We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with the Groupon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa to your Saves list
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Km 4 route d'Amezmiz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #278 of 464 Hotels in Marrakech
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good value with the Groupon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Like many who have commented already, I bought the Groupon, then afterwards found the negative reviews on Trip Advisor and got concerned. We considered refunding the vouchers but ultimately decided to go through with the trip and are certainly glad we did.

Particularly for the English/American traveler, this isn't be the easiest place to stay. Critical staff at Eden Andalou speak english and they have translated signs, menus, etc. Certainly enough to get by and order dinner, book a shuttle to the city, arrange a massage, etc. However life would have been much easier if I at least knew how to count in french! I had no problems with the staff, but also didn't attempt to ask too much of them, given the language barrier.

The resort itself is pretty impressive - the photo's you've seen are legit. It's surrounded by desert but several very similar resorts are under construction along its road (no construction noises, though, thankfully). The gardens are beautiful and the pools are great. A lot of time and attention was put in to certain aspects of the hotel -- The reception lounge, the conference center, the pool and all outdoor spaces -all stunning.

At check-in we were greeted with a pot of mint tea, and a tray with two towels soaked in rose-water to wash our hands with, then a gilded bowl to place the used towels! Nice touch. Our room was spacious and beautiful -perhaps one of the nicest hotel rooms I've ever had actually - however construction seemed to be completed rather hastily. Funny little details exposed the hotel's likely financial issues -- the vent over our air duct was missing. Wall-paint was splattered in some stair wells... the occasional corridor was missing a light or two (as in, construction wiring there, but no light installed yet). Nothing that would overshadow the overall good quality of the resort, but little imperfections that remind you that you only paid £90 a night or whatever it was.

Overall I would describe the hotel as "5-star-Like". It had the elements, and plenty enough to satisfy the other half and I for 3 nights, but don't set your expectations through the roof.

Location is unfortunate, but not a deal breaker. The hotel runs a free shuttle to Marrakech city centre several times a day and many people took advantage of that. FYI you need to reserve a spot in advance. There are also two public buses that stop at the hotel, but I couldn't work up the courage to use them! It's about a 20 minute drive to town, so airport transfer also requires a taxi. If you email the hotel, they arrange it for you and will charge 200Dh (£15) cash (ATM in reception) which covers one ride and also tip, I believe. It's a good service offering because otherwise an independent taxi driver would attempt to over charge.

Groupon made this a good value for us - and the whole trip worthwhile. For our 3-night/4-day stay, all our breakfasts were included (wonderful buffet) plus three vouchers for dinner (also buffet) and three vouchers for massage. ... oh and unlimited Hammam. Apparently at one point they were charging £20/25 for each buffet ticket and £40 for every massage... which would be too much. The massage was 1/2hour, full body and afterward the Spa building has its own private heated pool which is much nicer to use. Also, I recommend you google 'how to do a hammam' before you go, otherwise you'll have the same experience we did where the staff shut you in on this mud bath / sauna room and expect you to figure it out!

So for what we paid it was an absolutely lovely, comfortable, and relaxing stay at Eden Andalou, and the Arabic / North African flair to Marakech makes it a unique and fun sunshine destination for the adventurous traveler.

Have a great trip!

Here's a link to an aerial view of the resort: http://goo.gl/maps/3gtI

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aci1945, Owner at Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
We would like to thank your comment on the hotel Eden Andalou Spa & Resort.
Your description has enlightened our customers and an asset that will certainly help those who hesitate.

Eden Andalou Spa & Resort is one of the rare 5 stars hotels in Marrakech managed directly by his own owner during 24/24; we also have a collaborator who deals exclusively with English speaking customers.

A greet thanks from Eden Andalou Spa & Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,625
    632
    324
    161
    144
See reviews for
690
688
43
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

After reading the negative reviews I still decided to go with eden andalou and I'm so glad I did they made my experince in marrakech a great one and I cant wait to go back. The service and hotel is just great and when I next go to marrakech I will use enden andalou again. I'm so glad I went with my instinct and went with this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aci1945, Owner at Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa, responded to this review, March 10, 2011
Hotel Eden Andalou Spa & Resort and all the staff thank you for the witnessed that encourages us to make more for the English market and receive with more and more pleasure the all coming from your greatest country .
generaly when the people are happy dont write it
A greet thanks from Eden Andalou Spa & Resort team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

A clean and spacious hotel with a heated outdoor and lido pool. Food was very overpriced and awful. Only suitabke meal of the day there was the breakfast buffet.
The service was extremely slow. We waited an hour on all occasions for food. It was cold, part was not brought out, rice or side dishes.

A good place stay for accomodation only!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

After a nice and sunny week we thought that all the bad rumours and reviews about this hotel must have been wrong.
We went early for checking out and have everyhing in order to be abler to leave the hotel in good time for the flight. We received the bill and I asked twice if I should sign something and the receptionist said no. Strange I thought but since they took the card when we arrived I thought this was the routine.
After breakfast when waiting for the Taxi we had prebooked the day before - hell broke loose. We were called to the reception and the said we havent't paid. OK we said we understand can we pay now? It was a mess of language misunderstandings,managers were called and the situation was turning quite hostile. Time was ticking they were arguing and calling up mamangers etc. All we wanted was to pay and leave in time. Twenty minutes later (beginnig to be really really stressed to reach the flight in time) It turned out that the taxi we booked in the reception was sent away and we had no Taxi. The manager (or whatever) told us that they would not drive us!!!!!
Taxi on the street outside he told us.... Then he said 400 dirhan instead of 200 - the amount we had agreed on in the reception the evening before.
The children was afraid and we were stressed.
We feel very bad about the ending of this vacation. We feel very bad about beeing treated as criminals at this hotel. We fell also thery bad of the manager taking advantage of our situation and charging us 400 for a ride to the airport when we agreed on 200, It is a sad story and I think a hotel of this standard must be able to understand english and solve any situation of any kind in the best interest of the hotel rumour and the customer.
However we would like to thank the other stuff of the hotel for a good stay prior to the checkout and taxi transfer.
We will ot return to marocco and not to this hotel. We realise that there is langua misunderstandings but nether theless we ceame back home today with a very bud experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

After reading negative reviews about this hotel i was very concerned, but after staying there for 5 days i can honestly say its the best hotel i have stayed at. Highly recommend.
I really dont know which hotel the other reviews were on about but it obviously wasn't eden andalou..

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

I have stayed at The Eden Andalou twice in a month!!. Travelling from London, to stay in familiar and comfortable surroundings. Each member of the extensive staff are excellently professional, 5 star trained silver service. Each member of the team is your personal buttler or assisstant with kindness, knowledge and expertise. The prescence of the proprietor adds a central focus to the daily workings of this excellently run establishment, and ensures an unequalled quality of service and hospitality.Everything in the hotel is spotless, the beds are the same beds used by the Intercontinental group, and are the most comfortable. The crafstmanship of the interior finishes are the highest quality.... It is the higest star rated hotel, and I found it to be very reasonably priced. Nothing is too much trouble for the fabulous staff at the Eden Andalou, they really made my stay superb!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aci1945, Owner at Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
We would like to thank your comment about the Hotel Eden Andalou Spa & Resort.

Your comment reflect the truth as you have trusted to come once with GROUPON , accompanied with your husband and second time with your adorable mom to show her around Marrakech, witch mean we succeeded pleasing you .

We hope to succeed like this with all clients.

L’Hotel Eden Andalou Spa & Resort waiting for you for the third time and have the pleasure conceder you as one of his friends.

On behalf of my name and all my staff we full thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

Clearly not a 5* according to our standards. The staff is rude and not efficient. They don't really care you are the client. Even if they do a mistake don't even expect them to say sorry.
The hotel is far from the centre and you can get better value closer to the city.
Just a special mention for a few staff members who are lovely and could be more valued in some other places.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa

Address: Km 4 route d'Amezmiz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#116 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 3 outdoor swimming pools in the Andalusian-style gardens and a 1600 m² spa is this environmentally-friendly hotel. It is 3 km from Marrakech Airport and offers views of the Atlas Mountains. A flat-screen TV, minibar and a balcony with views of the garden or mountains feature in the air-conditioned suites. Each modern suite has a separate seating area and a marble bathroom. Mediterranean, Moroccan and international cuisine are served in the 3 restaurants, 1 of which offers an Arabian-Andalusian orchestra. Enjoy a drink in Esplanade jazz bar, and an American breakfast is prepared every morning. Eden Andalou Aquapark & SPA also has a heated indoor pool and an aqua-park with a supplement. You can purchase souvenirs from the on-site gift shop, and Wi-Fi access is available throughout the hotel. At an extra charge, additional facilities include a hairdresser, a fitness centre with coach and baby sitting service. A Kids Club offers entertainment in summer. Free transfers are provided to/from the city centre and Jamaa El Fna Square is 5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Andalou Spa And Resort
Eden Andalou Marrakech
Eden Andalou Hotel Marrakech

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.