We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 460 hotels in Marrakech
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our family of five, including three teenagers, were so warmly welcomed and looked after by Michelle and her incredible team. The riad is charming, relaxing, calm and utterly beautifully decorated. Our breakfasts were delicious...the cinnamon french toast being a particular favourite.
We had one meal in which included our favourite tagine of our trip. We had lots of help with arranging restaurant bookings and a trip to Les Bains de Marrakech. Michelle was even kind enough to walk us to Kozy Bar a few minutes away on our first day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    358
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
240
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband and I travel quite a bit. He really loves hotels, so we've stayed at some very lovely ones. We wish Riad Assakina was in every city we will ever visit! In our initial planning of our visit to Marrakech, we intended to stay at La Mamounia Hotel, which is very famously fabulous and lush and expensive. I am so very glad that our party of five elected instead to try a riad, and that that riad was Assakina! The best accommodations we've ever experienced. Not only is the riad physically gorgeous and oh-so-tastefully appointed, but it is an oasis of peace and calm. The staff is always available for any need and will do anything to make your stay perfect. The always smiling and tranquil overnight Guardian, Hicham (sp?) makes the best mint tea and gin/tonic ever at the end of your day. Then there's The Most Excellent Michele. I can't imagine how a person can be such a fabulous host. Our first day, she gave a private orientation which must have taken at least an hour to our soon-to-be friends from Australia (see their review below), then brought the five of our party in for ours - which turned out to be an hour and a half! Every question answered. Guidance on culture, shopping, interesting places, maps, etc., etc., etc. She also recommended and arranged restaurants, a visit to a hammam (you MUST go!!), and accompanied one of our party to the metal souk where she was of critical help in choosing and buying a very large light fixture. How did she find the time? Very impressive. Thank you, Michele. And thank you for your efforts to ease the suffering of animals in Marrakech. Sorry we didn’t get to meet Grant. Next time. All in all - rooms, staff, food, general ju-ju - the Riad Assakina is just marvelous.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights at the end of November. It was a fantastic stay as this Riad is a combination of luxury, elegance, taste, tranquility and kindness (Assakina means "inner peace"). It is the perfect place to stay in Marrakech as you will have the authenticity to be in the Medina and in a typical Moroccan house with all the comfort and service of a 5 star hotel.
We really have been amazed with the work done by the owners, Michele and Grant, who decorated the place with the best crafts and the most exquisite detail.
Above all, we want to say thank you to Michele, Grant and the staff, especially Noelle and Ischam who welcomed us with so much kindness. We had many discussions with them and we really loved the friendly atmosphere they created in this Riad. We really felt at home.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We've just returned from a 4 day stay at the Fabulous Riad Assakina. From the moment we arrived until we left Michele and Grant were the perfect hosts, welcoming us into their home and extolling the delights of Marrakech.

The Breakfasts were a delight, the staff very attentive and capable and the Riad itself was simply stunning. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the decor spot on, with beautiful furnishings and ornaments. The children were particularly well looked after and treated as young adults in their own right.

The ever present mint tea always welcomed back 'home' and enjoying a drink on top of the roof terrace listening to the call to pray will stay with me for a long time.

I travel quite extensively and I don't think I've ever come away thinking that I would have paid more either for the Hotel or Service - however in this case I would have happily done both.

What a find!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have just returned from an incredible 50th birthday girly break! 3 nights at the Riad Assakina.

The Riad is beautiful, stylish and tranquil. For our trip we took the whole Riad and this made it a truly memorable break as it became our home and haven from the madness that is Marrakech. The level of service and hospitality from our hosts, Grant and Michele was second to none.

On arrival we were served mint tea and delicious stuffed figs, we were very late and yet we were made to feel welcome. We were shown round the Riad a quick check in then off out, as they had arranged for us to eat in a local restaurant and we were taken there by one of the amazing staff who work at the Riad, and given delicious recommendations.

The breakfasts each day were wonderful, fabulous pancakes, amazing french toast, only 2 from the extensive choices. Michele and Grant gave my friend (the incredible organiser :0)) ideas on how best to spend our time in Marrakech, and their suggestions were spot on. They organised everything, from the gifts from me on the beds to the camel rides, hamman spa treatments, booked the restaurants, taxis, and Michele even took us shopping so that we got the best prices in the best places.

We had my party night at the Riad (see pic) and Michelle's team cooked us an incredible feast! We had brilliant traditional musicians and a belly dancer. The staff made the evening for me by coming out and dancing with us. They made the night such great fun. Great local wine also!!!! ;) Thank you all.

Please do have a look at Michele little shop. She has the most beautiful locally sourced clothes, jewellery, cushions and WONDERFUL mementos. So beautiful and very chic!

Thank you all so much. xxx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was my second visit to Riad Asssakina, the first time I went with friends and our husbands and this time for a girlfriends 50th birthday. Michelle and Grant are amazing hosts, Michelle has the patience of a saint and organised all our itinerary for our stay from taxis, restaurants, Hammams to Camel rides in the Atlas Mountains. I think prior to our visit approx 50 emails had gone between us making arrangements. The Riad is beautifully decorated and so peaceful after the busy hustle and bustle of the Souks. We had a party night at the Riad and Michelle's team made the evening by preparing a delicious feast, we were entertained by local musicians and belly dancers - certainly a night and trip to remember a must when in Marrakech.

Room Tip: We took over the whole Riad so saw all the rooms, they were all beautiful. I think the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

You immediately feel the welcome when you step inside this beautiful Riad. The hosts Grant and Michele were attentive and really helpful whatever we asked of them, and their lovely team were always working hard to make our stay so comfortable.
It was our first stay in Marrakesh and the kids (9 and 11) found the culture shock quite big on the first day as we plunged straight into the souks and the market, snake charmers, monkeys and all! But coming back each day after our exciting outings to such a haven of peace, was just the perfect antidote! By the end of our stay we had all got into the swing of things and were loving every experience.
Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable, and what a truly beautiful place you have created. Michele has a wonderful eye for decoration and we were really happy to buy some of the lovely items she sells. We look forward to seeing the website when it is up and running!

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms on the ground floor, which was just perfect with kids, and the whole ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Hotel
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#55 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.