We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fantastic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant of La Maison Arabe

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 4030, Morocco
+212 5243-87010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, International, Mediterranean, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This raid based resteraunt was very classy and very romantic with its interior decor and open courtyard swimming pool side dining.

But the food was a disappointment. With no disrespect to the food in general, it was well cooked and presented very well, but not to our taste buds. We were told this is where you experience the best of the best Moroccan food, but having Indian curry as a staple diet, this was very bland food. Best suited to those people who like the finer flavours.

This was the most expensive resteraunt we ate at and it came to £60 per head. But the context was phenomenal, we ate here for our 1 year wedding anniversary and loved the architecture and authentic feel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    296
    91
    38
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“so touristic, not typical, and the quality very poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Everyone told us that it was one of the best place in Marrakech!!
After tasting different places we were very desappointed. The Riad is a beautiful place, a bit dated... Also reserved if you want to be close to the pool!!
About the food :
The menu is not typical, you find also Libanese, and Asian cuisine likewise Moroccan.
The quality of food is poor, the mezze do not have taste and do not show the great variety of Moroccan cuisine; the semolina for the coucous is more than average and the meat not tender...
I guess it was a good address years ago but do not deserved to be one 's Marrakech best places. To finish it is expensive for what you get.
Just the service is OK!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Expensive, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had pre-booked our table however on arrival were led to a small courtyard and offered the drinks menu. I ordered two drinks and throughout this time felt really harassed by the waiter e.g. offering to take a photograph of us (with him), putting a flower in my daughter's hair etc. When the bill came (high) he avoided giving me my change by taking more photographs. I did not feel I could challenge this and felt very awkward. The restaurant is very pretty (we sat next to pool) and the starters and dessert were delicious (very disappointed by the chicken tagine). Service started off well but as the restaurant became busier, we were almost ignored. When we paid, the original waiter came back to see if we wanted to go to the bar!!! We left, promptly!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most romantic setting ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The ambiance at the restaurant, which surrounds a small pool at the hotel, was unbeatable. Exquisite lanterns, warm lighting, live music... It blew me away. The service was also very good. Our food was ok: The mezze appetizers were excellent. The tangines were good, but nothing I would make a trip to this restaurant for exclusively. However, the setting alone is worth the trip, so do not hesitate to go! (Our hotel made a reservation for us)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, FL USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very good but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great atmosphere inside the Riad La Maison Arabe. Food was good but not great. We both had Tiagines but different styles. This was on the same level as some other tagines so unless I was staying at the Riad La Maison Arabe, it is not extraordinary that I would go out of my way to eat here

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant of La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.