We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Grand Cafe de la Poste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Cafe de la Poste

Le Grand Cafe de la Poste
Angle Boulevard El Mansour Eddahbi | (behind the main Guéliz post office), Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5244-33038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $49
Cuisines: French, Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ideally located in the heart of Gueliz, this elegant restaurant gets back in touch with the authentic living ambiences of Marrakesh. The decor is in complete harmony with the Moroccan culture: it offers a pub, Moorish, and colonial spirit. The Grand Cafe de la Poste offers a French cuisine with Mediterranean accents.
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Le Grand Cafe de la Poste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had both lunch and dinner at this restaurant and were very impressed. Food, service and decor very good. Save some space for the desserts were are particularly good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    396
    153
    83
    62
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant but touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our fourth of fifth trip to this restaurant. It is handily situation to some good shopping areas and has marvellous decor. We booked for dinner but unfortunately (and our mistake) my husband was wearing smart shorts but not long trousers. They were very nice about it but would not allow us into the main dining area so we were allocated a table round the side of the restaurant and promptly forgotten. It took 45 mins to get a menu. We could hardly see it as it was so dark and had to resort to our iphones to read what was on offer. Food was delivered and then served without much care. Our daughter was ill for two days after but that could just be a co-incidence. Such a shame as this has always been on our list of places to visit each time we come go to Marrakech. I think next time we might give it a miss as there are lots of other places to see with equally good food at more competitive prices. It remains a great place for a drink. Hopefully just a one-off bad experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wasn't blown away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

2nd visit here.
We arrived at 8pm and it was quiet.They had however run out of the lamb and a few other dishes by this time which was disappointing as the resturant was quiet and it was a Tuesday night.
Wasn't blown away by the food service or atmosphere.This might be because we had a fantastic meal at Le Foundauk the night before and this would be hard to beat!
This wouldn't be in my top 5/6 places to dine in Marrakech but it was definitely ok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely meal in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Sited in the new town just a stones throw from the modern shopping area and the main city Post Office (obviously ...).

Lovely food in a French / Maroc style and deeply atmospheric in the evening (our only complaint would be that the candle-lit lighting was a little dim). Quite pricey for Marrakesh standards - but one is eating in the trendy new town !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent atmosphere, good food very poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The almosphere for which this place is renown as well as the quality of the food contrasts sharply with the very poor sevice we received on the last 3 occasions.
Clumsy attempt to advice on a wine the waitress had no clue....confusion between pate and foie gras (yes!!!) ...

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe de la Poste also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Cafe de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.