We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent start into the New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Lalla

Casa Lalla
16 Derb Jemaa | Riad Zitoune Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
(24) 429 757
Improve this listing
Ranked #179 of 536 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $39 - $66
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent start into the New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have spent the 31 Dec dinner at Casa Lalla ... we reserved by phone and got all the information we needed. The small riad hotel
is located off Djema el Fna and is easy to find. The place is beautiful and the friends who accompanied us, first timers to Marrakech, werre
enchanted. The whole menue and the service throughout the night has been great. Very efficient and with a personal touch. The owner
inquired again and again whether everything was ok .... and it certainly was ... a perfect evening for us and on top of it very reasonably priced.
We will recommend the place that is for sure.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    19
    6
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We only ate here but the food, service and atmosphere are really something special. It's really luxurious and the food is incredible. Make sure you have a few dirhams to spare as it isn't cheap but definitely worth it for a special experience. It's worth a trip round the back alleys so don't give up on finding it........

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect intimate dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

On arrival at Casa Lalla we were met at the door by the doorkeeper who also turned out to be the waiter and the chef. We had let the restaurant know in advance that I am a pescetarian and they specifically provided a fish and vegetarian menu for myself and my partner. The personal treatment at the restaurant is the kind of service you rarely get anywhere and the food was absolutely delicious. It is expensive for Morroco but for four delicious courses absolutely worth it. The most interesting didh of all was the dessert which was a carpachio of pineapple with coriander - a combination which I would never have considered and tasted wonderful together. I have been to some Michelin starred restaurants in the UK that this restaurant tops. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Terrific Way to Spend an Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

After deciding on a Moroccan menu upon making the reservation, my sister and I navigated our way through the Jamaa and down some dark allies (with friendly locals showing us the way) to Casa Lalla.

The meal started with, what reminded me of samosas. The main dish was a Tangine where the flavors lept from my fork and I had to restrain myself from licking it clean. The meal finished with a beautiful melon ice cream and shaved pineapple with cumin. An altogether memorable meal.

The decor is clean and typical of Moroccan Riads and very quite and peaceful. We would not have found it if not for some local help but I recommend making Casa Lalla part of your Marrakesh trip.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, beautiful service, an absolute pleasure!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

The best tangine we tasted in Morocco!! Upon our arrival Pierre-Olivier greeted us and made us feel completely welcome. Any place that can transform the chaos of Marrakech into relaxing, tranquil haven deserves 10 stars in our eyes! If we ever end up in Marrakech again this will be the first place we go.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Lalla also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Casa Lalla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Lalla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.