We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out on Couscous and Tajene dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant of La Maison Arabe

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
1 Derb Assehbe | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5 24 38 70 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 533 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, International, Halal
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
california
2 reviews
“Don't miss out on Couscous and Tajene dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fantastic sampling of traditional Moroccan food. Pleasant live music at 8 - 2 guitarists. Eat very little during the day, portions are delicious and generous.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    362
    180
    64
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“The service is fantastic, the food is delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This restaurant is located inside the hotel and its simply amazing. We had an aperitif before our meal and the bartender was exceptional, very friendly, very knowledgeable just as a bar tender should be. He remembered our first names, he kept on doing non alcoholic juices and offering to prepare those with any choice of alcohol that we wanted, this is a great subtle upsell that was very welcoming. The restaurant is located inside the Medina at the end of an alley, it has tables around the pool at the inner courtyard, like many other tourist restaurants in the area. The F&B manager came to introduce himself which was very nice and he went to say goodbye to everyone who was dining at their departure. The service overall in fantastic. I had the chicken tangine and it was OK, but the fish dish that my friend asked for was delicious!! Expect to spend around 500 dirham for a 2 course meal.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Luxe Setting & Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Perfect setting, outside on the terrace next to the pool and in the garden area. Quite what I thought a dining experience at a Moroccan riad would be. First dinner as delicious: spicy carrot soup, crab salad flavored with Argan oil, Moroccan version of duck l'orange, and the prawns, finished with the crepes Suzette. Highlight was when the waiter gave us jalabiyas to wear because our heat lamp wasn't working; that was dining in style!

Our second dinner here was our last night in Morocco and it didn't disappoint. Traditional moroccan salads (eggplant, sweet peppers, potato, lentils, a sweet potato like chutney, mini phyllo dough spinach pastries), monkfish tagine, and Creme brûlée for dessert.

Wines are quite good as well, and the service is impeccable.

Breakfast should not be missed. Stuffed Moroccan bread is the star (it's made by hand and to order by a woman who sits pool side, and you can watch her at work!), but the yogurt is the true surprise. Great fresh squeezed juice and pastries as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Intro to Tagine and the Best Yogurt Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

One enters the main dining room through a low arch, a typical touch that encourages visitors to bow in respect for the hospitality they're about to receive. The varieties of tagine are all excellent, though the servers are sometimes unclear. The outside restaurant, beside the pool, is more casual and we found the service there remarkably warm. The buffet breakfast has the usual western contents but also figs, dates, nuts and made-to-order omelettes -- and the best yogurt we've ever tasted.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
“Remarkable New Year's Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

La Maison Arabe is a cozy and very attractive place to visit. I had the pleasure to have the most amazing New Year's dinner at their restaurant. Both food and service were excellent. A variety of food was served throughout the night and the staff was absolutely incredible. The live music was a true highlight of the night!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant of La Maison Arabe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.