We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SPRING BARGAINS!
Ranked #8 of 467 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Divine!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The no 1 place to be!!! We had the most Divine days att assakina, thank to the wonderful hosts grant and Michelle, for taking care of us in a royal way, everything from booking a table to fix taxi. rihaden, is very tastefully, and rumme is fine enough for an emperor. can really recommend this luxurious retreat, and again, many thanks to the wonderful hosts Grant and michell for taking such good care of oss.
Hans o gustav

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
271
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Highly recommended! Choosing Riad Assakina greatly contributed to making our trip so fantastic. We appreciated the warm welcome and the friendly service, as well as the atmosphere and stylish décor. You could tell that every detail was cared for. Most of all, we valued the personal tips and advice on where to go that enabled us to enjoy all the best bits and pieces of Marrakech.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

Everything was welcoming, organised and most impressively always friendly for the three nights we spent at Riad Assakina... It was truly excellent. The rooms are marvellous as is the service and the smiles you meet everywhere in the riad. The food was fantastic and we received spot on advice for everything from shopping in the soukh to which restaurants to go to. The only regret for us is that we only stayed three nights! A very warm recommendation from here - it is like being welcomed into a family of staff, owners and fellow guests that make the stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We only had one night at the riad as guests of Grant and Michelle but were made to feel very welcome.
The riad is just lovely - decorated with Michelle's good eye and excellent taste and the small touches of help, advice, friendliness and thoughtfulness made for such a lovely short stay.
Anyone who wants a beautiful place to stay with excellent service, close to the action but not overwhelmed by it, should consider staying here

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Hi , my partner and I stayed here in November 2011 for 5 nights . it was part of my freinds 40th birthday celebrations .. Tim and I have visited Marrakech 7 times previous and always stayed in a large hotel , it was my friend that found this little 'jewel' through a friend of hers ..
Rhiad Assakina is absolutely the most beautiful Rhiad, it is perfectely situated just a short walking Distance from the hustle and bustle of the main square . the decor and Rooms are all extremely tasteful with lots of very interesting Artifacts to look at in each room .. The Ambience is that of complete relaxation..
Michell and Grant , who own the Rhiad and are both English , are the ultimate in hosts , nothing is too much trouble and anything you need and want is sorted , reservations, taxi's , shopping, Hamman appts , to name a few .

Tim and I will never be staying in a Hotel again in Marrakech, Rhiad assakina is now our 2nd home from home .
Thankyou. Bernadette Hone ( Sevenaoks. Kent)

Room Tip: Any room is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Had a wonderful stay with my family and significant other this past month. We all delighted in the beautiful tranquility of Riad Assakina. We all remarked on the sharp contrast between the busy, dusty world of Marrakesh just outside the gates, and our beautiful, clean, airy home away -from-home at the Riad. Owners Michelle and Grant have struck the perfect balance of inviting homey-ness and stylish, up-to-date facilities which remind you that your temporary home is also a world-class hotel.

The service amazed me. Grant and Michelle bent over backwards to schedule day-trips, pore over maps of the city with us giving very personalized recommendations and meeting our every need while we were in residence. Isham, who works there, was so kind and helpful, bringing tea and cakes up to the rooftop for us as we watched the sun set over the city each night. He stayed on duty all night to let in late-arrival guests and made us feel very safe. Thanks to their chef- we decided to stay in and relax one night, on short notice she prepared dinner for eight of us and it was actually the best meal of the trip!

I recommend the Riad Assakina very highly, I'll never forget the fantastic experience they created for us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed in this wonderful Riad for a few days in Nov 2011. The owners Michelle and Grant have made a truly amazing job in the design of this beautiful and elegant courtyard Riad, utterly peaceful and yet conveniently close to the very heart of the old city. From the roof terrace one can see over the city roofs to the Atlas mountains beyond. A fantastic location! Our room was luxuriously comfortable and the breakfasts delicous. Michelle and Grant are a delightful, friendly couple and endlessly helpful in giving directions, maps, advice about good places to eat and where to get the best bargains in the Souks. I cannot recommend this Riad highly enough for anyone making a visit to Marrakech.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.