We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit touristy, but great food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Essalam

Dar Essalam
170, Riad Zitoune El Kedim, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5244-43520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 606 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $11 - $45
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: N full heart of the medina where merges tradition and modernity, an authentic restaurant has several years of perfectly preserved history. DAR ESSALAM is the first moroccan restaurant in Marrakech since 1952, it's here that the Hitchcock's movie "the man knew too much " was filmed. Come and taste our refined moroccan cuisine.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A bit touristy, but great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you want to get off the beaten track and can't stand all that touristy stuff, then you should probably go elsewhere.

If you however, don't mind that you are only dining with other tourists, and don't mind the show, the music and the belly dancers, then you should give it a try. We loved it.

PS! If you don't want the show, you have the option of dining in the quiet room ( where a scene from Hitchcock's "The man who knew too much" was shot )

I don't think that a place being touristy necessarily means its not authentic. I am no expert on Moroccan culture and history, but to me Dar Essalam felt very authentic, and it made me wonder what the visitors from Europe or other distant places felt when they visited places like this centuries ago.

This, however, would not matter if the food wasn't any good. Luckily, the food was great, and the slow cooked beef, the Tanjia with cumin and safran, was absolutely amazing, and by far the best meal of our Marrakesh days.

I would say that the place is well worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    175
    98
    30
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Glad we dined here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Some friends & I were looking for a nice place to eat in Marrakech and we decided to eat at Dar Essalam, primarily due to its having been featured in a 1950's Alfred Hitchcock movie: "The Man Who Knew Too Much". It did not disappoint. The decor was spectacular with beautiful mosaic tiles everywhere. The food was very good, although a tad bit expensive for N. Africa. But the free entertainment made it absolutely worthwhile. There were musicians playing typical music from Morocco and then a belly dancer entertained everyone while we dined. After that, another dancer came out with a candelabra perched on her head. She performed some amazing moves on stage, all the while supporting this huge candelabra on her head. The place is a bit loud due to the music and restaurant patrons cheering on the entertainers but hey, it was lots of fun and definitely was a memorable experience. I'm sure I won't find a candelabra dancer back home in downtown Phoenix.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A tourist restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

You won't find any locals here, but the food is good, and they have a belly dancer show. Hitchcock's "the Man Who Knew too Much" had a scene filmed here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a lovely interesting place. Set price menu but you had choices in each category which was good. Green olives were spicy but delicious! The show was very good with the first belly dancer dancing with a tray of candles on her head! Then you had the musicians who were good and finally another belly dancer. It was a very enjoyable evening and the staff were excellent. The restuarant was very comfortable too.The food was good too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Hitchcock restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Dar Essalam lives up to its reputation and maintains its quality. Good price for the set menu and prompt service throughout with the waiters always providing a fun element to their work. Good floor show of Gnawa and Arab musicians, tray dancer and bellydancer. Always popular helped by the 'Hitchbock connection' so booking is advisable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Essalam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Essalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Essalam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.