We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, pleasant surroundings ..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Cafe de la Poste

Le Grand Cafe de la Poste
Corner of bd. El Mansour Eddahbi and av. Imam Malik | (behind the main Guéliz post office), Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
524 433 038
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 547 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, pleasant surroundings ..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Have a very good meal here.It was a special occasion so the prices fitted this. Excellent service in pleasant surroundings ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    286
    110
    68
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Overpriced, rude poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had heard a lot about this restaurant from some of our US Friends. The portions are small and the menu very limited. The prices are ridiculous and the service was horrible, took over an hour for us to get our appetizers. I write this as I hope the restaurant sees it. They did not seem to care less about taking care of us, nor apologize for their poor attitude or service. It is a really pretty place, I will say that about it, and a good location near the shopping area. Maybe it is better for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“People watching in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a great place to people watch..it has a wonderful atmosphere, great staff and above all delicious well cooked food. It is worth a visit even if you just fancy a coffee.
Situated in the central Marrakech it's a great point to recharge after a visit to this wonderful city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Would not return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Went to this resturant for dinner. The resturant itself was nice enough and the staff efficient, however, the food was terrible. My partner asked the waiter what sort of steak it was and was told fillet. When it came it was 85% fat. I ordered pasta and it was totally tasteless and it didn't seem fresh. I get more flavour and freshness from a ready meal in marks and spencers!! When we complained about the steak the waitress didnt seem to care so we asked for her manager. He eventually gave us the steak for free but his attitude was pretty poor and far from apologetic. Give this place a miss there are many other nice restaurants which are worth going to!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had high expectations of Cafe de la Poste in the New City of Marrakech after being told it is a popular spot for tourists and locals looking for a high end meal.
However, the quality of the food we had was very mixed and the service was very poor and inattentive. The main meal we had was awful and barely edible, clearly pre prepared with very little effort going into it. Our desert though was glorious , I enjoyed one of the best chocolate fondants I've ever had.
The slow service though and lack of any sight of joy on the staffs faces was a bit of a dampener. Didn't warrant the extortionate prices.
For those looking to real enjoy a nice meal out for an evening I wouldn't gamble with Cafe de la Poste. Instead, for great atmosphere and fun try Le Comptoire or for a simpler more old fashioned moroccan restaurant try Al Fassia Agdal, both of which are fantastic and were recommended by locals to us.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe de la Poste also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Cafe de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.