We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Found our inner peace at Assakina...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Save Saved
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER SPECIAL PACKAGES
Ranked #6 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“Found our inner peace at Assakina...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

Riad Assakina truly means inner peace...we had the most amazing experience of our lives thanks to the beautiful oasis that Michele and Grant have created in Marrakech. From the moment we entered this peaceful magical mini-palace, we knew we had made the right choice. The land, the people, the food of Morocco were OFF THE CHARTS! Shuk-ran (thank you) for making our stay so relaxing and special. The rooms are divine, the staff is most welcoming and gracious...from the mint tea, to the gris, to the delicious olives and nuts, to the djellabas (robes), to the fresh flowers and fruit put daily in our room, everything was perfect. Michele and Grant recommended the best restaurants, the best souks...the best of Marrakech. You must dine in the Riad, you must go to a hammam, and the Jardin Majorelle and the palaces, and the mountains. This Riad is centrally located to all the sites. We always felt very safe and taken care of...We miss our "love nest" on the terrace...Riad Assakina is the ONLY place to stay in Marrakech where you are ensured to have the best vacation of your life.
Love to Zach...our buddy up late at night always vigilantly taking care of us...
-Monica and Billy (a.k.a. Laetitia and Abdul)

Room Tip: any room is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    11
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
254
11
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We've just spent our twelth wedding anniversary in Marrakech and we chose to stay at Riad Assakina and are we glad we did,the owners Michele and Grant describe it as 'your residence in Marrakech' and from the moment we stepped through the door until the moment we left that really was how it felt,the riad itself has to be seen to be believed, it's such an oasis, we've never felt so relaxed so soon after arrivng anywhere, nothing was too much trouble, the staff were excellent in every department.

The suite we stayed in was spacious and the bed so comfortable we're still missing it! As for Marrakech itself, well everything you've heard is true, it's crazy, it's wonderful and we can't wait to return and we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else but Riad Assakina.

Thank you Michele,Grant and all the staff for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: I would recommend a suite it's worth paying a little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Although Marrakech experiences much poverty and Riad Assakina being in one of the poorer areas of the city, you get no sense of poverty once inside. Also, the locals in the area provide no threat and although they have little in the way of possessions, they smile and remain friendly (while begging).
The Riad itself provided a beautiful and calm environment. Michelle and Grant were wonderful hosts. While Grant invited us guys to watch the Rugby in their private accomodation, Michelle took the girls around the Souks and showed them what they should be paying when bartering for goods. They organised trips and taxis to restaurants and were a constant souce of information and help.
The staff in the Riad had clearly been well coached by the owners over the years, as their professionalism and happy outgoing nature was exactly waht you'd want from a holiday. The Riad was stunning and kept to a very high degree of cleanliness.
I'll definitely be returning in the not too distant future.
Grant, Michelle and the team should be extremely proud of what they have created.

Room Tip: Two rooms on the ground floor, but both beatifully presented. There was also an ajoining door so ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband Mike & I have just returned from our 3rd visit but this time we did it a little differently. It was Mike's 60th birthday and we invited 9 of our friends & family to join us and filled the whole Riad for 4 nights. This was a truly wonderful experience, Michele, Grant and the team couldn't have made it better. Everyone worked very hard and on the Saturday had a great party with musicians, belly dancer and a fabulous dinner cooked by Meriem. The Riad had been decorated with rose petals, floating candles in the pool and a beautifully laid dinner table. A memorable evening which will remain with us for a long time. In addition moving 11 of us to various restaurants, bars, and activities would normally be a challenge but Michele engineered everything smoothly with taxis to drop & pick up and joining us on a girl's shopping trip. We cannot recommend this highly enough. In fact I'm taking 3 girlfriends back next April and we can't wait! Thank you Team.

Room Tip: All of them are individually and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleaford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

I can't believe it's taken me so long to post this but it's my yang for the particularly nasty review I've just given a local restaurant! We travelled to Marrakech in January to seek a little winter sun and stayed at the Riad Assakina having done a little reseach on Trip Advisor. Grant was incredibly helpful when booking but he and Michelle were actually away when we stayed. However, this did not mar our experience in any way and their wonderful team made sure that we felt more than welcome. Since my return, I've recommended Marrakech and the Riad Assakina to anyone who'd listen. The city is beautiful, exciting and intriguing but often overwhelming and the Riad Assakina provides the perfect sanctury. I'll never forget Morocco, not least because my now husband proposed during our trip to the Lower Atlas and urge you to vist. If you do, don't hestate to stay at the Riad Assakina, you wont regret it for a moment.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed at Riad Assakina for 4 nights in July 2011. It was the most amazing place. The owners Michelle and Grant were incredibly friendly and helpful. They gave us all the local info we needed, places to visit, eat and drink and a lot of local tips that made our stay fantastic. The Riad is stunning. It was one of the most stylish and beautiful places we have stayed in. The service and attention to detail was exceptional, and very friendly but highly professional. The location was ideal, being only 10 minutes walk from the main square. The Riad has lots of places to relax including a beautiful roof terrace and is the perfect antidote to a busy day sightseeing. Having such a wonderful place to stay was the highlight of our visit to Marrakesh and we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at Riad Assakina for a week in March. I’ve been meaning to write this ever since because it was the absolute best place to stay in Marrakech and I cannot recommend it highly enough. (Sorry, Michele, for taking so long to post this!) It exceeded by far all of our expectations. The location was perfect, a 10-15 minute walk to the Medina, and a 5 minute walk to some really good restaurants nearby. The Riad itself is beautiful, tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The roof top deck is a lovely place to relax with a glass of wine. Michele was the perfect host (Grant was away and arrived the day before we left), really more like a friend than a host. The service is very personal and she even took me to the Hammam one day. Don’t miss having dinner at the Riad one evening. It was the best and most romantic dinner of our stay in Marrakech. Don’t look any further. This is the perfect place to stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Assakina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.