We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Cafe de la Poste

Le Grand Cafe de la Poste
Corner of bd. El Mansour Eddahbi and av. Imam Malik | (behind the main Guéliz post office), Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
524 433 038
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 541 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

its like Raffles in Singapore - very French colonial. Huge place, took quite a while to be served our drinks, but the wines we had by the glass were lovely. And a surprise was the free buffet that was available at sunset.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    283
    108
    65
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

A treat for our anniversary
2starters, 2main bottle of wine, desert less than £100 bit much for marrakech but this is a great looking restaurant with loads of open space feels like a converted warehouse.
Staff are polite, place very clean
Food good
;)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Forgettable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We couldn't get in to Jardin des Oranges, so our concierge recommended this place. Not a good suggestion. When you are not warmly greeted, when you are treated like a number -- or a tourist -- even the best food is disappointing (and this wasn't the best food). It is a cafe. A place to go for coffee or a light lunch. Decor is ordinary, but the waitress we had was truly cold and uninterested in us. Service was slow. Food was OK. Nothing at all memorable or remarkable, I'm afraid.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food less than acceptable and expensive.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This restaurant has been recommended by a friends habitué of Marrakesh, but with the exception of the internal colonial decor that remind me the movie Sheltering Sky, nothing else deserve the visit: The service is quite unprofessional and the food less than acceptable and expensive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britian
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was recommend this restaurant by a friend who had already been to Marrakech and pleased I listened. The restauarant is situated in the new town. The decor both inside and out is very colonial and stunning, the staff are friendly and efficient and even though we hadn't booked managed to find us a table.
The food was amazing and the menu was so good it was difficult to choose, definitely the best meal I had in Marrakech and would recommned to anyone who is planning a trip to Marrakech.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe de la Poste also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Cafe de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.