We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic meal by the pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant of La Maison Arabe

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5 24 38 70 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, International, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
Watford,UK
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Romantic meal by the pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We had cocktails in the bar on arrival. These were ok , not very strong and a bit expensive for what they were.
We ate in Les Trois Saveurs rather than the Moroccan restaurant. The tables were set around the pool . Lovely romantic lighting, but do take a torch for the menu. The food was excellent, my husband was particularly impressed by his beef fillet with truffle ravioli. The starter of grilled aubergine and pata negra ham was gorgeous too and I enjoyed the tender lamb chops with delicate spicing.
My husband had flambeed crepes and I had the carmelised pineapple.
In general , we thought the food was good enough to rival anything we have had in trendy London restaurants and also good value.
Our bill for Mai Tais, a half bottle of red wine, water and food came to about 1200dh .
This is not a place to go to for a cheap meal but is excellent for a gold star holiday experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    354
    177
    62
    29
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Staged for tourists !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you want a genuine morrocan athmosphere, don't choose this restaurant. This is staged for tourists. What a shame!
They will attempt to get you to start with a drink in the bar, before seating you at the table. The food isn't worth the high prices they charge and we weren't full after eating. Very small plates. We had to pay 1500:- dirams for an evening there and it was 2 times as much compared to all other places we visited.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bit touristy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This is a truly beautiful riad with very pleasant and helpful staff. However the restaurant is a bit commercial and the food good but not special. We were also given different menus in the bar before dining which was confusing, particularly as it is candlelit in the restaurant so difficult to read.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varkala, India
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place has a balcony that overlooks the main square, it has nice food and sells alcohol. it can get very crowded

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Typical Moroccan Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Brilliant restaurant, would definately go back. Had a few drinks in the sumptuous bar first, staff friendly and welcoming. Opted for moroccan set menu for dinner. Salads of roasted peppers, lentils, aubergine, onions etc to start, followed by tagines of chicken, lamb, beef and berber couscous plus desserts. You are served LOTS of food so maybe not a good choice if you're not a 'foodie', but my husband and I thoroughly enjoyed this authentic delight

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant of La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.