We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Sholmes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Sholmes to your Saves list
Dar Sholmes
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 1,135 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

The owner, Luc, told us to feel at home, and we did. His friendly staff made us feel welcome, and we really enjoyed our stay. Marrakech is a world apart from anything we knew, and we came to love it.
The riad is close enough to the 'big square' (nobody calls it by its official name, at least not to tourists) to allow for an easy walk, and if you're tired of the noise, just ask any taxi to drop you off at the hospital (the entrance is close to the riad). Brilliant location, beautiful night sky, great view from the rooftop terrace.
Did I mention the outstanding staf that took care of our every need, and that served us good breakfasts and meals? Luc, you've got a wonderful place, and your insights and tips helped us enormously throughout our five-day stay in Marrakech. Personal attention, eye for detail and a healthy dose of humour. Loved it!
Completely justified high ranking on every site you find this riad!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, no noise whatsoever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    21
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
146
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my husband and 6 freinds for 4 nights in this lovely Riad, Luc and his fantastic team looked after us very well nothing was too much trouble, they made our last night memorable arranging a Moroccan evening of music and belly dancing, with delicious food and wine
We made full use of the facilities, the hot tub was a great hit!
The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious and beautifully decorated, with lovely robes, fluffy towels and nice touches like water and dried fruit
Breakfast was plentiful and varied , nothing to fault
The Riad is within easy walking distance of the Souks and we rather enjoyed the alleyways and local life, at no point did we feel unsafe in Marrakech,
Luc was the perfect host , ordering taxis, Recommending restaurants and best of all arranging the most amazing Hamman for us all, a must try in Marrackech!
Would highly recommend Dar Shlomes, and would happily rebook to stay there again!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This riad is a beautiful place to stay in Marrakech. The staff were very kind and helpful. They offered us tea and delicious biscuits several times. We particularly loved having our breakfast on the rooftop each morning. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Even before you arrive in Marrakech, the staff is preparing your stay. They help you to organize transportation from any point of the city. The smalls and busy streets to get to the Riad are misleading, but when you get there, you are welcome by the friendly staff, especially Luc and Sara. The Riad is well decorated in every detail. The rooms are fantastic! Everything you could ask for in Marrakech. The breakfast is really nice and you can take it whenever you want. The hotel provides you with a cell phone, which can be really helpful when you do not know the language. The roof has a great view over the city and has a Jacuzzi. Unfortunately, I went during winter and did not use it. But I can’t wait to go back. And if I do, I will definitely stay at dar Sholmes.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

A fantastic experience staying here! The Riad itself is exquisitely decorated, attention has been paid the minutest detail, from the shawls on the terrace sunbeds to the lovely fluffy towels in the rooms. Our room was beautiful, very nice to come back to after having spent the day walking round the chaos of Marrakech. The courtyard/dining area is a treat to eat in and wonderful to relax in; although this space is quite small we felt at ease relaxing here in close proximity to other guests who were using the area. Breakfast was of a very high quality and having extra warm, fresh bread was never too much trouble for the very friendly and welcoming staff. Luc is an incredible host, he is warm, generous, informative and will go out of his way to ensure that guests have the best possible experience. Thank you!

Room Tip: They're all brilliant - although go for one on the first floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were absolutely thrilled with our stay here. The staff were very helpful, efficient, and friendly. Luc the owner and Sara the Manager were most charming. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with top quality toiletries. Breakfast was amazing and really set you up for the day ahead. The location couldn't have been better, only 10 minutes walk from the center in a quiet residential area. Will definitely stay again next year and can't wait.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Everything in this riad is perfect and the people who is working there as well! I will come back to this riad the next time for sure! The room amaizing and very clean, perfect breakfast! And relaxing jacuzzi after the long day in marrakech You dont feel like in a normal hotel is like a family!!! Thank you to the great people who make that dream possible. :). L&M

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 659 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Villa des Orangers
La Villa des Orangers
#28 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#1 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 480 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,135 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Sholmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.