We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem in the heart of the medina” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Sholmes

Save Saved
You added Dar Sholmes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Sholmes
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
San Gwann, Malta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What a gem in the heart of the medina”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My friends and I stayed in this Riad for 5 days. When arriving at Marrakesh we were totally lost but the riad manager was so nice to come greet us outside the maze of narrow roads, helped us with our luggages and we followed him to the riad. Entering the riad we were reliefed to see this beautiful decorated place. It made us forget all the craziness out there. The staff were lovely, polite and always ready to help us. Place was clean. We literally felt at home. When we decided to have bfast up on the terrace this was no problem for the staff. I suggest this riad to anyone and IF one day im back in Marakesh I know which riad i'm choosing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    18
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
32
133
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Location is great, close to everything and very easy to locate (a really good thing in the maze of Marrakech). Sergio is a great host and he understood our needs since the 1st minute of our arrival and our 2 day stay was perfect and we really felt the vibe of the city.

The place is really pretty, rooms are awesome with the air conditioner, comfortable beds and big bathroom. The terrace is great (specially at night, during the day is too hot ;D). Breakfast is really good.

Overall I would recommend the place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Took a quick trip to Marrakech for shopping and found this riad online. What a gem in the heart of the Medina. You are right next to the hospital and the Kings Palace and about 5 min walk to the Souks. The place was spotless and nicely appointed with VERY spacious updated bathrooms ( a must for me). The staff was very accomodating but speaks little English so brush up on your French. The terrace offers a lovely view of the Katoubia at night and breakfast in the morning was wonderful.
I must admit i was a little nervous when the driver dropped me off and Sergio met us and we had to walk 3-4 minutes through what seemed like a maze of alleys to get to the riad, but i was fine. It is very safe and the locals were very helpful ( for 20 dirham :) ).
All in all I was quite impressed and would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

A few wet rainy days in Marrakech were made all the more bearable by returning to this delightful Riad. Andrea and his staff are lovley and I made good use of my O Level (1980!!) French..! The rooms are beautifully fitted out - although I could have done with a bath my feet were so wet! The Breakfast was huge and filling and beautifully presented, and the recomendations from Andrea for Restaurants and Bars (go to the Kosybar it was great fun ) were spot on. Not very keen on Marrakech but that was the continually rain and had nothing to do with this lovely Riad. Andrea is rather dishy too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakesh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Just got back from Marrakesh and Dar Sholmes where we stayed for 5 days. Andre, Sergio and staff in general could not have been more helpful. They helped organise places to eat and trips as well as making our stay at the Riad a truly relaxing experience. Breakfast on the rooftop was a great start to the day and the food in the evening at the Riad was very nice and very reasonably priced. Did not want to leave really and already trying to see when we can go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Had a great stay at this riad. Beautiful decor, very clean and in a safe location near the kings palace within walking distance to many restaurants and places of interest. We found the staff here to be very accomodating although I did wish i had brushed up on my french before going just to have made polite conversation a bit easier. The riad is as beautiful as it looks on their website and we were treated like royalty throughout our stay. We were two women travelling alone and arrived in Marrakech nervous and worried - we neednt have been worried at all. We had no problems at all throughout our stay and had a really good time. Many thanks to Sofia and the team for a great stay ! x

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

The Dar Sholmes riad is one of the nicest places I have ever stayed. The staff and owner Andre were extremley helpfull at all times. The rooms were spotless and authentically decorated. Breakfast was lovely and plentiful with different choices most days and we were lucky enough to be able to eat on their beautiful sun terrace. Would definately stay there again but wont be as we didnt like Marrakech itself.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dar Sholmes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sholmes

Address: 82 Derb Sidi M'Barek | Quartier Sidi Mimoun, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Sholmes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marrakech accommodates you the open arms in the one of its more invaluable jewels: Riad Sholmes. Near from Jamaa El Fna place, Koutoubia. A name which reflects its environment: luxury of the decoration worthy of the residences of the pashas combined to subtlety and Western sobriety. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Dar Sholmes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Sholmes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.