We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Sholmes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dar Sholmes to your Saves list
Dar Sholmes
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 1,065 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was by far one of the best Riad's we stayed at in Morocco. The rooms were very clean, spacious, and well decorated. The owner, Luc, went out of his way to make our stay feel comfortable. The rest of the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was served either on the terrace or in the dining area with a beautiful fountain. Location was good but not great, but this can be overlooked. Overall the owner, staff made our stay very comfortable. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Google Translation
Oui nous en faisons beaucoup pour nos clients. Car votre confort et votre bien être sont notre priorité.
Nous vous rendons à notre manière la confiance que vous nous avez donné en choisissant le Dar Sholmes.
Alors si il est vrai que 10 petites minutes qui nous séparent de la place Jemaa el Fna, cela nous permet de vivre dans un quartier familial, où l'on croise les sourires de ses habitants, ce qui fait du quartier Sidi Mimoun un endroit de paix et de bien être au coaur de la médina.
Je tiens à vous remercier de votre confiance et de votre amitié. Luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
135
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After 3 hours flight we got out of the plane and an almost unbearable heat gave us a first welcome to Marrakech.
After a never ending immigration registration at the airport Luc and Sara were there waiting for us with a deluxe van to accompany us to the Riad Sholmes. We were not even allowed to touch our own luggage.

Within a 10 minutes drive we reached the medina. It was hot and through some narrow streets of the Medina we reached the Riad.

Roberta with a team of staff welcomed us and invited us to accommodate on the comfortable couches in the patio of the Riad. It was a strance sensation, still being tired of the trip and overwhelmed by first Marrakech impressions. They served us fresh water and mint tea with fresh pastries and cookies. We fully enjoyed the air conditioning and the soft lounge music.Meantime our suitcases were being brought already to our room.
We sat on the couch for sometime and it felt special. It felt comfortable and like home.

We accommodated in our room which was beautiful. Moroccan luxury design, spacious and clean. Lots of details like high quality lotions, soaps and shampoos, complimentary dates, more cookies and fresh fruit. A moroccan cell phone at disposal for each guest! High quality silk curtains and bed linen, spacious wardrobe, with safety deposit box. Lots of fresh towels and wardrobes. The room was just perfect.

Dinner? We decided to have dinner in the Riad the first night. Served in the patio next to the fountain. A five star deluxe service and a delicious moroccan cuisine. Excellent wine and perfect service, and very inexpensive!

After dinner we were tired and what could Luc do better then inviting us to use the refreshing Jacuzzi on the roof terrace?

After an excellent night sleep a delicious breakfast served on the roof terrace.

We stayed there the first 2 nights of our morocco trip. After Marrakech we made a 10 days round trip through Morocco from the south to the north and back. It was not easy with a temperature of 50 degrees celsius. We slept in different nice Riads and hotels, but we could not help getting homesick to Dar Sholmes and towards the end of the trip we were extremely happy to get back to Luc and Roberta at and their Ryad.

So we spent another 4 nights at Dar Sholmes. Each time we got back from outside we felt like coming home. All the staff greeted and hugged us, brought us drinks and were always eager to know about our daily trips.

Travelling is great, good accommodation is important. We travelled a lot and if I have to rank all the hotels Dar Sholmes is number one!

It is extremely clean, room get redone more than once each day.

The location is perfect, in the middle of the Medina and next to the Royal Palace.

The rooms and public spaces are beautiful, stylish and extremely comfortable.

Breakfast is excellent, fresh and varies every day.

Dinner is fantastic, served in an elegant way next to the fountain, delicious moroccan cuisine served with fantastic wines.

The staff is fantastic, and specially Luc and Roberta. Luc is a caring person and does EVERYTHING to for fill the needs of the guests!

Thank you Luc, thank you Roberta, thanks to the staff, an unforgettable stay!

Paulus and Antonio

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, one a big more spacious than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
What is a dream? this is certainly something very nice that we want to live in reality .......
My dream is that each customer spend with us privileged and unforgettable moments ......
It is for this reason that we decided to open our guest house ..... This is why the team of Dar Sholmes is working hard to give you back your friendship and trust. .....
It is for this reason that the hotelier that I am is so proud and happy to bring you all the comfort that you hope to find when you come in the riad.
As if by magic, we are together and the times we spent together become true moments of happiness and a lot of trouble to leave ......
Thank you to you for giving us and your friendship and trust ..........
I embrace you ... luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Riad Dar Sholmes has exceeded all our expectations. It is truly the best place we have ever stayed at and I wholeheartedly recommend it for everyone who wants to make the best out of Marrakesh visit. Luc and his team provided us very warm welcome and soft landing in Morocco. Anything you could possibly wish for can be arranged by Luc (car renting, spa..). They will go an extra mile to make your stay as cosy as possible. Rooms and interiors are stunningly beautiful and clean and atmosphere enchanting. It's a 5* with style and soul.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for this great comment, which punctuates your stay with us. We had so much pleasure to share these moments with you.
The riad Dar Sholmes is a human scale, our goal is to do everything to make your stay a memorable one .....
I am very proud and glad you enjoyed our riad ...... our commitment is to provide you quality service, but also to get in our way your trust and friendship.
The quality of care, quality of service, I watch over everything, so that is your total. This is my priority and that is your pleasure.
I just hope to see you again very soon and in the meantime I both kiss you. Luc



















































































Google Traduction pour les entreprises :Google Kit du traducteurGadget TraductionOutil d'aide à l'export









Désactiver la traduction instantanéeÀ propos de Google TraductionMobileConfidentialitéAideEnvoyer des commentaires

























Cliquer ici pour apporter des modifications et voir d'autres traductions
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

After staying in several riads throughout Morocco, I can say without any hesitation that Dar Sholmes is absolutely exceptional. The riad is perfectly located, in a quiet neighborhood a 5-10 minute walk from the heart of Marrakech. Luc and Sarah are the most welcoming of hosts, who we now regard as wonderful friends. In addition to personally showing us around the surrounding neighborhood and the Place Jemma Fna, they organized a session at a fantastic hammam (spa), helped us pay non-tourist prices in the nearby souk by accompanying us on our shopping trip, arranged transport for us, gave us indispensable advice for the rest of our travels, etc. The rest of the staff at Dar Sholmes are lovely as well, and couldn't be more helpful or friendly. In addition to the incredible hospitality, the riad itself is wonderful -- a picturesque courtyard with a fountain is surrounded by tastefully appointed, spacious rooms. Everything has been recently redone - the bathrooms in particular have a luxurious quality. Upon arriving, we were served complimentary mint tea and led to our room (which Luc upgraded for us on a complimentary basis as they were not at full capacity). In addition to the beautiful rooms/courtyard, the terrace is a lovely spot to sit and enjoy breakfast, have great wine hand-picked by Luc during the evenings, or relax in the jacuzzi. Our last night at the riad, we decided to dine in-house with a few other people we had met who were also staying there. This couldn't have been a better choice - the food was fantastic (great tagine and couscous, as well as delicious desserts made on site), and the service was akin to that of a high-quality restaurant. In general the service at Dar Sholmes is five stars, on par with or even surpassing that of the fanciest hotels due to the personal warmth and welcome you also receive. Our stay in Morocco was highly memorable and relaxing mostly due to Dar Sholmes, Luc, and Sarah. I can't recommend this place more.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We shared with you moments that go beyond the hotel business.
Thank you for your friendship and trust. We are a lot of who receive customers in Morocco, and many are great qualities. As you point out, our priority is your comfort and well-being, and I am very happy and proud that you keep us a beautiful picture.
Paloma, I want you to know that all those times we spent together will always remain in our hearts.
Your friendship, your kindness, your smile, your laughter, are forever etched in our minds.
I sincerely hope that you will return one day to see us in Marrakech ...... maybe you are three, unless either side of Chicago, we met ...... .
I wish you a beautiful new facility in your new city, in your new life ..... and we kiss you ........ luc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A mix of old world charm, phenomenal hosting, friendly detailed service, luxurious comfort, amazing food and gentle friendly class. Luc and his team have a welcoming environment that beats the fanciest hotels. Marrakech may be an amazing place but this brought it up a notch. Set in a friendly and safe neighborhood, you will be amazed from when the door opens to when you leave. After a long trip in many hotels, I was fortunate to finish here, in peace and comfort. I cant wait to return and bring friends. My only problem was I was there for business and this is a very romantic spot, although I can imagine kids having a great time too.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc b, Gérant at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Your reception, was a huge challenge for our riad. Branch of a large company with us, was a great challenge for us, cause you're used to big hotels. You did us the honor to give us your trust and your friendship very quickly. I am very pleased that you keep your stay at Dar Sholmes a beautiful memory. Of course we wait to see you can be with your family in our small house. Your kindness, your good humor are all these past moments, are part of our history now. Thank you for this great comment, that affects us a lot ........ soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatton, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Everything about this riad is exceptional. The rooms are beautifully appointed, very clean and so spacious. The location is perfect - close to everything and yet still so peaceful. Luc, the owner went out of his way to make me feel comfortable and relaxed, personally meeting me to guide me to the riad and then organizing a fantastic tour to Ourika for me. The rest of the team, Siham, Miriam, Betty and Soued all went out of their way to welcome me and all of their friendly attention to all that i could possibly have wanted was just fantastic. From the rose strewn fountain in the dining area to the lovely terrace overlooking the Koutoubia Mosque it is a truly beautiful riad and Luc and his team made my stay a magical one. Truly outstanding.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
As it was difficult to receive you in our small riad, you who come from an also big country and finaly, it was very easy because your heart is as big as your country .......
The moments spent with you were all real moments of happiness, your joy of life that you shared with all riad, your kindness, your laughter are now part of the history of our riad ..
Thank you for everything you gave us, thank you for giving us even more desire to go see your big country ....... See you soon Australia ......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

spent 4 unforgettable days with a group of friends and enjoyed every single aspect of the experience. Luc is a host like no others... one night for example we were on the terrace chatting at 4 in the morning looking out to the lights of the minaret and without us even asking Luc just brought us a complementary plate of watermelon and dates.... the staff is also unique, very kind and eager to help and happy to serve breakfast or improvise a moroccan meal on the terrace at any time on a moment's notice. Also we felt at ease leaving all our doors unlocked with money, cellphones and whatnot just laying around. the location is stunning, it is in the heart of the medina, a magical intricate mesh of tiny alleys where the authentic moroccan life takes place, and full of incredibly friendly children playing. 5 minutes walk and you are in the heart of Marrakech, with snake enchanters ,drum circles and all the energy in the world filling the air.
I would return in a heartbeat, for a holiday with the guys or a family outing.
In fact i am a bit nostalgic just thinking about it

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luc b, Propriétaire at Dar Sholmes, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for your friendship, thank you for your trust. We need you much more than hospitality. I am very pleased that your stay with us is a special moment for you. Know that we keep this trip so special and what we can do, is not too much compared to the thousands of kilometers you made to join us,for your stay in our riad. You know that we are waiting for you, when you want, when you can............
Thank you very much and see you soon ........ kisses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,065 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Sholmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.