We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Essalam

Dar Essalam
170, Riad Zitoune El Kedim, Marrakech, Morocco
212-0-24 44 35 20
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great history, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Wonderful place to visit and the food is well good value for money and delicious.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    106
    111
    80
    27
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We went on a shore excursion from the MSC Splendida to Marrakech and stopped at this restaurant for lunch. The food was served family style and was so different from American cuisine that it was an adventure in eating and it was fun! The chicken was very good and the bread was good, so there is something for everyone to eat (other foods were all vegetarian). The highlight was the dancing/balancing waitress with the tray of lit candles on her head and the band! There was another belly dancer, too. I have no idea prices, because it was included on the excursion, but I highly recommend the Marrakech visit and would go back again, especially to this restaurant. The restaurant is a very beautiful old palace near the souk and medina and Bahia Palace.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mouthwatering food with exceptional service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I loved this Restaurant. The food was impeccible - Tagine is very popular in Marrakech and the lemon and Chicken Tagine here did not disappoint me. There simply isn't a bad word to say about this restaurant. Moustafa the Director/Owner showed us around after we had eaten and everyone had left - There is a lot more to this wonderful building than the Marjane lounge that we were in. The attention to detail is stunning. It's set in a 17th Century palace and it still looks and feels like a palace. There was one waiter with us all night and his service was excellent. Half way through our dinner, the music got noisier, the whole restaurant started clapping and before you knew it we were all swinging red napkins above our heads while a few of the waiters started to dance. It's no surprise that James Stewart, Dorris Day, Alfred Hitchcock and Sean Connery have all eaten here.

You can't beat this place - There's no point trying. We reccommended this to a few of the people we met on the way. The bill was about £35-£40 a head. But in all honesty, if it come back to me at double that, i still wouldn't be disappointed.

If you want authenticity, fantastic service, majestic setting and a warm welcoming feeling on entry, look no further. I look forward to going back and meeting Moustafa and his staff again soon.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, excellent service, food so so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Dar essalam is very established so we had to try. This was once a palace, beautiful decor, many rooms which we got to tour thanks to one of the waiters. The belly dancers were entertaining, but nothing amazing, the food was probably made too traditional because we thought it had way too many spices for our liking. But the service was nicely done, all the waiters had their personalities and we laughed a lot with them.

Dar Essalam: go for the setting, the simple entertainment, the service, but not so much for the food. We would have giving 3 stars, but the waiters were a delight, that was worth 1 star by itself.

Bon appetit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Touristic”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Very touristic and expensive. Food just so so. Lovely setting, but I wouldn't suggest having a meal there.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Essalam also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Dar Essalam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Essalam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.