We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for a break in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LATE SUMMER PACKAGES
Ranked #6 of 461 Hotels in Marrakech
Hayward heath, United kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a break in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband and I had a lovely and relaxing time in Ryad Assakina. We did not get the chance to meet the owners, Michele and Grant, as they were supervising the building works of their house in Wales, but we were looked after by their efficient staff, in particular Hicham in the afternoons, and Naoual during the day. We spent three nights there, entirely stress free. Hicham welcomed us on arrival, and straight away led us to the lounge for a cup of tea and some Morrocan parties. He chatted with us in English and, on our request, in French too. We had lovely exchanges about the culture, the people and the languages of Morocco, and we felt settled straight away!
The room was lovely and spacious. We occupied the Almohad suite; in fairness, it was not a suite but a large bedroom with a bed and a sofa, all the same it was very comfortable. The only drawback was the bathroom: no bath, just a down shower, and a tiny immersion tank. Not quite enough to warm us up after night fall at this season, plus there was no shower cap available. Not ideal for my long hair! The taps and drains were a bit capricious and would have benefited from some TLC. Also, there were neither any cotton buds nor body lotion available. Do pack your own if, like me, you are better with than without. Despite these details, we had a wonderful wonderful time, and truly felt at home.
Every day, it was clear that Hicham and Naoual communicated together, as we never had to repeat any request nor information from one to the other. Also, neither of them hesitated in walking us in the streets to point us in the right direction, which meant that we never got lost nor even concerned about being so! They welcomed us back each afternoon with a refreshing tea and sweet. Also, they were interested to hear about our visits of the day and in particular, were keen to collect any good or bad feedback from the restaurants we visited. The ryad itself is decorated with confident taste, and is a pleasure to stay in. As we stayed during the cold season however, we could not enjoy the lovely terrasses and even less the pool. I hope that we will have the chance to visit again!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
257
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Londra
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was one of the best hotel I experienced so far.. great service, very good location and very good care for details! you can tell the owner loves her job and her place..

We also had some personal issues as me and my girlfriend fell sick on the way there.. they took care of us as if we were home! We recovered and then were able to enjoy the rest of our trip.. my girlfriend loved it so much that she would like to go back to Marrakech only to go back there!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We entirely concur with all previous 'Excellent' ratings and reviews. Therefore, we do not have much to add.

We would like to thank Michelle and Grant (the hosts) for their exquisite service. Special thanks also to Hisham and Noelle (staff). Particularly Hisham proved to be an excellent host; humble, hardworking and symphatic.

We'll remender passing trough the rather dark alley of the Jewish quarter of Marrakech, and entering into an oasis of calmness, kindness and beauty.

We had the privilege of enjoying two of the Ryad's suites, which were equally marvelous.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family of five, including three teenagers, were so warmly welcomed and looked after by Michelle and her incredible team. The riad is charming, relaxing, calm and utterly beautifully decorated. Our breakfasts were delicious...the cinnamon french toast being a particular favourite.
We had one meal in which included our favourite tagine of our trip. We had lots of help with arranging restaurant bookings and a trip to Les Bains de Marrakech. Michelle was even kind enough to walk us to Kozy Bar a few minutes away on our first day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I travel quite a bit. He really loves hotels, so we've stayed at some very lovely ones. We wish Riad Assakina was in every city we will ever visit! In our initial planning of our visit to Marrakech, we intended to stay at La Mamounia Hotel, which is very famously fabulous and lush and expensive. I am so very glad that our party of five elected instead to try a riad, and that that riad was Assakina! The best accommodations we've ever experienced. Not only is the riad physically gorgeous and oh-so-tastefully appointed, but it is an oasis of peace and calm. The staff is always available for any need and will do anything to make your stay perfect. The always smiling and tranquil overnight Guardian, Hicham (sp?) makes the best mint tea and gin/tonic ever at the end of your day. Then there's The Most Excellent Michele. I can't imagine how a person can be such a fabulous host. Our first day, she gave a private orientation which must have taken at least an hour to our soon-to-be friends from Australia (see their review below), then brought the five of our party in for ours - which turned out to be an hour and a half! Every question answered. Guidance on culture, shopping, interesting places, maps, etc., etc., etc. She also recommended and arranged restaurants, a visit to a hammam (you MUST go!!), and accompanied one of our party to the metal souk where she was of critical help in choosing and buying a very large light fixture. How did she find the time? Very impressive. Thank you, Michele. And thank you for your efforts to ease the suffering of animals in Marrakech. Sorry we didn’t get to meet Grant. Next time. All in all - rooms, staff, food, general ju-ju - the Riad Assakina is just marvelous.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the end of November. It was a fantastic stay as this Riad is a combination of luxury, elegance, taste, tranquility and kindness (Assakina means "inner peace"). It is the perfect place to stay in Marrakech as you will have the authenticity to be in the Medina and in a typical Moroccan house with all the comfort and service of a 5 star hotel.
We really have been amazed with the work done by the owners, Michele and Grant, who decorated the place with the best crafts and the most exquisite detail.
Above all, we want to say thank you to Michele, Grant and the staff, especially Noelle and Ischam who welcomed us with so much kindness. We had many discussions with them and we really loved the friendly atmosphere they created in this Riad. We really felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We've just returned from a 4 day stay at the Fabulous Riad Assakina. From the moment we arrived until we left Michele and Grant were the perfect hosts, welcoming us into their home and extolling the delights of Marrakech.

The Breakfasts were a delight, the staff very attentive and capable and the Riad itself was simply stunning. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the decor spot on, with beautiful furnishings and ornaments. The children were particularly well looked after and treated as young adults in their own right.

The ever present mint tea always welcomed back 'home' and enjoying a drink on top of the roof terrace listening to the call to pray will stay with me for a long time.

I travel quite extensively and I don't think I've ever come away thinking that I would have paid more either for the Hotel or Service - however in this case I would have happily done both.

What a find!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#51 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.