We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect base in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LATE SUMMER PACKAGES
Ranked #6 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Lavenham
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A perfect base in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We loved our stay at the Riad Assakina. Perfectly located within easy walking distance of almost everything one wants to see in Marrakech, and easy to arrange a taxi from if one wishes to go further afield. Our room on the first floor was comfortable and quiet. The courtyard is a lovely entrance space, sitting area and breakfast room. And the rooftop has lots of sitting and lounging areas, perfect for sunning oneself and/or having a drink - or, indeed, the wonderful food offerings that can be ordered for lunch or supper or dinner. Service is seriously good, and comes with such grace, friendliness and charm that one is tempted just to stay put and be waited on all day, rather than going out and exploring the city! Local advice was readily given and unfailingly accurate and helpful.
The only thing I can think of to mention by way of criticism is that the lighting in the bedroom could have been better for reading - there were no lamps in the sitting area. And the bedside lamps, while lovely, were so huge that there was practically no room on the bedside tables to put anything else. These are quibbles, but did niggle a bit at the time - probably because they were in contrast to everything else being perfect.
I strongly recommend the Riad Assakina whatever your reasons for going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
257
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013


It was a salubrious entrance to the Riad, down a back alley off a back street. As first timers to Marrakech we wondered where we were being led! An unmarked door is knocked at then you are into a warm welcome from Michele or Hicham & brought mint tea whatever time of arrival.
The rooms are large and tastefully decorated with surprisingly comfy beds. There is wi-fi & British TV which is a bit intermittent.
The bathroom is quite big with open shower (no bath). The plumbing is a bit slow & takes a bit to drain.
Ladies, the hair dryers are good & strong but lighting poor for putting make up on; catch the sunlight before it goes down.
Breakfast is pleasant & tasty with a choice of 6 items plus pastries.
The Riad being a courtyard does not afford privacy in your room so you need to close the blinds which makes the rooms dark.
We opted for lunch a number of times in the Riad & Meriem the cook provided delicious light meals, much tastier then any meals taken outside. We recommend the cold tapas menu for a light lunch, the hot filo parcels are also really tasty. The sandwiches & chips are also excellent! The food in the Riad was better than anywhere we ate out in the city. The Riad also holds an alcohol licence so beers & wine are available
There is an outdoor sunbathing area on the roof with plenty of beds. Being in central Marrakech this isn't a quiet experience what with vehicle noise, calls to prayer & kids playing in the Derbs. Having said that you quickly zone this out into white noise & get back to the sun & your book!
Not having been to a Riad before we expected the service to be like a hotel i.e staff coming round asking if you wanted food or drinks. A misunderstanding on our part, but all we needed to do was find Naoual the housekeeper & she brings you what you want.
.
First time visitors could be worried about setting foot outside into a confusing labyrinth of streets but somehow you find your way back!
The British owners had provided the most informative information file i've seen with loads of useful information on everything from restaurant recommendations to tipping to shopping.
I would definitely follow trip advisor if you're looking for restaurants to eat at. We used it a lot & the reviews were fairly accurate except one, Le Chat qui Rit which didn't live up to the hype the night we went.
All the Riad staff were exceedingly attentive & friendly, happy to stay in the background but more than happy to engage in conversation should you want to chat. Hicham in particular was a friendly smiling mine of information, as was Michele.
I would certainly recommend this Riad for central location & excellent service.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was recommended the Assakina by two sets of work colleague who had visited over the last two years, and all I can say is that I (we) will defiantly be recommending this Riad to any one who wishes to visit Marrakech. We stayed for 5 days (4nights) mid March for a girlie break of shopping, pampering and no housework!
Marrakech is crazy, anything goes and watch out for the mopeds and donkeys you need eyes in the back of your head, but then you come home to the Assakina which is so peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. The rooms are magical and all different, we were very lucky and upgraded to one of the suite. Nothing is too much trouble for Michele, Grant and their staff, to make sure your stay is a memorable one, from helping with charging the mobile phone to advising you on where to visit, eat and best shopping and prices. We tried a different breakfast each morning and wished we could have stayed longer to try them all out, (one morning we went up to the mountains, early, and Michele arranged a packed breakfast for us, which was not expected but gratefully received) as I said earlier nothing is too much trouble.
On our first morning Michele walked with us to help us familiarise ourselves with the area, easiest walk to the Medina, our local restaurants etc, what a service.
Overall a fabulous place to stay, the hospitality of everyone is amazing, good location for Medina etc.
A big thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Assakina is so good, we gave up a day in the Atlas mountains to return there for an extra night. A beautiful house in an great location. But it's the owners and staff that really make this riad special. We've stayed in a lot of wonderful hotels, but what sets Assakina apart is the feeling that you're truly a guest in someone's grand residence. Everyone so friendly and helpful... nothing was too much trouble. Lovely rooms, great breakfasts, beautiful roof terraces with mountain views. Oh, and not forgetting afternoon tea and home-made cake. Marrakech is crazy and fascinating and Assakina is the perfect place to 'come home to'. Big thanks again to Michele, Grant and the team.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Riad Assakina is one of the best places we have ever stayed! Great hospitality, a beautiful setting and wonderful hosts. Well hidden away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Once inside the front door, you enter a peaceful paradise complete with a beautiful rooftop and an inviting swimming pool. Breakfast and afternoon tea were eagerly awaited every day (if you are out and about during afternoon tea time, they serve it on your return!). Also, loved the evening turndown service! If I didn't live as far away as Australia, I would be going back annually for some peace and relaxation!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Berber Room. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Assakina apparently means inner calm and it sums up this riad perfectly. It is an oasis from the madness and mopeds of the Medina, newly created in traditional style and beautiful in every detail. Do not be put off by the alleyway by which it is approached; inside is heaven. The hospitality of its English owners is beyond compare, the breakfast magnificent and the cake that came with the afternoon tea something we looked forward to every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights and found this an excellent base from which to explore Marrakesh. The location in the Jewish quarter meant that we were in walking distance of most of the sights and about 15 minutes to the square and the souks, longer if you get easily distracted.
Like most Riads it was unprepossessing from the outside, down a dark and narrow street, but opening into a beautifully designed and decorated space, following the traditional Riad model. Our room was spacious and had those little extras - fresh flowers, fresh fruit daily, a turn down service with chocolates. The salon for breakfast and relaxation had guidebooks and magazines to help our exploration and Grant and Michelle were on hand to offer suggestions for restaurants and trips if we were not already prepared.
The roof terraces were bathed in sunlight and gave a good view across the city, and provided a great spot to take the afternoon tea provided.
The staff were extraordinarily helpful particularly Naoual and Hicham. I had an unfortunate altercation in the main square when I refused to accept a “free” henna tattoo, which resulted in henna being sprayed across my back. Henna doesn’t come out of clothing easily (bear this in mind for sheets and towels!) but my shirt was returned to me in good condition after “special products” had been applied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.