We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeling at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Sholmes

Save Saved
You added Dar Sholmes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dar Sholmes
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 1,053 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“feeling at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

With my wife and daugher we spent few days over new years' eve at Darsholmes. Well believe me when I say we shed tears from our eyes when we had to leave. Luc and his collaborators made us feeling at home since the very first moment we stepped in Darsholmes or even before since he picked us up at the airport! We stayed also on top five starred hotels in Dubai, South Africa and various other places but we have never felt so welcomed and at ease like here. Everything was just so perfect and even "tailored" to our needs that we are surely coming back soon! Luc also arranged for us a couple of daily excursion with reliable drivers which went very well as well. Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
134
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My close friends and I headed to Marrakesh by train from Casablanca. Three women, two of us new to Morocco, we decided to stay at Riad Dar Sholmes because of a recommendation from a friend.

Our stay was incredible and made so memorable because of Riad Dar Sholmes and its staff. Luc the owner picked us up at the train station and drove us personally to the Riad. The staff, Luc and his wife were always there helping to personally guide us to all of the unique and beautiful places in Marrakesh. Riad Dar Sholmes is such a special place not only because of its amenities and the beautiful design of the Riad, but because of the people that work there.

Everyone on the staff made us feel welcome and took care of us as if we were in the home of a dear friend. The intimate setting with the open to the sky patio, lovely bedrooms, delicious food and sun-filled roof deck made it our oasis. I plan to go back to Marrakesh and will stay there again because of the memorable experience, made unique by the connection to the lovely and warm people that make Riad Dar Sholmes special.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I have been two days in Marrakech with a privilege of staying in this Riad, where we feel like being at home. It has Confortable rooms with a traditional breakfast of Their country wich I give them five stars. They are Nice people and they have a good terrace for a happy hour!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I dont even know where to start...we had such an amazing time at the Dar Sholmes! I do not think our trip to Marrakech would have been as delightful if we had stayed some place else.

We were picked up from the train station at 8am and not only allowed to check in early, but were greeted with breakfast. We had just spent 12 hours on a night train from Tangier, so this was exactly what we needed! We continued to get the same amazing breakfast each morning of our stay.

During the stay, Luc the owner, as well as his manager, Mohammed went out of their way to give us good tips on where to eat, shop, etc, including accompanying us on one shopping trip to help us get the best deal. They continued to check in with us to be sure we had what we needed and that we were comfortable. They were very gracious always!

The riad itself is gorgeous...the decor is incredible and the roof top terrace is a great place to get a view of the city. There are lots of sun loungers to relax in the sun as well as covered seating area and a small cafe/bar area for eating if you so choose.

Our room was very romantic and cozy. We found this especially nice coming back from the hectic streets of Marrakech each day. The bathroom was very large and even included a towel warmer. We had all the amenities we needed and really felt at home. There were dates and figs on our side table for a snack, and when we ordered a bottle of wine to enjoy for happy hour one day, it came with snacks too. We were definitely well fed!

On our last night, there was a party in the main floor/cafe area with champagne, hors D'oeuvres, local music and a belly dancer. We had also ordered dinner at their cafe for our last night...so it came with live music! The dinner was amazing. They picked up all the ingredients that day to prepare a fresh home cooked meal. Their chef is a local lady who is incredible. Needless to say, it was quite a final night for us in Marrakech. We were very sad to leave for sure.

We could not have asked for a better first experience in Morocco! We will definitely be back and will stay at the Dar Sholmes again...we are very excited to hear there are direct flights from New York to Marrakech. :-)

I highly recommend staying at Dar Sholmes while traveling to Marrakech!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Everything is TOP! Location, people, service and the Riad is just beautiful! Great days at Marrakech!
A huge tranks to all the Team!!!
Tatiana - São Paulo (Brasil)
Luis e Diogo - Porto (Portugal)

We highly recommend a visit to this charming place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My friends and I stayed in this Riad for 5 days. When arriving at Marrakesh we were totally lost but the riad manager was so nice to come greet us outside the maze of narrow roads, helped us with our luggages and we followed him to the riad. Entering the riad we were reliefed to see this beautiful decorated place. It made us forget all the craziness out there. The staff were lovely, polite and always ready to help us. Place was clean. We literally felt at home. When we decided to have bfast up on the terrace this was no problem for the staff. I suggest this riad to anyone and IF one day im back in Marakesh I know which riad i'm choosing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Location is great, close to everything and very easy to locate (a really good thing in the maze of Marrakech). Sergio is a great host and he understood our needs since the 1st minute of our arrival and our 2 day stay was perfect and we really felt the vibe of the city.

The place is really pretty, rooms are awesome with the air conditioner, comfortable beds and big bathroom. The terrace is great (specially at night, during the day is too hot ;D). Breakfast is really good.

Overall I would recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Sholmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.