We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility in the Heart of Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER SPECIAL PACKAGES
Ranked #5 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tranquility in the Heart of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We've just returned from a 4 day stay at the Fabulous Riad Assakina. From the moment we arrived until we left Michele and Grant were the perfect hosts, welcoming us into their home and extolling the delights of Marrakech.

The Breakfasts were a delight, the staff very attentive and capable and the Riad itself was simply stunning. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the decor spot on, with beautiful furnishings and ornaments. The children were particularly well looked after and treated as young adults in their own right.

The ever present mint tea always welcomed back 'home' and enjoying a drink on top of the roof terrace listening to the call to pray will stay with me for a long time.

I travel quite extensively and I don't think I've ever come away thinking that I would have paid more either for the Hotel or Service - however in this case I would have happily done both.

What a find!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    374
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
254
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have just returned from an incredible 50th birthday girly break! 3 nights at the Riad Assakina.

The Riad is beautiful, stylish and tranquil. For our trip we took the whole Riad and this made it a truly memorable break as it became our home and haven from the madness that is Marrakech. The level of service and hospitality from our hosts, Grant and Michele was second to none.

On arrival we were served mint tea and delicious stuffed figs, we were very late and yet we were made to feel welcome. We were shown round the Riad a quick check in then off out, as they had arranged for us to eat in a local restaurant and we were taken there by one of the amazing staff who work at the Riad, and given delicious recommendations.

The breakfasts each day were wonderful, fabulous pancakes, amazing french toast, only 2 from the extensive choices. Michele and Grant gave my friend (the incredible organiser :0)) ideas on how best to spend our time in Marrakech, and their suggestions were spot on. They organised everything, from the gifts from me on the beds to the camel rides, hamman spa treatments, booked the restaurants, taxis, and Michele even took us shopping so that we got the best prices in the best places.

We had my party night at the Riad (see pic) and Michelle's team cooked us an incredible feast! We had brilliant traditional musicians and a belly dancer. The staff made the evening for me by coming out and dancing with us. They made the night such great fun. Great local wine also!!!! ;) Thank you all.

Please do have a look at Michele little shop. She has the most beautiful locally sourced clothes, jewellery, cushions and WONDERFUL mementos. So beautiful and very chic!

Thank you all so much. xxx

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This was my second visit to Riad Asssakina, the first time I went with friends and our husbands and this time for a girlfriends 50th birthday. Michelle and Grant are amazing hosts, Michelle has the patience of a saint and organised all our itinerary for our stay from taxis, restaurants, Hammams to Camel rides in the Atlas Mountains. I think prior to our visit approx 50 emails had gone between us making arrangements. The Riad is beautifully decorated and so peaceful after the busy hustle and bustle of the Souks. We had a party night at the Riad and Michelle's team made the evening by preparing a delicious feast, we were entertained by local musicians and belly dancers - certainly a night and trip to remember a must when in Marrakech.

Room Tip: We took over the whole Riad so saw all the rooms, they were all beautiful. I think the rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

You immediately feel the welcome when you step inside this beautiful Riad. The hosts Grant and Michele were attentive and really helpful whatever we asked of them, and their lovely team were always working hard to make our stay so comfortable.
It was our first stay in Marrakesh and the kids (9 and 11) found the culture shock quite big on the first day as we plunged straight into the souks and the market, snake charmers, monkeys and all! But coming back each day after our exciting outings to such a haven of peace, was just the perfect antidote! By the end of our stay we had all got into the swing of things and were loving every experience.
Thank you so much for making our stay so memorable, and what a truly beautiful place you have created. Michele has a wonderful eye for decoration and we were really happy to buy some of the lovely items she sells. We look forward to seeing the website when it is up and running!

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms on the ground floor, which was just perfect with kids, and the whole ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I found this Riad on TA and after staying there I do not understand why Riad Assakina is not #1, as I just can not imagine there being a better place in Marrakech to stay!! Felt welcome prior to arriving in Marrakech (via email communication) with Grant, who assisted in finalizing a few travel details and was courteous in answering all of my questions. When you walk into this Riad there's an instant feeling of comfort, calm and relaxation. When you meet MIchelle & Grant (owners) and their wonderful staff you feel like you're "staying with family and dear friends" ! Everything about this Riad is beautiful and all of the furnishings are luxurious and carefully selected by Michelle. Every inch of the Riad, including the suites, terrace and sitting areas have been designed with impeccable detail. Having the expertise of Michelle, Grant and their staff was invaluable as this was my frirst trip to Marrakech and navigating my way around (without them) would have been challenging. The breakfast, afternoon pastries and tapas were yummy! Their "turn down" service at bed time along with treats on the pillow was really nice. There was free Wi-Fi through out the Riad, including on the terraces.

You will absolutley fall in LOVE with this Raid, it's amazing owners and their staff. Shopping with Michelle on my last day there was SO much fun!! She knows all the nice places to go & the best prices when purchasing souvenirs.

Leaving was sad, as it was like leaving family and life long friends. I would HIGHLY recommend this Riad and can NOT wait to return! Thanks Grant and Michelle for making my vacation the best one YET!!!

D.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham, UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This beautifully restored riad is a tranquil and calm place to relax after the hustle, bustle and noise of the streets of Marrakesh. We had a very warm welcome from Grant and Michelle and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The furnishings have been lovingly and carefully selected by Michelle and it is a fine blend of old and new in keeping with the riad. The attention to detail is incredible and there were many places to sit and relax either in the courtyard or on the roof top terrace.
Although it doesn't have restaurant as such, the tapas was delightful way to eat after a late arrival. The french toast for breakfast is a really delicious start to the day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Riad Assakina deserves its 5* rating and more. Away from the chaos of the streets lies this wonderful peaceful retreat but still close to all the attractions you want to see when visiting the Old Town.

Even before we got onto a plane, Grant has made us feel so welcome (by email)! We had to cancel our previous trip booked last year due to medical issues. He was incredibily gracious in dealing with our cancelled plans and we booked for the this year as soon as we could.

Michele and Grant and fantastic at what they do and they have made a wonderful place for guests to enjoy their time in Marrakesh. Not only are they fantastic company, they are most knowledgeable in everything and anything you need! Michele also has the best tips for souk shopping as well as a beautiful store of her own if you can't haggle anymore and want the beauties to take home. Their efficient and very friendly staff are great too.

Our room was beautifully decorated and we stayed very comfortably. For our last nigh Grant and Michele upgraded us to one of their suites just because they could - they didn't need to, but Grant mentioned he wanted us to experience as much as possible!

The food at the Riad is superb. Breakfast is fantastic and if you don't feel like going out you can have lunch or even light tapas for dinner (This is great too!)

We were very sad to leave the Riad but even more so to say goodbye to what felt like long lost family! We highly recommend a visit to Riad Assakina. Thank you Grant Michele and the team for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#45 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.