We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Grand Cafe de la Poste

Le Grand Cafe de la Poste
Corner of bd. El Mansour Eddahbi and av. Imam Malik | (behind the main Guéliz post office), Ville Nouvelle, Marrakech 40000 , Morocco
524 433 038
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French, Moroccan
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

French dining restaurant in Marrakech. Good location , great staff and fine food. Not very Moroccan but still a great evening out - could have been in Paris but without the surly waiters. Wine selection was good if expensive and the food was excellent. Slight nod to being Marrakech in the tajines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    232
    263
    107
    63
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic fusion of French and Moroccan in an elegant environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We went for my partners birthday in January 2013 and loved the restaurant so much we returned a couple of days later. Beautiful "Casablanca-style" plantation shutters with huge palour palms in an elegant building takes you back in time. The food was incredible and imaginative; try the prawn and monkfish tagine and the spider crab starter, apparently the steak was excellent as well. The wine was more than ample and reasonably priced with both Moroccan and French choices. The service was excellent and discrete. After dinner we went upstairs to the mezzanine bar and relaxed with an digestif. Would thoroughly recommend the whole experience or just go for a drink or cocktail (also fabulous) in the bar.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stylish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Not at all what I was led to expect from other reviews. It's in the new part of the city (which at night doesn't look that different from a European city). The restaurant is smart and stylish, looking like a modern French brasserie, a little like a contemporary version of Balthazar in New York.

Food itself was great, probably best described as French brasserie food with a Moroccan touch. Service was prompt, friendly and attentive. We shared a calamari starter and both had tasty beef skewers with a good bottle of wine which come to Dir800.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food and location in Gueliz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We sought out Grand Cafe de la Poste as we were exploring Gueliz and our guidebook said that it served good club-sandwiches!! After a few days of traditional Moroccan food we were feeling a little worse for wear from the night before and craving lemonade, salad and sandwiches in a chilled atmosphere-which is exactly what we got!!

The food was lovely and we had a nice time, it totally fitted the bill for us. We sat outside and watched the world go by but the inside decor is almost colonial - dark wood and ceiling fans. I would definitely recommend it as a lunch venue for Gueliz.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location but somewhat overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

A French brasserie in Marrakech. The menu reflects this as much as the decor. Arrived without a booking a little early (they open at 7.30PM) and told to hang on. However people were going in at that time. I suspect a regular clique (upstairs) get to go whenever they want. Food unobjectionable but a bit overpriced, as is the wine. The final bill worked out more than for either of the two very good restaurants we tried in Marrakech. In summary, I would not reject it, but be a bit more picky on the menu next time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Cafe de la Poste also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Grand Cafe de la Poste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Grand Cafe de la Poste, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.