We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top dining experience in Marrakesh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant of La Maison Arabe

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 4030, Morocco
+212 5243-87010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 588 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, International, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top dining experience in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Everything was no less than perfect at this gorgeous and beautiful riad restaurant. The food, the decor, the service, the ambiance - great. We were eating outside just next to the pool. Simple our best dining experience in Marrakesh. Fair priced compared wtih the quality.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    620
    287
    90
    38
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great cooking classes, good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went here twice - once for the cooking classes, and once for dinner. Highly recommend both. The cooking classes in particular are a must-do if you're interested in that sort of thing.

The cooking classes are in a very spacious, modern kitchen with individual stovetops, sinks, etc. for each student. There are video screens so you can see the instructor even if you are far away (not an issue in our case - there were only four students). You can express preferences for what you want to learn to cook beforehand, which they will accommodate subject to the preferences of others taking the class on the same day. The instructors are very good at teaching, funny, and genuinely concerned with making sure you have a good time while also learning something. It can cater to pretty much any skill level - I'm a cooking novice and had a good time while making some pretty good lamb tagine, while my mother who is a much better cook also learned a lot.

There are two restaurants - one that serves on Moroccan food, and one that serves a mix of Moroccan, French and other cuisines. We went to the latter, and it was quite good. Attentive service, which is sometimes not the case in Morocco, and the food was very well done. I would describe it as "Moroccan with a twist" - many of the dishes were in the spirit of Moroccan cooking while not necessarily being the normal staples of tagine, etc. Decor is great too - nice tables by the hotel pool. Prices were reasonable, though not cheap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
195 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We ate in the Moroccan restaurant while staying in the hotel. It's a lovely room, and as with the rest of the hotel the service was excellent. It's particularly nice the way you are invited through from the bar. We both had different pastillas - the moroccan savoury pastry delicacies. All delicious but filling. Then one tagine and one couscous, delicious but quite large

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Romance in the Medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Like many of the riads in the medina, you turn down an otherwise darkish alleyway, and then the door opens to unbelieveable beauty. The restaurant is around a pool with soft lighting, and when we were there, soft live music from a solo Moroccan musician. The food was as good as any we had during our 12 day trip, and we contemplated coming back if there weren't so many places to go.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Quite unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Sometimes what matters is the summation of the total experience. We knew that it was expensive, but it was not extortionate.( we paid £82 for starters, main and a bottle of wine for 2).
The food was delicious and beautifully presented, we had turbot and sea bream. The service was good, but not especially attentive and in other top end restaurants it has been better. What is special is simply seeing behind the unimposing entrance in the nondescript alley. This is a revelation. The building is like a tardis, stunningly beautiful. We had asked to look at the menu beforehand and been given a tour by friendly and willing staff. Having been shown both the Moroccan restaurant and the International Fusion restaurant, we chose to book in the International restaurant and booked a pool side table in the open air under a patio heater. A beautiful setting, absolutely romantic and quite simply just a great experience to dine here. other top end restaurants are just as good, maybe a bit better, but they cannot match the whole experience.
If you want a special evening, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant of La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.