We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner for 2” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Essalam

Dar Essalam
170, Riad Zitoune El Kedim, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 5244-43520
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 548 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $51
Cuisines: African, Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The first moroccan restaurant in Marrakech since 1952 ,here Winston Churchill , charles trenet , alfred Hitchcock apreciated refinements of true moroccan cuisine, accompanied with arabic songs and oriental dancer.
St. George, Bermuda
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Dinner for 2”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was a lovely interesting place. Set price menu but you had choices in each category which was good. Green olives were spicy but delicious! The show was very good with the first belly dancer dancing with a tray of candles on her head! Then you had the musicians who were good and finally another belly dancer. It was a very enjoyable evening and the staff were excellent. The restuarant was very comfortable too.The food was good too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    120
    84
    28
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Hitchcock restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Dar Essalam lives up to its reputation and maintains its quality. Good price for the set menu and prompt service throughout with the waiters always providing a fun element to their work. Good floor show of Gnawa and Arab musicians, tray dancer and bellydancer. Always popular helped by the 'Hitchbock connection' so booking is advisable.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“old beautiful palace avarage quality of food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had dinner in the restaurant Dar Es Salaam with my wife and unfortunately we were the only couple in the middle of large noisy groups. We appreciated the nice old palace but we cannot say the same about our meal and about the atmosphere. Pretty average quality the food and cheap atmosphere.
Taking into account that Marrakech offers a large choice of great and sofisticated restaurants i would rate this one with 3 point only.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A good meal but I don't know the cost.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This restaurant is used by group tours and we visited as part of a Thomson Holidays (UK) tour. We were the only people in the restaurant but this may be associated with the time of our visit.

The meal was very good and in fact was one of the best we have ever had on a group tour. We had mixed starters, chicken tagine, cous cous and finally orange with cinnamon. I do not know the cost of the meal but drinks were very reasonable as a bottle of water was 25 Dinar.

The atmosphere was pleasant and the toilets were spotless

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
“Tasty food and excellent entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The food was tasty, although not as good as in out Riad (Jona) - the mixed moroccan salads were by far the best dish our group had. The entertainment (and the intricate and elaborate decorations) are the highlight of this place. Try to book into the main room if you plan to go

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Essalam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Essalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Essalam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;