We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant in the new town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Cafe de la Poste

Le Grand Cafe de la Poste
Angle Boulevard El Mansour Eddahbi | (behind the main Guéliz post office), Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-33038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #170 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $49
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ideally located in the heart of Gueliz, this elegant restaurant gets back in touch with the authentic living ambiences of Marrakesh. The decor is in complete harmony with the Moroccan culture: it offers a pub, Moorish, and colonial spirit. The Grand Cafe de la Poste offers a French cuisine with Mediterranean accents.
mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant in the new town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This place is what you need to find after looking for a so called new city... Cafe la Poste is a very pretty place nicely decorated and food is good. If you are around the area or planning to go to Yves Saint Laurent gardens its a good plan to have lunch here. The service is a bit slow but the place allows you to relax about time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    396
    153
    83
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Good food, great atmosphere. beautiful surrounding in Gueliz, the new part of Marrakech, worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Colonial Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This restaurant would not be out of place in colonial times. The decor is great and is matched by the food. The service could be improved but is not bad. Prices are reasonable given the quality of the food - approximately €100 for 3 courses for two and a bottle of local wine. Overall, a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwalm, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dine in colonial style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Beautiful interieur and outside dining in a French colonial mansion situated in the new quarter of Marrakech.
Classic French menu.
Good quality, pleasant service and acceptable prices.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Razor Clams to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My daughter and I were in Marrakech beginning of April and discovered this restaurant. We visited here each day for a week - 2 evening meals but the rest of the time either mint tea with complimentary biscuits or early evening cocktail with savoury biscuits.

You can sit outside on the terrace facing the street if you are having non alcoholic drinks or move into the inside terrace which is still fairly open to the outer area for a drink and you can eat here also. Next inside is the main restaurant and then upstairs to a bar and another bar upstairs from there. Everywhere is tastefully decorated in the French style.

Our first meal I had razor clams to start which I shared with my daughter which were in a sauce to die for. They were fantastic - then I tried the beef tartare which was really nice also (both of these were a first for me)
and my daughter had steak. That evening service was fantastic the waiter was there as soon as the water and wine glasses needed topping up and there was no long wait for the food. However our second visit for a meal which was our last evening the service was very very slow. I was going for the clams again and rack of lamb - neither was available. We had garlic snails to share for a starter but can't recall our mains. Anyhow the service that evening was slow and we refilled our own glasses which isn't a problem it just wasn't as good as the 1st meal service wise. My daughter actually did complain and they reduced the bill so hey no complaints there. I would certainly return if I went back to Morocco so would recommend you give it a try as the building and the staff are very pleasant but just a little bit slow.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe de la Poste also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Cafe de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.