We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Marrakech 8th - 12th October 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Sholmes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dar Sholmes to your Saves list
Dar Sholmes
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Oasis in Marrakech 8th - 12th October 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent stay at Riad Dar Sholmes, arriving late evening on our first visit to Morocco. The taxi got us as far as possible where we were met by Hassan, the manager. He lead us through the maze of alleyways to the peaceful oasis that is Dar Sholmes.

Once the cases were left in the rooms which were very comfortable, Hassan walked us to the main square Jemmaa el Fna pointing out various restaurants as we passed.

After a good nights sleep breakfast was served, all good fare.

Hassan also recommended places to visit all which proved interesting. He also made reservations for us in an excellent restaurant in Gueliz.

He and his staff made our 4 night stay a pleasure. This riad is value for money giving the visitor a real feel of Marrakech.

We would most definitely stay here again

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms, 2 on the ground floor and 4 on the first which we preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
135
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

We stayed here for 1 week in August as a last minute holiday destination. The Riad is located through a series of alleys in the old town area.

Its a great location, very quiet after a long hot day in the busy areas of Marrakech.

Hassan and his staff were great and helped us a lot and made our stay very comfortable.

We would highly recommend staying at Dar Sholmes, we had no complaints at all, thank you Hassan.

Its close to the main square - Jemaa al Fna and easy access to other close landmarks and tourist attractions.

The room was excellent, clean, comfy beds, perfect lighting etc.

We very much enjoyed our short stay and if we ever return we will stay at Dar Sholmes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

From the moment I was met in the medina by Hafid and guided through the maze of alleys in the old medina, to meeting Hassan at the Dar's entrance, I knew that I had selected the right location for my first stay in Morocco. Dar Sholmes was just what I was looking for to help create an authentic experience. In the last month, I stayed there on two occasions - once for five nights by myself and the second time with my daughter for three nights. Both times, Hassan and Hafid made my (our) stay an incredible one. On one occasion, Hafid delivered my clothes to a local laundry and later picked them up for me. On another, Hassan walked with me to the train station so I could purchase train and bus tickets to other Morocco cities. I loved watching the World Cup games with the two of them. I liked the location in the medina. It's about a 15 minute (easy) walk to Jemaa el Fna and the souks area. I had two different rooms because of the two stays. Both rooms were clean, had very comfortable beds, lighting was good, water temp and pressure were great. Rooms are not large; however, they were a comfortable size. I had dinner at the Dar on two occasions. Both times it was delicious and reasonably priced. Breakfast was delivered shortly after I climbed to the roof deck in the morning by Hafid. He could hear me moving about. It was delicious and enough food - orange juice, mint tea (or coffee), crepes with butter and jam, bread, fresh fruit, yogurt. Marrakech is a very hectic city. The Dar Sholmes was my oasis away from all of the craziness. It was so relaxing to come back to at the end of a long sightseeing day and/or dinner out with the crowds. Will definitely return on my next trip to Marrakech. Thanks very much to Hassan and Hafid.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the rooms on the 1st floor best. That's the middle of the three floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My family stayed here in June 2014 and I can’t praise the riad, or the staff, highly enough. The manager, Hassan, went out of his way to be accommodating. He was welcoming, friendly, helpful and patient and dealt impeccably with our large and diverse group. Hassan’s staff were also exceptionally good. They worked hard to ensure that we all had what we needed and no request was too big.

Separately, and upon request, Hassan arranged a private party for us and guests on the roof of the riad. The end result went well beyond our expectations – the setting, décor, staff and food were all fantastic and his and his team’s efforts ensured that the evening was special and memorable.

One of the other reviews mentions a change in management and issues resulting from this. I just want to add that we too made our booking under the previous management. Hassan, the new manager, made a real effort to ensure that our stay was not impacted by the change and I can honestly say we had no issues arising from the change.

The riad is excellent value for money and I have no hesitation in recommending it – it is a charming place, in a great location and with a brilliant team to support it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We had an excellent stay at Dar Sholmes - from the moment we arrived Hassan (the manager) gave us lots of useful information, and couldn't do enough to help us - for example ringing about 5 different hotels to ask about using their swimming pool! The other staff were great also, particularly the younger guy who was always on hand to make us delicious mint tea.

Our room was great and cleaned immaculately every day, we especially liked the decor of the bathroom and the bathrobes thrown in. We also enjoyed the rooftop hot tub in the evening.

The riad is a short walk through a busy part of town to the main square, a good distance just far enough from the madness of the souks.

Thanks to all at Dar Sholmes for a great stay, and we are sorry we left too early to say goodbye to Hassan!

Highly recommended, and by far the best riad we stayed at in Marakech (out of three!)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We booked this Riad on the basis of reviews in Trip Adviser but some of these seem to be through rose coloured glasses.
There has been a change of management and as a result the Riad had lost all details of our booking and we were not met at the airport as promised. We took a taxi which dropped us at the end of the alley way to the Riad. The taxi driver did not know how to get to the Riad and so some local lads showed us the way through a long and winding alley way. Arriving about 10pm Hassan greeted us and explained he did not know we were coming but luckily a room was kept for these emergencies!! No food was available only coke and water....nothing else We were not booked into the Riad during our stay (4 nights) so there is no record of our presence other than payment of the final invoice
Overall the Riad is pleasant enough but not exceptional. The room (2) to which we were eventually allocated on the first floor was good; clean and tidy, with some nice touches such as bathrobes and nice toiletries; however, the safe did not work and as noted by a previous reviewer hot water was variable. We did eat one meal in the Riad which was average and the price of a bottle of wine was excessive (not available by the glass). Service is the hotel was pleasant but minimal. Breakfasts were OK not exceptional. Internet service is variable depending where you are in the Riad
The trip to the main Square is some distance along the twists and turns of the alley way and a side road before hazardous crossings of main highways to the Koutoubia Mosque and Jemaa el-Fna Square (about 1km).
By contrast, the Riad we stayed at in Essaouira for a similar price was, except for the room, far superior in every respect; service, location, food (exceptional breakfasts and evening meal) and facilities.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor open onto the dining area and cannot be pleasant or private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urdorf, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed at this riad at the end of our Marocco trip. The Dar Sholmes was easily the best Riad we stayed in Marocco. The staff was very friendly, open and helpfull. The rooms were clean and tidy. There is a mobile phone in the room! I find this a very cool idea. Food was marvelous.

We recommended this place to all our friends travelling to Marakech, a place not to miss!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Sholmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.