riad Assakina whatever your reasons for going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Staying in a riad is a part of the experience of Marrakech. A riad is an Arabic-style house where all windows face inward to an open-roofed garden with a fountain or water feature.
After doing much research online, I chose Riad Assakina and was very glad I did.
The rooms are cozy and a quiet retreat from the bustling Medina. While I paid more than I normally would for a hotel, this riad was worth it. The beds are comfortable and special touches like fresh fruit, flowers and a welcome candle make visitors feel a part of the Riad Assakina family. The bathrooms are nicely decorated and the showers/drains work fairly well, but as Marrakech plumbing is delicate, drains do fill quickly.
Breakfast is included in the price and options include french toast, eggs, fruit and yogurt or fruit-filled pancakes. Definitely try the banana-filled pancakes, which were delicious. Breakfast comes with a big basket of bread. If Moroccan pancakes are included, these are a treat. The soft, spongy dough is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013


It was a salubrious entrance to the Riad, down a back alley off a back street. As first timers to Marrakech we wondered where we were being led! An unmarked door is knocked at then you are into a warm welcome from Michele or Hicham & brought mint tea whatever time of arrival.
The rooms are large and tastefully decorated with surprisingly comfy beds. There is wi-fi & British TV which is a bit intermittent.
The bathroom is quite big with open shower (no bath). The plumbing is a bit slow & takes a bit to drain.
Ladies, the hair dryers are good & strong but lighting poor for putting make up on; catch the sunlight before it goes down.
Breakfast is pleasant & tasty with a choice of 6 items plus pastries.
The Riad being a courtyard does not afford privacy in your room so you need to close the blinds which makes the rooms dark.
We opted for lunch a number of times in the Riad & Meriem the cook provided delicious light meals, much tastier then any meals taken outside. We recommend the cold tapas menu for a light lunch, the hot filo parcels are also really tasty. The sandwiches & chips are also excellent! The food in the Riad was better than anywhere we ate out in the city. The Riad also holds an alcohol licence so beers & wine are available
There is an outdoor sunbathing area on the roof with plenty of beds. Being in central Marrakech this isn't a quiet experience what with vehicle noise, calls to prayer & kids playing in the Derbs. Having said that you quickly zone this out into white noise & get back to the sun & your book!
Not having been to a Riad before we expected the service to be like a hotel i.e staff coming round asking if you wanted food or drinks. A misunderstanding on our part, but all we needed to do was find Naoual the housekeeper & she brings you what you want.
.
First time visitors could be worried about setting foot outside into a confusing labyrinth of streets but somehow you find your way back!
The British owners had provided the most informative information file i've seen with loads of useful information on everything from restaurant recommendations to tipping to shopping.
I would definitely follow trip advisor if you're looking for restaurants to eat at. We used it a lot & the reviews were fairly accurate except one, Le Chat qui Rit which didn't live up to the hype the night we went.
All the Riad staff were exceedingly attentive & friendly, happy to stay in the background but more than happy to engage in conversation should you want to chat. Hicham in particular was a friendly smiling mine of information, as was Michele.
I would certainly recommend this Riad for central location & excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was recommended the Assakina by two sets of work colleague who had visited over the last two years, and all I can say is that I (we) will defiantly be recommending this Riad to any one who wishes to visit Marrakech. We stayed for 5 days (4nights) mid March for a girlie break of shopping, pampering and no housework!
Marrakech is crazy, anything goes and watch out for the mopeds and donkeys you need eyes in the back of your head, but then you come home to the Assakina which is so peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. The rooms are magical and all different, we were very lucky and upgraded to one of the suite. Nothing is too much trouble for Michele, Grant and their staff, to make sure your stay is a memorable one, from helping with charging the mobile phone to advising you on where to visit, eat and best shopping and prices. We tried a different breakfast each morning and wished we could have stayed longer to try them all out, (one morning we went up to the mountains, early, and Michele arranged a packed breakfast for us, which was not expected but gratefully received) as I said earlier nothing is too much trouble.
On our first morning Michele walked with us to help us familiarise ourselves with the area, easiest walk to the Medina, our local restaurants etc, what a service.
Overall a fabulous place to stay, the hospitality of everyone is amazing, good location for Medina etc.
A big thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Assakina is so good, we gave up a day in the Atlas mountains to return there for an extra night. A beautiful house in an great location. But it's the owners and staff that really make this riad special. We've stayed in a lot of wonderful hotels, but what sets Assakina apart is the feeling that you're truly a guest in someone's grand residence. Everyone so friendly and helpful... nothing was too much trouble. Lovely rooms, great breakfasts, beautiful roof terraces with mountain views. Oh, and not forgetting afternoon tea and home-made cake. Marrakech is crazy and fascinating and Assakina is the perfect place to 'come home to'. Big thanks again to Michele, Grant and the team.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#38 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.