We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Saad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Saad to your Saves list
Riad Dar Saad
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 derb Ben Chekroune | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 1,115 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Best Stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had the most amazing time staying at this riad, which was so conveniently situated, so peaceful, and so beautiful.

The whole place is marble and wood, with big comfy cushions and seats. Its very quiet and calming, so you feel like you are walking into an oasis after the noise of the souk. Our apartment was, I think the only one on the ground floor. It had its own courtyard with natural sunlight, as well as a bedroom and little sitting area all to ourselves, although we spent most of our time around the pool on the sofas. Breakfast was always good, with a nice combination between bread and breakfast pastries from local bakeries and more traditional coffee and jams, and while the dinner is definitely more expensive than the restaurants you will find in the main square, the orange custard, tajine, and couscous was possibly one of the best meals I had during my time there.

While we spent most of our time in Marrakech, we wanted to explore outside the city for a few days too. The hotel staff were so helpful in setting up everything. Most of them only speak french and arabic, which wasnt a problem for us, but if you dont speak french, the woman who was at the front desk for most of the time we were there spoke english too. All we had to do was tell them what we wanted to do, and within two days, we were being driven to the desert for camel riding an overnight stay in a Berber tent before being driven back. The price was by far cheaper than any other program we saw while we were there, and everything was included, which made the experience really enjoyable.

While the Hamam and scrub was a great experience, and definitely one I would suggest, I think that going to one of the traditional public hamams throughout the city would perhaps be a more interesting experience. However, If you are uncomfortable being around a lot of naked women, the Hamam in the riad is certainly the place for you.

Overall, I could not be happier with my stay at Riad Dar Saad. Next time I go to Marrakech, I will definitely be staying there, and I would suggest it to anyone who is planning on visiting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    23
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
64
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Larchmont, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had great service from all at the Riad which is a short, easy walk from the main square. We made use of the lovely Hammam and massage room. Our room was very pleasant though big tub in the middle did not get the use we had hoped. (Ensure the Riad is warned of any plan to fill a very big bathtub).

Room Tip: see the photos since all rooms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This riad was amazing and the staff was always at the guest's disposition and was really kind. The architecture and decoration was beautiful. It is also in the famous safe quarter El Bachar and it was really easy for us, 3 girls, to find our ways in and out of the riad to the famous Jamaa El Fna place and the souk. The staff, upon arrival gave us a map and showed us many places to visit (worthwhile places) around the riad. I would suggest anyone staying in the riad to also try the hamam with the scrub and massage option. My friends and I tried it and came out more relaxed than we were ever before. The suites are very spacious and clean, the beds were very comfortable and the shower was beautiful. I think the best experience from the riad was the breakfast in the morning by the pool terrace, eating homemade crepes and warm bread while sipping on good Moroccan green tea. It made us feel like we were in a meditation center and were far away from all the craziness of the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We took a 4 day break to Marrakesh and stayed at the Riad Dar Saad, this hotel is ok by Moroccan standard but not up to UK spec. At this time of year it is cold at night time and the heating in the two rooms we had did not work in one and barely worked in the other. There is no tea/coffee in the rooms, the safes are not fixed down, some lights did not work and the breakfasts were just bread and pancakes or cake quite boring in fact. this Riad is in a non car part of the souks so you have to walk about 400yds to get to or from your taxi. Overall it was reasonable value at the special offer price we paid.

Room Tip: If they are not full ask for a choice of rooms as they vary a lot in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A very warm welcome from the lovely staff who helped to make our stay an enjoyable and happy experience. We stayed in the Jemra suite, which we found spacious and extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were different each day and can be served on the terrace or in the really attractive dining area. The location is perfect for the souks, and Jamaa El Fna is a few minutes walk away. Not to be missed is a trip to the Ouzoud Cascades which the staff will organise for you, and an opened topped bus excursion to take in all the highlights and history of Marrakech. To relax after a day's sightseeing, try an in house Hammam. We highly reccommend the Cafe Arabe and the Dar Danab restaurants, both within a five minute walk from Dar Saad, serving Moroccan and international dishes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Marrakech in August is probably not the best time to go because of the mad heat but we went anyway, taking the early morning bus cutting a two-night break out of a week in Essaouira. It's a bit of a tale which I won't bore you with but we arrived at the Dar Saad for two nights and were offered a choice of rooms, taking the sizeable Darouiria room. The riad is actually two separate properties knocked together (or was it three?) which gives it some size and our room was in the more modern and stylish white part of the building. It is inside the Medina, about ten or twelve minutes walk from the magnetic and super-hectic square Jemaa al Frna.
The general atmosphere reminds you of a peaceful religious order of quiet contemplation. An escape from the outside world. It is calm and restful with comfortable lounges and smaller spaces where you can pass your time reading or playing cards or similar. There is no TV to distract you. There is, however, a small plunge-pool to help you cool off next to which you can recline on sun loungers or simply rest on the soft furniture around the open pool space. A large, attractive roof terrace was completely unoccupied because of the excessive heat, even under shades, except when popular for al fresco breakfast. The friendly staff were always helpful and on hand to serve up drinks and pleasant but simple snacks as required. You can order more substantial food but we preferred to dine out.
The riad functions very well as a retreat from the exhausting 45C heat; the building is about twelve degrees cooler than the outside world. We enjoyed our stay there and would suggest it to anyone seeking a calm haven tucked away from the hurly-burly of Marrakech at large.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very nice Riad, and even nicer staff, very personable and can cater for most wishes. We went with 2young kids and the Riad staff were most accommodating.
The Riad is situated at one end of the souks so you are able to to see all the souks and their merchandise by the time you get to Jamaa El Fna which is about 10minutes walk away. This Riad is perfectly situated if you don't want the constant noise of the square, but don't want to be too far off either.
Ensuite, fridge and a safe all present in our family suite. Have Massage facilities available too. Also the riad staff can organise for your transfers to and fro the airport as they did with us.
Definitely suggest giving this one a go.
Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Saad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saad

Address: 3 derb Ben Chekroune | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 1,115 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Saad 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Saad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Saad Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Saad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.