We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Saad

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Saad to your Saves list
Riad Dar Saad
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 derb Ben Chekroune | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Having read reviews on this site, my expectations were fairly high, but they were definitely met - if not exceeded - throughout our stay. The riad is in a good, central location, practically in the souks and close to the main square. The building itself is beautiful, stylishly decorated, and much more spacious than the photos imply; especially the main courtyard which was the perfect setting for a quiet (and delicious) evening meal by the fire. The huge terrace is spectacular and catches enough sun for it to be perfect for breakfast even in mid December. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating, and were even very obliging when we returned to Marrakech a few days after our stay and needed somewhere to store our bags while we went shopping in the souks for a couple of hours before our flight home.
Overall, it was comfortable, relaxed, quiet, and very clean; just what you need after a day spent exploring such a busy, sometimes hectic city.
Thank you to Samira and the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms are around the first courtyard, which overlooks reception and the kitchen so can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    21
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
59
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
delaware
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I had booked this hotel after reading all the good reviews. Immediately making the booking i found out the first thing wrong with this hotel. Once you have made booking online, you practically cannot cancel at (look at their horrible cancelation policy). Then 2nd thing i realized was that there is no "free breakfast" which is almost offered by all the riads there.
Swallowing these hard new found facts, I manage to get there (in the meanwhile i got a offer from a much better riad right on the Djemma, but could not change it due to saad's horrible cancelation policy.
Once there, they will use all their tactics to shove their ugly bad tasting cold breakfast down your throat for 5 euros each. They will very politely ask you for tea in the morning and bring a few stale pancakes with it, my advise dont touch it, this is their breakfast and we eventually saw those in our bill. When challanged, the manager lady will see "cant you pay 5 euros for your breakfast"? are you this poor?
Now the worst part of the stay, please read this carefully. We were told that you can come anytime you want during night. I came back one night at 3 in the morning and then started knocking on the door. To my horror no one opened up the door for 45 minutes. Me alone in a dark alley was very frigthening. I went to a policeman/guard and a local guy helped to talk to him about the situation. He finally called the hotel in his arabic language and then got me the guy Mohammed on phone, i asked him to please open the door and he said "no he cant". Probably he was half drunk and half asleep. Then he called him again and he banged down the phone on him as well. Finally he called the 2nd number on the phone and now the manager lady picks up the phone and she lazily asks whats going on. Then she calls mohammed apparently and he now "agrees to open up the door". Can you beleive this?
My advise, get any other riad, there are plenty to choose from. Dont stay here as they dont care. The owner is some french guy living in france who may not even know what is going on with his riad.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

Amazing riad. Large enough to find your own little sanctuary of quiet but small enough to get personalised service. Staff are great and polite and really seem to care about your enjoyment. The decor is AMAZING. We stayed in chiba and gertoufa suite. Both awesome. Had a look at all rooms and they are lovely. I suspect Louisa and timja get a bit of reception noise so bear that in mind. Will definitely return soon

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Riad Dar Saad one year ago during a 3 week trip around Morocco. A pharmacist from work had recommended this place and so we booked in to make sure we had somewhere quiet and peaceful to spend our first few nights in Morocco. We arrived after midnight and were met by a very pleasant driver who scooped up our belongings and delivered us to the front door of the Riad. The hosts were waiting for us with fresh mint tea and biscuits in a very beautiful and relaxing surrounding. We were impressed immediately and had a wonderful experience there. After returing to the Riad at the end of our 3 week trip, we felt like Riad Dar Saad was our home away from home! Would highly recommend it. Spotless, deliscious meals (optional), friendly and highly helpful staff who spend time to make the guests feel comfortable. It took a while for me to get around to writing the review but I can see that the Riad already has many positive review! Thank you Dar Saad for being a special part of our trip! :O)

Room Tip: room with terrace is amazing...have breakfast outside in the morning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Although I was in Marrakech for business I stayed in this delightfully romantic riad. In a word it was terrific. The riad as a whole was like something out of 1001 Arabian Nights. You could easily imagine Scherazade telling you a bedtime story -- or the Prince of Persia slashing his way through the opulent hangings. The rooms were quite variable in size. Mine -- called Jemra -- was huge. It's billed as a "suite" which it isn't. Just a very large room with a double bed and two couches that could be used as beds for children.Dozens of cushions in all shapes and sizes. It also had the only split level bathroom (you reached the shower via its own flight of stairs) I have ever seen. Small "plunge pool" in the breakfast courtyard. Delightful roof terrace with fountain. The location, in the Medina/Old Town, was good. Friendly, accommodating staff. No restaurant. Breakfast on the minimalist side (excellent breads and juice). No other meals. NOT suitable for business (there was neither a desk nor a table nor a chair in my room and internet is only available in the lobby, but who wants to work in such a perfect place for a romantic getaway?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Riad Saad, it was just wonderfull. Food is great ( tagine; pastilla), breakfast can be enjoyed on the roof terrace or near the pool. Service was just great: I just can recommend that place.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Samira and her team were incredibly kind and welcoming and went out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed for our short stay at Dar Saad. They were very taken with our 8 month old daughter and couldn't do enough for her, they brought us boiling water in a thermos when we wanted it, let us use the kitchen and fridge for her food and supplied a very decent travel cot for her too. We eat most nights at the Riad and the food was top notch and plentiful. Really great Moroccan stuff and we washed it down with a great bottle of Moroccan red. As we wanted to go out one night they provided a baby sitting service and we felt comfortable leaving our daughter in their care and went out to Jemaa-al-Fna for a great evening of wandering around and eating in at one of the many stalls - just let yourself be pulled in by one of the keen waiters and feast at a very reasonable price! The souks were only a few minutes walk away and it was great to be able to escape the craziness of the markets and return to the Riad for some peace and quiet, a mint tea and perhaps a cold beer!
We'd definitely recommend the place!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Saad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saad

Address: 3 derb Ben Chekroune | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Saad 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Dar Saad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Saad Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Saad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.