We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Sholmes

Save Saved
You added Dar Sholmes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dar Sholmes
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #24 of 1,031 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Such a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I could write a million reasons you should stay at Riad Dar Sholmes when you visit Marrakech, but the ones that stick out the most are the genuine and sincere kindness and care of the entire staff, the willingness to give so much of their personal time, and the obvious pride they have for the establishment which reflects through the cleanliness, décor and overall amazing vibe of this Riad! Hassan, Hafid and Souhail made sure every need was met. We never had to ask for anything twice, and the lovely girls who work there are supremely talented in the art of housekeeping and Moroccan cuisine. Our room was spotless every day when we returned, our items folded and hung in the closet…and the food here is something you can’t miss. You have to eat here at least once during your stay, you will not regret it! Don’t forget to try some of the Moroccan wine...The location is perfect, in a very quiet, secluded residential area full of very friendly people. Not too far from the square, but not too close either (yes, there is such a thing as too close if you enjoy sleeping at night – it is pretty noisy in Marrakech!). I feel like we made some very special friends here, who treated us as more than just guests, and can’t recommend this Riad enough. When we return to Marrakech (which we certainly will!), this is where you’ll find us :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    225
    14
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
120
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here for a couple of nights when we arrived in Morocco. Luc was extemely helpful arranging transfers and with information. We ate in the Riad on the first night which, while not cheap, was easily the best meal we had the whole week and very much worth it. Breakfast on the roof terrace was lovely. Location quiet but safe and only five-ten mins from the hustle and bustle. Highly recommended and thanks to Luc and all at Dar Sholmes for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I love this place. The staff is warm and welcoming, the food is delicious and the service is top quality. I will not only miss Marrakesh, I will also miss Hassan, Hafid, Souheil and the lovely women who's named I do not know. This is the only riad I will come back to in this memorable city. Thanks, Shokrun, Merci Dar Sholmes!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment we walked through the lovely entrance we knew we had chosen well. Dar Sholmes was the Moroccan experience we had hoped for in every way. The walk through the neighborhood and alleys after being picked up at the airport and driven as far as we could be was exactly as exciting as we had read about and looked forward to. The riad was romantic in decor, the mint tea ready for our arrival and the staff as helpful as we needed. The location was perfect for our exploring nature and gave us a feeling of being away from the tourists but close enough to walk to the tourist attractions. Sara, our hostess, even walked with us to be sure we were oriented to our location. After two full days of sight seeing locally and enjoying wonderful breakfasts and dinners on the rooftop of the riad I fell and needed medical attention. Luc,the owner of the riad took immediate control of the situation, got us to a first rate clinic where I received excellent care for my broken arm. We are so grateful to both the staff at the hospital and the riad and especially Luc for treating us like family and attending to my every need. Even before my fall we felt the attention we received above expectation. After two days of rest and great care from everyone at Dar Sholmes and personal attention from Luc, Sara and Suede we were able to continue our exploration of Morocco by train and hired car and driver. We can not say thank you enough to Luc and staff and even the other guests for the wonderful care we received and for the memories we created through our stay at Dar Sholmes. Thank you Luc, Sara and Suede for all you did!! Stayed as a couple, March 7th, 2014.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our four day weekend in Marrakesh was made all the more enjoyable by knowing that each evening we were returning to this comfortable Bed & Breakfast. The room was a good size and very cosy, with a comfortable bed and a clean and large bathroom. The breakfasts were freshly-made and very filling - something different everyday from traditional French to Moroccan and Berber! The roof-terrace can be enjoyed all day - whilst eating your breakfast you can be warmed by the first rays of sunshine through til the evening when you can hear the music from Jamaa al Fna and the evening call to prayer. It’s also equipped with a Jacuzzi which we unfortunately did not have time to enjoy! The interior of the rhiad is spacious, very peaceful and well decorated with good lighting in the rooms. Although there is a little walk from the main road this part of the Medina is considerably less worrying than other parts of the city. The attentive staff are very friendly and always ready to help, answer any queries and give advice, not to mention they all speak very good French and English. They arranged for someone to pick us up and drop us off at the airport. They also offered to organize day excursions but given the limited time we decided there was enough to see in Marrakesh. Last but not least we had the chance to enjoy a delicious dinner prepared specially for us in the romantic patio setting. If we were to return to Marrakesh there is no doubt that we would choose the Riad Dar Sholmes! Thanks again to the team who were great hosts!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Dar Sholmes really deserves all the positive reviews and hype. The service from Luc and his fantastic team is first class, where they do everything to make you feel at home. Our room was spotless, tastefully decorated and so comfortable whilst the riad itself is beautiful and a calming retreat from the bustling Medina. Breakfast was plentiful and fresh, served at whatever time you wished by the attentive staff.

Thanks to Luc for arranging pick-up transportation, purchasing our coach tickets to Essaouria and taking us to the station himself! A great host who really pays attention to detail and makes his guests feel so welcomed. Highly recommended for a great experience in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for the comment Emily, We do our best to bring you all the comfort and give you back your confidence .We were very happy to receive you in our small house. My entire team is dedicated during your stay in your well being, which is our priority.
I keep staying your wonderful smiles and good humor.
So until you comeback to Marrakech, one day....... take care of yourself and continue to make beautiful trips.
Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

...but Dar Sholmes was a surprising disappointment. Sohail was really friendly, and Luc seemed like a nice guy, but he seemed to have so little time for us (and was clearly the only one running the show) that we were left feeling kind of neglected. A simple question about booking a coach ticket was left unanswered until 11pm the night before we were due to leave (Sohail walked into our room to tell us, while we were already asleep in bed!).
That might not bother you, but how about only having hot water for about 5 minutes at a time? Or a room whose door opens onto a couple's breakfast table? We had quite a small room for the money we were paying - although size isn't everything, of course - and it was looking a little rough round the edges, considering the praise lavished upon it in other reviews. It is also tricky to find, and down a dim alleyway, which may well be safe, but isn't too much fun to walk back to late at night.
Sorry guys, but having subsequently stayed somewhere much nicer - with a more genuine hospitality - for around the same price, it seems it is possible to have a bad experience here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comment. We are my team and I like sponges , we restore what we receive . I guarantee a state of mind in the riad Sholmes , which is us after a little over a year and two hundred comments, praise from our " customers."
I obviously regret that you keep your stay with us as a bitter taste ..... A riad is not a hotel, but a guest house, where everyone has the pleasure to meet in mutual respect .
Souhail , as you pointed out in your room is entered , it was 9PM , he was convinced that you were out , as you had told him earlier . It would do its job : Prepare your room for the night , as we do for all our customers ...... who enjoy this service. He apologized and I renewed myself to apologize the next day, before driving you personally and free to the bus station ......... I'm a good guy ....... but coming from so young and already so sad ......
Our neighborhood is quiet and so sure , maybe the choice of the Medina of Marrakech was not suited to your level requirement .......... You have my email and I invite you to contact me so that you can provide me guidance and advice , which we will get better .....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 1,031 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Sholmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.