We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LATE OCTOBER DEALS
Ranked #6 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A home away from home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Riad Assakina deserves its 5* rating and more. Away from the chaos of the streets lies this wonderful peaceful retreat but still close to all the attractions you want to see when visiting the Old Town.

Even before we got onto a plane, Grant has made us feel so welcome (by email)! We had to cancel our previous trip booked last year due to medical issues. He was incredibily gracious in dealing with our cancelled plans and we booked for the this year as soon as we could.

Michele and Grant and fantastic at what they do and they have made a wonderful place for guests to enjoy their time in Marrakesh. Not only are they fantastic company, they are most knowledgeable in everything and anything you need! Michele also has the best tips for souk shopping as well as a beautiful store of her own if you can't haggle anymore and want the beauties to take home. Their efficient and very friendly staff are great too.

Our room was beautifully decorated and we stayed very comfortably. For our last nigh Grant and Michele upgraded us to one of their suites just because they could - they didn't need to, but Grant mentioned he wanted us to experience as much as possible!

The food at the Riad is superb. Breakfast is fantastic and if you don't feel like going out you can have lunch or even light tapas for dinner (This is great too!)

We were very sad to leave the Riad but even more so to say goodbye to what felt like long lost family! We highly recommend a visit to Riad Assakina. Thank you Grant Michele and the team for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    385
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
261
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Everything about Riad Assakina is beautiful. The courtyard, the roof terrace, the salon, the rooms. Every last detail has been thought of, it's gorgeously decorated throughout. Michelle and Grant, the owners, have a wealth of recommendations, whatever you want to do, and they have built a team of professional, warm and committed staff.

Breakfast was fabulous; we saw a previous review saying the choice was limited, well I'm certain that's been heeded as there is a wonderful selection now - the French toast is irresistibly delicious and the local yogurt with fruit compote is also highly recommended.

We liked the area - perfectly peaceful at night, around 15mins from Jemma el F'naa up a mostly pedestrianised, bustling little street. Restaurants and the Cosy Bar are nearby. And a few interesting sites are quite close by too - we particularly enjoyed the tranquil ruins of the Palais El Badi. Tourist pony and traps are in the nearby square just 5 minutes away if that's your thing.

We also enjoyed private dining at the Riad. The starters were exquisite, the mains huge and dessert very tasty. It's a little expensive but made a lovely change.

We really couldn't recommend Riad Assakina highly enough and would defy anyone not to completely love it.

Room Tip: Visit their website and pick your favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Riad Assakina is an oasis of calm amongst the noise and chaos of the Medina.
Grant, Michele and the staff were wonderful and attentive.
With plenty of areas to relax and unwind it was a a wonderful experience.
The team make your stay very easy and comfortable. With a great feeling of staying in a friends home. Normally we would stay in large hotels but this experience has changed our mind.
My wife is coeliac so we were concerned about problems when eating out.
We need not have worried as Grant booked tables at the restaurants we had chosen and notified them of the gluten free requirements.
Thank you to Grant and Michele for making our 4 night stay just perfect.

Room Tip: Choose the Kaid suite, a wonder large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful three night stay at the Riad Assakina. I can only echo what others have said previously. The Riad is stunning, spotlessly clean and of the highest standards. We stayed in the Almohad Suite which was very spacious, huge comfortable bed, very large bathroom with extra large towels, often not found in the best hotels. The level of service and hospitality from your hosts, Grant and Michele was second to none. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by Grant, served mint tea and delicious stuffed figs. We were shown round the Riad. Grant arranged for us to eat in a local restaurant and we were taken there by one of the amazing staff who work at the Riad, The breakfasts each day were delicious. Michele and Grant gave us suggestions on how best to spend our time in Marakesh, tips on shopping, recommended and booked restaurants and transport and provided maps and directions. Michelle arranged a hamman spa visit for us and provided maps and directions. We managed to get completely lost (quite easy on your first visit) and when we arrived back at the Riad by taxi, just happy to be back and disappointed not to have had our spa treatment, Michelle re-arranged our appointment and personally walked us there, wow what amazing service. If you are thinking of booking here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Yep - I can now see why this place is so highly rated on this site. Grant and Michele have turned a former house of ill repute into an oasis of calm in crazy Marrakech. Tucked away down a narrow alley in the old Jewish quarter, Riad Assakina is a real gem, festooned (I love that word) with Moroccan art and artefacts - all displayed with great taste and an eye for detail. The whole team are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are superb, the pool is gorgeous, the rooftop terrace is a great vantage point from which to view the minarets and the Marrakech skyline - need I go on? So my tip is to get yourself on down to Marrakech and a few nights at this place as quickly as your little babouches will carry you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Spent 4 nights here and it was wonderful. Great hospitality, diligent and efficient staff, wonderful hosts and fabulous food. Very clean and a refuge from the madness of Marrakesh.
Afternoon tea each day was worth coming back to.
Quiet and relaxing. Many thanks Michelle and Grant a truly beautiful end to finish our holiday in Morrocco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My one regret is that I did not eat more meals there. On our last day we had a lunch that was fabulous--"cigars" and pastilla. Don't miss it. Breakfast was great. Michelle was also able to recommend good restaurants nearby. In fact, she was able to recommend anything you needed and would help you if she could. She took us to the people who had made the lamps for the riad, so we could get one. It was a fun experience and I love the lamp. Also, be sure to ask her what things should cost in the medina before you go.
The only negative was that our room was a little small--but that was my choice bc it was less expensive. Michelle did offer to upgrade us for 3 of our 5 nights, which was very nice of her, but we decided it was too much trouble to move--though of course the very helpful staff would have moved us.
They made reservations for us, did laundry quickly and cheaply, made luscious tea in the afternoons, and took care of anything you asked for.
I'm ready to go back and I just got home.

Room Tip: If you're bothered by tight spaces, opt for a slightly pricier room. They are twice the size. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.