We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Thai we had ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of International Restaurant at Amanjena

International Restaurant at Amanjena
Route de Ouarzazate, Marrakech, Morocco
024/40-33-53
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 537 Restaurants in Marrakech
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best Thai we had ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Go for the thai food, it's very good and the service is goos too, love the moroccan wine

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    24
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tarifa, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Food is very good
Service is perfect
Staff very nice
Special thanks to Mr.Omar who looked after us

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Solid food. Stellar service and grounds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We came here for a poolside lunch and had a burger and the green curry. The staff is - as always - amazing and prompt. It is 20 minutes and 100 dirham cab outside Marrakech, but a fun excursion if you have the time. The property is huge, so be prepared to walk a bit from the entrance to the poolside terrace.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
1,722 helpful votes 1,722 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel, wonderful atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

While in Marrakech, we had dinner one evening at the Amanjena which was located about 15 miles outside the city center in the desert. Everything about the Amanjena was exquisite but the honey toned decor was especially elegant.

When we arrived, we were ushered the golden-hued bar which had a roaring fire, cozy seating areas and a fellow dressed in a traditional outft played a Moroccan-style flute. Afterwards we had dinner in Amanjena's Moroccan-Mediterranean restaurant which resembled a palace with its graceful arches, marble columns and low slung seating areas.

Dinner began with a miniature smoked salmon roulade as an ameuse bouche. I had had the goat cheese salad as an appetizer and then the roasted chicken canelloni for my main course. Both dishes were good, but not great. As for my husband, he had an excellent dish of garlic broiled shrimp as a starter and then a very tasty lamb tagine with couscous afterwards. We did not order dessert but were offered a dish of complimentary Moroccan cookies.

On to practical matters, taxis to/from the center of Marrakech cost 150 dirhams each way and took about 15-20 minutes. We made dinner reservations in advance by emailing the Amanjena at the email address listed on their website. In addition to the restaurant where we ate, the Amanjena also had a restaurant which served Thai specialties.

Definitely give the Amanjena a try if you want an understatedly luxurious evening in Marrakech!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Thai Restaurant at Amanjena -Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

What a beautiful setting, dining to exquisite Thai food whilst watching MococcanTrio of Men playing beautiful traditional music...Very Romantic, lovely experience and not over priced!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed International Restaurant at Amanjena also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to International Restaurant at Amanjena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage International Restaurant at Amanjena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.